Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A re-watched classic!!!
My brother, and I, first saw Big trouble..., when we were about 8 years old. We were just about to go on holiday and my father rented this video, immediate addoration!!! I mean it sounds silly now that I'm older, but my brother and I still have a copy each, it's true! Of course the subject matter is a must for all John Carpenter fans, (i.e. horror, sorcery, Kurt...
Published on 7 May 2002 by T Waits

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a UK version! German packaging beware!
Be aware that despite the front cover this is actually a German import with a German sleeve. The back of the cover which isn't shown on the product page is fully German!! The disc does default to UK English but there was no clear mention this was not a UK version. Misleading to say the least. The product description at the top should clearly state it's a German import...
Published 6 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A re-watched classic!!!, 7 May 2002
My brother, and I, first saw Big trouble..., when we were about 8 years old. We were just about to go on holiday and my father rented this video, immediate addoration!!! I mean it sounds silly now that I'm older, but my brother and I still have a copy each, it's true! Of course the subject matter is a must for all John Carpenter fans, (i.e. horror, sorcery, Kurt russell).Whilst admitting it never reaches the genre-defying heights of The Thing, or Halloween, the film never tries to be anything other than pure theatrical madness, check out Russell's performance for instance, never will you see a bigger all-american hero wannabe than Jack Burton. The special effects are great, the fight scenes are amazing, (the street fight in the alley especially between the 'wing-kong' and the chang-sings') and the script is, admirably, taking the mickey out-of-itself. All these elements make for a real good film, and with this DVD you get the extra bonus of deleted scenes, commentary, alternate endings and a much looked forward to music video starring, yes its true, John Carpenter himself...MAGIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Comedy at its best!, 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
A tale of sorcery, romance and bravery in the tongue-in-cheek movie! After visiting his friend Wang, Jack Burton is thrust into a world which he cannot believe. Trying to save Wang's Fiancee, Jack finds himself fighting the evil sorcerer Lopan, in a quest to save the world (and his beloved truck). With action, comedy, magic and superb characters (including
Kim cattral as reporter Gracie), this is a worthy addition to anyones dvd collection! Who cares about extras when you have such an enjoyable, fantastic movie! A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimme your best shot... I can take it., 14 May 2008
They don't make 'em like this any more. Big Trouble is a self-assured and knowingly absurd action/fantasy/adventure, and was not only one of John Carpenter's last great films, but perhaps the best work of both the cult director and his favourite leading man, Kurt Russell.

The plot is Chinese mythological hokum with an edge of comedy and modern-day Americana. Trucker Jack Burton, whose confidence and assuredness in his own capabilities seems unshakeable, gets embroiled in a street war between sorcerer Lo Pan, his henchmen the Three Storms and their gang Wing Kong, and the good guys, the Chang Sing. But before we know it his best friend's fiancée has been kidnapped, his prize truck (The Pork Chop Express) is stolen and we learn Lo Pan is trying to recoup his diminished power.

Teaming up with tour bus driver Egg Shen and the few remaining Chang Sing warriors, as well as intrusive reporter Gracie Law, Jack and his friend Wang descend into the literal underworld of San Francisco to stop Lo Pan and rescue Wang's fiancée Miao Yin.

What follows is one of the most colourful, elaborate and fantastic adventure movies of the '80s. Russell is perfect as cult hero Jack Burton, and his overriding uselessness is almost the comical antithesis of the other Carpenter/Russell favourite, Snake Plissken - in the final battle here Jack manages to knock himself out and spends most of the fight incapacitated. The special effects are still surprisingly good, the soundtrack is excellent and the cast brilliant all around, including great support from Victor Wong, Kim Cattrall and James Hong. This is backed up by some great fight scenes, an assortment of likeable characters and some perfectly pitched humour.

If you haven't seen this quiet classic yet then do yourself a favour and check it out. One of the most fantastically enjoyable and quotable films ever, and truly a perfect example of one of the best cult directors ever at the peak of his Golden Era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Trouble In Little China [Limited Edition SteelBook] [Blu-ray] [1968], 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big Trouble In Little China [Limited Edition SteelBook] [Blu-ray] [1968] Following Escape from New Yorkand The Thing, John Carpenter and Kurt Russell re-unite for this mystical, action, adventure, comedy, kung-fu, monster, ghost story!

Kurt Russell plays Jack Burton, a reasonable guy who is about to experience some unreasonable things in San Francisco s Chinatown. As his friend s fiancée is kidnapped Jack becomes embroiled in a centuries-old battle between good and evil. At the root of it all is Lo Pan, a 2000-year-old magician who rules an empire of evil spirits. Jack goes to the rescue dodging demons, goblins and the unstoppable Three Storms as he battles through Lo Pan s dark domain.

One of Carpenters most enjoyable and best loved films, Big Trouble in Little China brilliantly juggles delirious set-pieces, comedy and kung-fu action with a razor sharp script of corking one-liners, as Jack would say "It's all in the reflexes".

The super-deluxe package, which is available both as a standard Blu-ray and as a Limited Edition Blu-ray SteelBook, is full of special features and bonus materials.

Cast: Kurt Russell, Kim Cattrall, Dennis Dun, James Hong, Victor Wong, Kate Burton, Suzee Pai, Donald Li, Carter Wong, Lia Chang, Al Leong, Jerry Hardin, Peter Kwong, James Pax and Chao Li Chi

Director: John Carpenter

Producers: Larry Franco and Gary Goldman

Writers: John Carpenter, W.D. Richter, David Z. Weinstein and Gary Goldman

Composers: John Carpenter and Alan Howarth

Cinematography: Dean Cundey

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and English: PCM 2.0 Stereo

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

Resolution: 1080p

Region: Region B/2

Subtitles: English SHD

Number of discs: 1

Running Time: 100 minutes

Studio: Arrow Video

Andrew' Blu-ray Review - Big Trouble in Little China is one of those movies that pretty much everyone has heard of, but many may not have seen before.

Well, thanks to UK indie label Arrow Video you can take a fresh look at this 80s cult classic, from director John Carpenter.

The movie hits the ground running, as we are introduced to Jack Burton [Kurt Russell], a truck driver helping out his friend Wang Chi pick up his fiancé from San Francisco airport. When the fiancé is kidnapped, the pair gives chase, ending up in Chinatown, and stuck in the middle a backstreet gang brawl.

It turns out that the fiancé, with her striking green eyes, is needed by the immortal sorcerer Lo Pan, in an attempt to return to physical form. Burton and Chi naturally set off to save the day.

What follows is a real mish-mash of genres, as the movie flits between comedy, action, horror and martial arts. Carpenter certainly deserves credit for being ahead of the pack in bringing the wilder wire-fu action of Asian cinema to western audiences, even if the box office results suggested they weren't quite ready for it at the time. Certainly, some of the action may look a little stagey and wooden to viewers more familiar with the graceful action from the likes of The Matrix, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon or Hero, but for its time it was definitely something really fresh.

The mix doesn't always quite work, but the movie is held together by Carpenter's solid direction and a magnetic central performance by Russell as the cock-sure, heroic, but bumbling Burton. Russell shows his talent for physical comedy here following his more serious and subdued roles in Carpenter's Escape From New York and The Thing.

The supporting cast is filled out with quite a few recognisable faces, such as Dennis Dun as Wang Chi, a pre-Sex and the City Kim Cattrall, and character actors James Hong and Victor Wong.

Carpenter and Russell have one of those rare director/actor relationships where the movies they make together are always worth a watch, and this movie is no exception. Wouldn't it be great if they could team up again?

Video Quality - This release is billed as coming with a new restoration supervised the movie's cinematographer Dean Cundey, a veteran of Carpenter movies, including Halloween, The Fog, Escape From New York and The Thing. Dean Cundey has also worked on bigger hits including the Back to The Future trilogy, Who Framed Roger Rabbit and uber-blockbuster Jurassic Park.

The opening scene had me a little worried, as there seemed to be some very slight colour and brightness fluctuation, but after a minute or so that all disappeared and we end up with a truly fantastic transfer.

Dean Cundey and his restoration have done a great job here, ensuring colours pop off the screen while never being overblown. The image is wonderfully detailed, with strong black levels and not a hint of DNR or artificial edge enhancement.

John Carpenter is famous for using the whole of his cinemascope frame from edge to edge, and this transfer captures every inch perfectly.
Does it have the high gloss sheen of a modern movie? No, but it's a faithful representation of the original film, grain and all, and it's brilliant.

Audio Quality - For the audio, we get a choice of 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and 2.0 stereo tracks. Given the age of the movie, it would be wrong to expect an all-action, multi-channel feast for the ears, but we do get a very nice soundtrack clean-up.

The tracks are free of hiss and crackles, with clear dialog. There's not a massive amount going on in the way of directional effects, but the rear channels do help fill out the soundscape with atmosphere.

As an aural bonus, we also get an isolated score in 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, which is a welcome touch.

Special Features and Extras:

* Limited Edition SteelBook packaging

* High Definition presentation of the film from a digital transfer prepared by Twentieth Century Fox

* Optional 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and uncompressed Stereo 2.0 Audio

* Isolated 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio Isolated Score Soundtrack

* Optional English SDH subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing

* Audio Commentary with director John Carpenter and star Kurt Russell - First up is a commentary track with John Carpenter and Kurt Russell. While not new, it's carried over from the old DVD release and it's a great listen. Carpenter and Russell have a great chemistry, and their friendship really comes across here. The refreshingly candid track is full of laughs and anecdotes, and is highly recommended.

* Return to Little China - A brand new interview with John Carpenter

* Being Jack Burton - A brand new interview with Kurt Russell

* Carpenter and I - A brand new interview with cinematographer Dean Cundey

* A new interview with producer Larry Franco

* Interview with visual effects producer Richard Edlund

* Vintage Making-of featurette featuring cast and crew - A selection of deleted scenes. The quality of these outtakes does vary, as some have been sourced from video rather than film, but they are worth checking out to gain an insight into how a movie is shaped during the post-production process, as does the extended ending, which brings a proper bit of closure to one of the story strands in the movie.

* Extended Ending

* Deleted Scenes

* Music Video

* Gallery of behind-the-scenes images

* 3 original trailers

* TV Spots

* Booklet featuring new writing on the film by John Kenneth Muir, author of The Films of John Carpenter, a re-print of an article on the effects of the film from American Cinematographer, illustrated with archive stills and posters.

Packaging Quality - This new release is available in SteelBook packaging, featuring the original artwork by the legendary Drew Struzan. You may not recognise the name, but Struzan has provided the artwork for some of the most iconic posters in movie history, including the Indiana Jones, Back to The Future and Star Wars trilogies, Blade Runner, Harry Potter - the list goes on.
For the non-steelbook release, Arrow present the movie with a reversible, featuring Struzan's artwork on one side and a newly commissioned piece by Jay Shaw.

One quick word of praise for Arrow - they seem to be one of the few companies who don't insist on making the viewer sit through endless menu options, forced trailers and other guff, instead getting us to the main menu in seconds. Compare that to studios like Universal whose discs seem to take forever to get to the point where you can actually watch the movie. Thank you Arrow for getting us to the movie quickly!

Finally, this is another quality release from Arrow Video. An iconic 80s action comedy, the perfect pairing of director and actor and ahead-of-its-time kung-fu action, it's great to be able to re-visit Big Trouble in Little China after all this years, and find it in such great shape.

The new transfer on this disc is a corker, and I dare say the movie hasn't looked or sounded as good as this since the day it was released.

There's a great selection of new and old extras. The star of the show is the classic commentary, but the new interviews are great as well.

Whether you want to re-kindle your memories of the movie, or you are a new viewer wanting to see what all the fuss is about, this is fantastic release and so proud to have this in my ever increasing Blu-ray Collection, especially lucky having the brilliant SteelBook available ONLY in the UK.

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Carpenter classic, 4 July 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Fortunately I have managed to miss this film over the last 22 years. I'm saying that because I suspect if I had seen it when it first came out I wouldn't have appreciated it. Now though, following Kill Bill and many other martial arts epics this is a refreshing change from the usual Hollywood stodge.

Kurt Russell is superb as Jack, a wise-cracking truck driver who accidently stumbles upon an extremly unlikely plot revolving around two girls with green eyes and an ancient magician who is seeking to gain ultimate power by marrying one or both of the girls. As intimated above the magician, who is called Lo Pan, has a vague similarity to Mei Pei in Kill Bill. Kim Cattrall is one of the two leading actresses, who is now of course much more famous for 'Sex and the City'.

This is all done with tongue firmly in cheek. Most of the time Kurt Russell uses a John Wayne voice which is completely inappropriate, but somehow its perfect for this film. Frequently the film is very funny and Russell's character is in general the butt of most of the jokes. The special effects are beginning to look dated now, but given that this film was probably made on a relatively low budget they actually stand up remarkably well.

This is a throughly entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you really believe in magic?, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Trouble in Little China [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I've been after this classic for ages on blu-ray. There's something timeless about it. I'm not going to review the film itself but can say that the transfer will not disappoint. Most importantly, I can also confirm that although the disc is coded as Region A it plays fine on my LG BP125 which isn't even a multi region player of standard DVDs. I was wary of buying and very anxious when I put the disc in as thought it might spit it out. However it worked! If you truly love this movie like I do then go for it! I hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "China is here? I don't even know what the Hell that means!"., 11 Mar 2008
Everything about this movie is absurd..and purposefully so. Try to read the plot aloud without laughing: A mullet-wearing truck driver, Jack Burton, teams up with his Chinese-American buddy to battle ancient Chinatown demons commanded by the ethereal 2000 year old Lo Pan and rescue their respective green-eyed (would-be) girlfriends, all with the aid of local magician/tour bus driver Egg Sheng and his lazy-eyed sorcery.

Yet, somehow, it all works perfectly. Kurt Russell is a riot as the hero, Jack Burton, a bumbling and inept, yet surprisingly hardy, truck driver with a lot of buddies in Chinatown who has to take on a world of Chinese legends. His loud-mouthed bravado at all times (presumably he's intended to be a classic jerk American foreign devil) forms the basis for his irrepressible camaraderie with the other heroes in the movie. He may have no idea what he's doing..... but he's gonna do it anyway. Some viewers may be misled (as I was) into thinking this was some sort of cheesy martial arts film. It isn't. This is a flat-out comedy that just happens to involve a lot of swordfights, demons, and electrical discharges. Some classic examples of the typical humor drenching the film include 1) several Chinese elders and mystics sitting around a table discussing ancient curses while Jack Burton shouts at his insurance carrier about the loss of his big rig truck in the background, 2) At the start of the climactic pitched battle, Jack Burton, in a fit of adrenaline-stoked fury, fires wildly into the air with his gun and dislodges a rock from the ceiling that knocks him unconscious, 3) Jack Burton facing off against evil demonlord Lo Pan while wearing lipstick from his smooching of one of the female love interests.

And I haven't seen a film this packed with quotable comments since Predator: "Great, a six-demon bag! What's it do, Egg?" "Are you crazy? Is that what your problem is?" "... and let me drive right over him? With light coming out of his mouth?!" "Whaddya mean there's no listing? There better be, honey, 'cause I pay 'em 6 grand a year in premiums."
"China is here? I don't even know what the Hell that means!".
"Its all in the reflexes."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the Hell of Upside-Down Sinners!, 24 Dec 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Critics shredded and diced this movie so I really went to the theatre expecting to see one sick puppy. Instead, I was delighted and I continue to be delighted every time I watch this marvelous movies. John Carpenter created an original howl of a time, with tongue firm planted through the cheek and simply went wild with fun and throw away lines, that will keep you coming back again and again. The Critics just did not get the JOKE!! Sigh...fortunately, the public did not agree.
A great cast Kurt Russell, Kim Cattrall, Dennis Dun, Kate Burton (Richard's Daughter), Victor Wong and James Hong take several wrong turns and end up in a war - kung fu style - kidnappings and all sorts "some very unreasonable things". Originally the manuscript for the second Buckaroo Banzai movie, Big Trouble hits bulls eye where BB just missed. It's over kill to the max, but such a great way to go as Jack Burton - Russell doing a BAD John Wayne Imitation - runs headlong into the magick underbelly of Chinatown. One critic put down Russell's performance as "was so poor, it was like he was doing a poor John Wayne imitation" WELL, DUH???? Earth to LM!!
Russell is taking Dennis Dun to pick up his bride to be, but she is mistakenly snatched. It's up to Russell, Dun, Wong and crew to try and get her back. Instead, they lose Kim Cattral to Hong as well as Burton's Peterbuilt "the Porkchop Express", so old Jack has to get mean.
If you don't want to laugh so hard your ribs hurt, you don't enjoy parodies, you don't enjoy bad John Wayne imitations...fine give it a pass. But everyone else wanting a great time, this is one you should not miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Burton in the Pork Chop express!, 22 May 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This madcap adventure is more fun than a box of monkeys! The movie bounces along at a cracking pace and is never ever boring. The effects maybe a little dated now but the movie has a massive sense of fun about it. Kurt Russel plays a hero on just the right side of dumb who gets reluctantly involved in an investigation into Triad gangs and the rescue of two beautiful women. The martial artists are never less than impressive during the many fight scenes. The whole thing is steeped in pantomime style Eastern mysticism and there are some really funny touches here and there. As an added bonus, you can watch this with the family too, which is quite rare these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big trouble in little china, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Trouble in Little China [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
As with a few of my other reviews i don't feel i need to review the film as its already a classic but instead intend to put down a few bits that will assist people who are considering purchasing a copy of this title from the US.

1) The Blu ray states on the back of the cover that it is a region A disc. After checking various sites which say its multiregion i tried it out. It currently works on my F&H multiregion DVD player and it also works on my Region B PS3.

2) Picture and sound quality is as i have come to expect for Blu ray excelent like on all but 1 of the 80's classics.

3) Special features music video, deleted scenes, alternative ending and a few others but not really worth mentioning on here.

This version is also cheaper than purchasing the region B version which some people appear to be selling at 15 plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Trouble in Little China [Blu-ray] [US Import]
9.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews