Customer Reviews


334 Reviews
5 star:
 (273)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be more famous than she is
One word - amazing! Paloma Faith's voice is so different but catchy. Not only does she master pop-esque tunes like her own "stone cold sober" but she has a fantastic soul voice - hense why Jools Holland likes her so much. "Smoke and Mirrors" is my favourite song, as it's full of glitz and glamour and just fantastic to listen to. Of course, New York was the song that has...
Published on 19 Oct 2010 by Emily

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Voice...Bland Arranging...Overproduction...Disappointing
Having not seen any genuinely 'talented' and original artists on the scene for decades, I was quite impressed seeing Paloma Faith on TV. What a breath of fresh air she is. Her voice is actually expressive and she demonstrates a feel and understanding of the mastery of singing. Her style is strange, original and fun. Paloma's confessions of, "I've always been a bit...
Published on 11 Sep 2010 by Khaartoum


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be more famous than she is, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
One word - amazing! Paloma Faith's voice is so different but catchy. Not only does she master pop-esque tunes like her own "stone cold sober" but she has a fantastic soul voice - hense why Jools Holland likes her so much. "Smoke and Mirrors" is my favourite song, as it's full of glitz and glamour and just fantastic to listen to. Of course, New York was the song that has sent her spiralling into fame, and "Upside Down" was also a big hit. Paloma's personality is infectious, and in my opinion not enough people know about her. She makes the odd appearance on TV shows like Alan Titchmarsh etc, but deserves to be number 1 in the charts! I have seen her live in Leeds and she was amazing, she puts on such a good show and makes such an effort with her set (although she doesn't have a 250 foot stage like some singers) and her backing singers are great. In fact all her band always play live on all the shows she appears on and they all are very individual. She has hillarious video diaries on Youtube and this CD is well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 149 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something Soulful and Beautiful, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
Let's ignore all Ami Winehouse references from the start because though the voice is similar that is where the comparison should end. Paloma Faith deserves to be considered on her own merits. With a background in dance and theatre Miss Faith is clearly a woman very aware of performance and composition in her music. At 25 years old she steps into a music scene which is primed for original female performers like her.

Opening track `Stone Cold Sober' feels like the swirling party that it depicts with soaring vocals, energetic horn sections and dynamic orchestration. The vocals have a confidence and swagger to them which makes Paloma stand out from the surrounding confusion which is entirely appropriate for a song about being the "sober" one at a party. It is a perfectly aimed opening track. It is followed by `Smoke and Mirrors' which demonstrates Paloma's theatrical awareness. It builds quickly between verse and chorus which is lead strongly by a good string section. Paloma's voice soars through the chorus. It sounds like she could fill any concert hall in the world effortlessly. Then rather than pushing on with another strong soulful chorus lead song the volume drops down to the lovely `Broken Doll' which rolls in with gentle drums and a soft flowing string section. It is the sound of a writer with a mature and considered approach, and the beautiful note she holds towards the end of the song sounds simply effortless and really adds an extra element of character.

The title track of the album is a strong song backed by relatively simple music composing a gentle piano part, well placed guitar and minimal strings. The result is to focus you on Paloma Faith's voice which is used to great effect throughout the track. It exhibits both soulful verses and strong swooping highs in the chorus. The strings subtly build through the track without ever over powering the effortless vocals. `Upside Down' is really good fun track with a bouncy drums section and a call and response chorus. The production makes it sound slightly like an old record but there is also a speak easy feel to it. `Romance is Dead' then twinkles and swirls with layered piano parts and swooping backing vocals.

Second single `New York' is a strong and slightly bitter track about betrayal by a lover. The actual story behind it is that Paloma Faith's boyfriend went on holiday to New York city once and then told her that he was never coming back because he had fallen with the city. The metaphor used in the writing of this song of depicting New York as a woman who seduced him works perfectly. Musically it is a fantastic song with a huge chorus in which Paloma is backed by a gospel choir that echoes her cry of "It was New York". Following track `Stargazer' starts with a twinkling piano part like the entrance to a dream. It is a broken hearted song with such strength of character that it will appeal to anyone who has ever loved someone without being loved in return, and the string section and chorus are a real highlight of the album.

The album finally closes out with `My Legs are Weak' and `Play On'. These two tracks play off eachother brilliantly with a simple piano part and dramatic orchestration in the first being followed by a mournful string section in the second which is like something crackling out of an early 20th Century radio. It is a strong finish to a very strong album.

Paloma Faith is a very talented woman and this has translated brilliantly into her debut album which is varied and intriguing with a good spread of pop songs that don't stick to conventions. Rather they are filled with her own soulful personality. This is a phenomenal debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have Faith in Paloma, 31 Aug 2010
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
If you are looking for a fresh, energetic and soulful CD then look no further. I recently had the pleasure of seeing Paloma Faith at a festival. I had not really heard of her before but a friend was extremely jealous when I said I was going, as I was told she is really good. On that recommendation I bought the CD and was so glad I did.

This CD is very well constructed and sounds much more mature than the average debut CD. Stone Cold Sober is a great opening track which pulls you in straightaway with Paloma's instantly recognisable voice, clever lyrics and great use of instruments. My attention was grabbed and I was propelled through more of Paloma's imaginative music. A variety of styles and moods keeps you interested throughout and the tracks tick by until you reach the epic New York, a tale of losing her man to the Big Apple, a song which grows with the support of a gospel chorus. The CD drifts into a quieter, slower, but no less impressive end.

Brilliant debut, can't wait to hear more from Paloma!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breeze of an album, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this album - the vocals are effortless and pitched perfectly for every song and always capture the lyrics with the right amount of emotion. Some great tracks, especially the title track and New York, that will appeal to many. Not a bad track here in my view. I really look forward to a great future for Paloma Faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
I knew this album would be good & Paloma certainly didn't let me down. Beautiful songs with amazing lyrics...
My favourite being track 3 'Broken Doll' & not forgetting the title track 'Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful?'
A great album for any one. My entire family will happily listen to this. =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do You Want the Truth or Something Beautiful?, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
With rave reviews and much hype I bought Paloma faith's album with a mixture of anticipation and trepidation. Could it live up to all that praise? I am glad to say it did.

Her voice and music reminded me, in a good way, of The Noisettes album `Wild Young Hearts' (which is worth a go if you enjoy this). They are quite similar but different enough to stay interesting. Stand out tracks are album opener `Stone Cold Sober', `Upside Down' and `New York'. This last track has great backing vocals in the last minute and my wife loves singing along with it at full belt.

This manages to offer songs with a swinging beat, which are very upbeat and slower tracks like `My Legs are Weak.' which slowly builds and shows Paloma's voice off to wonderful effect.

This is a very accomplished debut album and is well worth a listen. Some may dismiss this as jumping on the bandwagon of Amy Winehouse or Duffy, but a) this is a very different beast and b) it is often much better. I'm glad (for me at least) it lived up to it's promise and suggest you give it a go and make up your own mind.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paloma genious, 2 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
Paloma Faith is a very talented lady with a good team behind her, production values are high and there is not a duff track to be found on the album, I should imagine her live shows are good too, the videos available on her web sight are top notch.

I look forward to more input.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks. I'll have something beautiful., 5 Feb 2011
Distinctive sound. Well written songs. Rich production and a great voice. The album Duffy wishes she'd made to follow up Rockferry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, Original New Talent!, 20 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
Paloma Faith offers up a selection of love gone wrong ranging from Big Band Swing with Living Upside Down, to a Celtic court of Love with Do you Want the Truth or Something Beautiful. New York is sad and melancholoy, and her vocals are smooth and haunting. The chorus singing in the background with her raises all hairs on end - so beautiful! My personal favorite is Stone Cold Sober - the video shows her as one of the most beautiful and eclectic women I have ever seen - fresh, mysterious, colorful, wild and beautiful!

Paloma will be bringing us great music for many years and attract a wide age range in her audience. Broken Doll is another smooth piece and filled with an emotional range that "can bring teardrops to your eyes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have Faith in Paloma, 12 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? (Audio CD)
Glamorous looking and with a voice of many parts, Paloma Faith grabs your attention all through this cd. From the raunchy "Stone Cold Sober" to the yearning of "My Legs are Weak", Paloma sings songs of loving and loss, lies and heartache. Her lyrics are life itself, her music varied enough to make every track on this cd stand alone with independent identity. I heard her on the radio, listened to samples on Amazon, and bought the cd. Enjoyed every minute of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful?
Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful? by Paloma Faith (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews