Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A re-watched classic!!!
My brother, and I, first saw Big trouble..., when we were about 8 years old. We were just about to go on holiday and my father rented this video, immediate addoration!!! I mean it sounds silly now that I'm older, but my brother and I still have a copy each, it's true! Of course the subject matter is a must for all John Carpenter fans, (i.e. horror, sorcery, Kurt...
Published on 7 May 2002 by T Waits

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a UK version! German packaging beware!
Be aware that despite the front cover this is actually a German import with a German sleeve. The back of the cover which isn't shown on the product page is fully German!! The disc does default to UK English but there was no clear mention this was not a UK version. Misleading to say the least. The product description at the top should clearly state it's a German import...
Published 16 months ago by Nate


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A re-watched classic!!!, 7 May 2002
My brother, and I, first saw Big trouble..., when we were about 8 years old. We were just about to go on holiday and my father rented this video, immediate addoration!!! I mean it sounds silly now that I'm older, but my brother and I still have a copy each, it's true! Of course the subject matter is a must for all John Carpenter fans, (i.e. horror, sorcery, Kurt russell).Whilst admitting it never reaches the genre-defying heights of The Thing, or Halloween, the film never tries to be anything other than pure theatrical madness, check out Russell's performance for instance, never will you see a bigger all-american hero wannabe than Jack Burton. The special effects are great, the fight scenes are amazing, (the street fight in the alley especially between the 'wing-kong' and the chang-sings') and the script is, admirably, taking the mickey out-of-itself. All these elements make for a real good film, and with this DVD you get the extra bonus of deleted scenes, commentary, alternate endings and a much looked forward to music video starring, yes its true, John Carpenter himself...MAGIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "China is here? I don't even know what the Hell that means!"., 11 Mar. 2008
Everything about this movie is absurd..and purposefully so. Try to read the plot aloud without laughing: A mullet-wearing truck driver, Jack Burton, teams up with his Chinese-American buddy to battle ancient Chinatown demons commanded by the ethereal 2000 year old Lo Pan and rescue their respective green-eyed (would-be) girlfriends, all with the aid of local magician/tour bus driver Egg Sheng and his lazy-eyed sorcery.

Yet, somehow, it all works perfectly. Kurt Russell is a riot as the hero, Jack Burton, a bumbling and inept, yet surprisingly hardy, truck driver with a lot of buddies in Chinatown who has to take on a world of Chinese legends. His loud-mouthed bravado at all times (presumably he's intended to be a classic jerk American foreign devil) forms the basis for his irrepressible camaraderie with the other heroes in the movie. He may have no idea what he's doing..... but he's gonna do it anyway. Some viewers may be misled (as I was) into thinking this was some sort of cheesy martial arts film. It isn't. This is a flat-out comedy that just happens to involve a lot of swordfights, demons, and electrical discharges. Some classic examples of the typical humor drenching the film include 1) several Chinese elders and mystics sitting around a table discussing ancient curses while Jack Burton shouts at his insurance carrier about the loss of his big rig truck in the background, 2) At the start of the climactic pitched battle, Jack Burton, in a fit of adrenaline-stoked fury, fires wildly into the air with his gun and dislodges a rock from the ceiling that knocks him unconscious, 3) Jack Burton facing off against evil demonlord Lo Pan while wearing lipstick from his smooching of one of the female love interests.

And I haven't seen a film this packed with quotable comments since Predator: "Great, a six-demon bag! What's it do, Egg?" "Are you crazy? Is that what your problem is?" "... and let me drive right over him? With light coming out of his mouth?!" "Whaddya mean there's no listing? There better be, honey, 'cause I pay 'em 6 grand a year in premiums."
"China is here? I don't even know what the Hell that means!".
"Its all in the reflexes."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Comedy at its best!, 26 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
A tale of sorcery, romance and bravery in the tongue-in-cheek movie! After visiting his friend Wang, Jack Burton is thrust into a world which he cannot believe. Trying to save Wang's Fiancee, Jack finds himself fighting the evil sorcerer Lopan, in a quest to save the world (and his beloved truck). With action, comedy, magic and superb characters (including
Kim cattral as reporter Gracie), this is a worthy addition to anyones dvd collection! Who cares about extras when you have such an enjoyable, fantastic movie! A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chang-sings, Wing King, Egg Shen............ confused?, 14 Sept. 2005
By 
M. JONES "mj1001" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
It's a hard task trying to rate this film. On one hand I'm looking at the whole film and on the other I'm just thinknin of Kurt Russell's terrific Jack Burton. This film and Prince of Darkness mark the dying days of John Carpenter's golden era.
The plot follows trucker Burton who, with his best mate, become inadvertantly involved in a supernatural gang war in Chinatown, San Francisco. On their journey deeper and deeper into the underworld they encounter street punks, demons, and a 2000 year-old sorceror who wants a green-eyed girl to make him mortal again.
Though utterly ridiclous in every way, the set-pieces are always entertaining, particuraly the first scrum-down between the two rival gangs in an alleyway and the encounters with the 'three storms'. There are lots memorable sequences and dialogue, most involve Burton's mis-guided, all american hero making an idiot of himself.
It's easy to see why this panned by critics, but at the same time, its great fun and pure escapism. I'd recommend this to people looking for a good laugh. The commentary between Carpenter and Russell isnt as sharp as The Thing's and meanders a bit but is still good to listen to unliken some commentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big trouble in little china, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Trouble in Little China [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
As with a few of my other reviews i don't feel i need to review the film as its already a classic but instead intend to put down a few bits that will assist people who are considering purchasing a copy of this title from the US.

1) The Blu ray states on the back of the cover that it is a region A disc. After checking various sites which say its multiregion i tried it out. It currently works on my F&H multiregion DVD player and it also works on my Region B PS3.

2) Picture and sound quality is as i have come to expect for Blu ray excelent like on all but 1 of the 80's classics.

3) Special features music video, deleted scenes, alternative ending and a few others but not really worth mentioning on here.

This version is also cheaper than purchasing the region B version which some people appear to be selling at £15 plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carpenter & Russell Do Supernatural Kung Fu, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Big Trouble In Little China.

Directed by John Carpenter
Produced by Larry J. Franco.

Starring.
Kurt Russell.
Kim Cattrall
Dennis Dun.
James Hong.
Victor Wong.
Music by John Carpenter & Alan Howarth.
Distributed by 20th Century Fox.
Region 2.
Ratio 16.9-2.35:1.
Running time 99 minutes.
Country United States.
Language English.
Budget $20,000,000.
Box office $11,100,000.

Trivia.
1)Kurt Russell suffered a bad case of the flu during shooting so the sweat on his body is real, caused by the fever.
2)In the scene where Kurt Russell is attempting to infiltrate the brothel, he is wearing the same outfit that he wore in Used Cars (1980).
3)This the last studio film that John Carpenter worked on at the end of the 1980's due to the problems he'd received during the production of the film with then studio head Lawrence Gordon, who practically interfered with the film up until its release date. Prince of Darkness (1987) and They Live (1988) would be made independently through Alive Films without any studio interference and distributed by Universal Pictures.
4)Body count: 46.
5)This was deemed a box office flop upon it's cinema release but became a huge cult hit on the home video market.

Extras.
Big Trouble in Little China is released in a two-disc set in its full unedited form.
Commentary by John Carpenter & Kurt Russell.
Eight deleted scenes (some of which are expansions of existing scenes), plus a separate extended ending which was edited out for the right reasons.
Archive seven-minute featurette.
A 13-minute interview with FX guru Richard Edlund.
Photo gallery of 200 photos.
Music video with Carpenter and crew.

Plot Synopsis.
Trucker Jack Burton agrees to take his good friend Wang Chi to pick up his fiancee fom the airport, he never expected to get involved in a supernatural battle between the forces of good and evil.

Wang's fiancee Miao Yin has emerald green eyes, which make her a perfect target for an immortal sorcerer named Lo Pan & his three invincible cronies as sorcerer Lo Pan must marry a girl with the emerald green eyes so he can regain his full physical form.

Jack must save Wang's fiancee from Lo Pan & battle against his henchmen & win back his stolen truck the pork chop express, But how can he defeat an enemy who has no physical form?

Timelord Thoughts.
This is another cult classic fom director John Carpenter & his favourite starring actor Kurt Russell who like their previous movie (1982's) The Thing underperformed at the box office but became a cult hit on the video market.

Kurt Russell is superbly cast as slightly dumb action hero trucker Jack Burton who happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time helping out his friend Wang Chi on a simple airport run.

The action is excellently directed & the supernatural elements entertaining, The reason this maybe underperformed at the box office was the audience were confused as to the movies tone, Was it a dark supernatural action film or a tongue 'n' cheek action comedy?

Kim Cattrall gives a fine performance as Gracie Law who gets caught up in this adventure as Lo Pans intended bride to be but due to a mix up evades capture & gets caught up in the adventure & helps Burton & Chi rescue Chi's fiancee Miao Yin.

James Wong is sinister & scary as evil sorcerer Lo Pan who unleashes dark supernatural forces upon our heroes while Victor Wong very nearly steals the show as Egg Shen who helps aid Burton & co in there quest.

This movie delivers, Evil magicians, Green eyed damsels in distress, Monsters, Great humour, Cool one liners, Kick ass kung fu action & a well written supernatural adventures that deserves the title of a cult classic.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ol' Jack always says... what the hell?, 30 Jan. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Out of 20th Century Fox, Big Trouble in Little China is directed by John Carpenter and stars Kurt Russell, Kim Catrall, Dennis Dun, James Hong & Victor Wong. The adaptation is by W.D. Richter with the screenplay from Gary Goldman & David Z. Weinstein. Dean Cundey photographs and Alan Howarth doubles up with Carpenter for the musical score.

Truck driver Jack Burton (Russell) agrees to take his friend Wang Chi (Dun) to pick up his fiancée at the airport. Little does he know that he is about to get involved in a supernatural battle between good and evil beneath San Francisco's Chinatown district.

A box office failure on its release, and known to be the moment when John Carpenter gave up on Hollywood, Big Trouble in Little China has gathered "cult" momentum over the years and shows up rather well these days. Blending Chinese mysticism with chop-schlocky adventure, Carpenter's movie is at once daft but also a ball of energetic fun; propelled by a handsome, but inept, action hero. Carpenter had always wanted to tackle a martial arts movie, and here he gets to do it whilst laying on the comedy and playing with effects as his movie mostly comes alive in a magical underworld of monsters, magicians and sexy green eyed women.

It's evident now that the film was ahead of its time, not from a technical viewpoint, but from the point it tried to Americanise chopsocky. This is some time before Chinese style wire-work and mythology became common to Hollywood, one has to believe that Tarantino was nodding approvingly around about then. It's also worth noting that although this "American" movie has an American beefcake as its main protagonist, it's the Asian Americans who actually are the heroes of the piece, with Dun's sidekick the stand out hero as Russell's Burton bumbles his way from one sequence to the next. It was a bold move by Carpenter to structure the narrative that way, one that annoyed the executives at Fox and kept the paying public bemused. It's easy to see why the film failed, contrast it with the similarly themed Eddie Murphy movie, The Golden Child, from the same year, which was a box office success. There the public got what they wanted (or what they were used too), the standard American hero fluff where Murphy saves the day and gets the girl.

Carpenter dared to be different and had fun along the way, as did his cast. It may have taken a decade of VHS and DVD releases to prove he was right, but right he was, Big Trouble in Little China is a damn fine movie. Russell plays it meat head style, with swagger in tow and tongue stuck in cheek. Nicely toned physique for the girls to enjoy, and making vest wearing cool two years before Willis did in Die Hard. Cattrall is wonderfully alluring, red lips and green eyes shimmering bright in a world of color; and boys, look out for her wet scene, it's wolf whistle time! Dun is likable and athletic, while Hong as Lo Pan gives the action/adventure genre a truly memorable villain. The film is briskly paced and not found wanting in the set piece department either. Not all the effects are high grade, but in a film with such zestful comic book traditions at heart, it hardly matters a jot. With a great DVD package doing it justice, Carpenter's movie is now, at long last, getting the appreciative audience it deserves. Amen to that. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Burton in the Pork Chop express!, 22 May 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This madcap adventure is more fun than a box of monkeys! The movie bounces along at a cracking pace and is never ever boring. The effects maybe a little dated now but the movie has a massive sense of fun about it. Kurt Russel plays a hero on just the right side of dumb who gets reluctantly involved in an investigation into Triad gangs and the rescue of two beautiful women. The martial artists are never less than impressive during the many fight scenes. The whole thing is steeped in pantomime style Eastern mysticism and there are some really funny touches here and there. As an added bonus, you can watch this with the family too, which is quite rare these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimme your best shot... I can take it., 14 May 2008
They don't make 'em like this any more. Big Trouble is a self-assured and knowingly absurd action/fantasy/adventure, and was not only one of John Carpenter's last great films, but perhaps the best work of both the cult director and his favourite leading man, Kurt Russell.

The plot is Chinese mythological hokum with an edge of comedy and modern-day Americana. Trucker Jack Burton, whose confidence and assuredness in his own capabilities seems unshakeable, gets embroiled in a street war between sorcerer Lo Pan, his henchmen the Three Storms and their gang Wing Kong, and the good guys, the Chang Sing. But before we know it his best friend's fiancée has been kidnapped, his prize truck (The Pork Chop Express) is stolen and we learn Lo Pan is trying to recoup his diminished power.

Teaming up with tour bus driver Egg Shen and the few remaining Chang Sing warriors, as well as intrusive reporter Gracie Law, Jack and his friend Wang descend into the literal underworld of San Francisco to stop Lo Pan and rescue Wang's fiancée Miao Yin.

What follows is one of the most colourful, elaborate and fantastic adventure movies of the '80s. Russell is perfect as cult hero Jack Burton, and his overriding uselessness is almost the comical antithesis of the other Carpenter/Russell favourite, Snake Plissken - in the final battle here Jack manages to knock himself out and spends most of the fight incapacitated. The special effects are still surprisingly good, the soundtrack is excellent and the cast brilliant all around, including great support from Victor Wong, Kim Cattrall and James Hong. This is backed up by some great fight scenes, an assortment of likeable characters and some perfectly pitched humour.

If you haven't seen this quiet classic yet then do yourself a favour and check it out. One of the most fantastically enjoyable and quotable films ever, and truly a perfect example of one of the best cult directors ever at the peak of his Golden Era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the Hell of Upside-Down Sinners!, 24 Dec. 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Critics shredded and diced this movie so I really went to the theatre expecting to see one sick puppy. Instead, I was delighted and I continue to be delighted every time I watch this marvelous movies. John Carpenter created an original howl of a time, with tongue firm planted through the cheek and simply went wild with fun and throw away lines, that will keep you coming back again and again. The Critics just did not get the JOKE!! Sigh...fortunately, the public did not agree.
A great cast Kurt Russell, Kim Cattrall, Dennis Dun, Kate Burton (Richard's Daughter), Victor Wong and James Hong take several wrong turns and end up in a war - kung fu style - kidnappings and all sorts "some very unreasonable things". Originally the manuscript for the second Buckaroo Banzai movie, Big Trouble hits bulls eye where BB just missed. It's over kill to the max, but such a great way to go as Jack Burton - Russell doing a BAD John Wayne Imitation - runs headlong into the magick underbelly of Chinatown. One critic put down Russell's performance as "was so poor, it was like he was doing a poor John Wayne imitation" WELL, DUH???? Earth to LM!!
Russell is taking Dennis Dun to pick up his bride to be, but she is mistakenly snatched. It's up to Russell, Dun, Wong and crew to try and get her back. Instead, they lose Kim Cattral to Hong as well as Burton's Peterbuilt "the Porkchop Express", so old Jack has to get mean.
If you don't want to laugh so hard your ribs hurt, you don't enjoy parodies, you don't enjoy bad John Wayne imitations...fine give it a pass. But everyone else wanting a great time, this is one you should not miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews