Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do the job
These devices are basically plastic disks with a second inner locking disk, also plastic.
The two disks have a central cutout which is roughly circular with an additional "bulge".
You rotate the inner disk until the bulges align, at which point it slips onto the guitar's strap button.
Then rotate until the bulge is out sufficiently out of alignment, at...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by Mick OKelly

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A better cheaper alternative suggestion for you
I've used these before and where they are not bad for the money, they do have a habit of falling apart. May i suggest to you guys to use the rubber bung on the swing top bottles of grolsch, i've used these for years and not once have i ever had a guitar slip from the strap. So confident am i in them that i am more than happy to have my 3000 Maverick Xtreme suspended by...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do the job, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Mick OKelly (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
These devices are basically plastic disks with a second inner locking disk, also plastic.
The two disks have a central cutout which is roughly circular with an additional "bulge".
You rotate the inner disk until the bulges align, at which point it slips onto the guitar's strap button.
Then rotate until the bulge is out sufficiently out of alignment, at which point the device is "locked" onto the strap button.

They seem to do the job effectively.
They have fitted easily onto three different guitars (so far).
My only small criticism is that they are a bit flimsy , although they are very light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job., 3 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
I was worried about dropping my heavy LP so I decided to get these, and have worked perfectly for me. Slightly creaky and also slightly cheap looking but for the money, you can't really complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective, 29 Mar 2012
By 
ODH (South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
My strap was always coming off, now it's secure. Which is nice. Didn't seem like much when I first got them, but they work well enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as good if not better than .., 27 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
I've got Schaller straplocks on one guitar and a set of (metal) Dunlop Straploks on another. I bought a cheaper guitar and didn't want to go overboard so bought these cheapo little plastic thingies. I was pleasantly surprised to find they were as good if not better in some ways than the more expensive hardware.
The Schaller straplocks are excellent but tend to work the strap button loose every so often and also squeak terribly. The Dunlop Straploks are good as well and don't loosen the button but they do also squeak.
The plastic thingies on the other hand are cheap, no squeak, no loosening of the button, very easy to install with no guitar alterations required and ... they work. They are really safe. The one thing is that they only look good with a black strap. Can't have everything.
Definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A better cheaper alternative suggestion for you, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
I've used these before and where they are not bad for the money, they do have a habit of falling apart. May i suggest to you guys to use the rubber bung on the swing top bottles of grolsch, i've used these for years and not once have i ever had a guitar slip from the strap. So confident am i in them that i am more than happy to have my 3000 Maverick Xtreme suspended by them and bounce the guitar on the strap with no fear of the guitar slipping off.
Plus with the grolsch tops you get a free bottle of beer :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CHEAP AND NASTY, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
don't be fooled by the picture as it makes them look 100% better than what they are, they turned up, no bigger than a 2 pence piece with 2 crap cable ties that i wouldn't tie a shoe with let alone my 300 guitar, very very disappointing especially as their Jim dunlop, also as i have an electro acoustic these don't fit the back strap clip as it is thicker than my front one to allow for my cable to plug in. overall opinion TERRIBLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock straps, 27 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
These lock straps work fine. In my opinion it is preferable to use these rather than replace existing strap buttons for lockable strap buttons.
The locks are plastic but strong enough for the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never going back., 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
These things sound too good to be true, but they are seriously amazing. I'm a pretty violent performer, and have put these through their paces - and these things do the job time after time.

I used to have some of the screw in ones, but the strap kept falling off everynow and then. I'm never going back. In fact, I just stupidly lost one at a gig tonight (no, it didn't fall off - I was rushed off stage and disorganizedly left it on the floor somewhere), so I'm buying me another set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite easy to fit, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
Very simple but effective. Quite easy to fit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Jim Dunlop Lok Straps. Protect your electric or acoustic guitar by using a Lok Strap to secure the strap properly.
effective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews