Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brave new step for british electronica!!!
If you're gonna buy one album this summer and listen to it all the way through - BUY THIS ONE!!

I've loved every Kissy remix I've heard since he first appeared on the blogs and mix cds back in 2007 and this album shows he's still on top form and way ahead of the game!!

As with the release of Justice's Cross album last year, many of the musical...
Published on 14 Jun 2009 by Alex Bailey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An album of 2 halves
On one hand over elaborate and self indulgent electronica, on the other joyous, addictive electro-pop. The track "Harriet", for example, is a mere showcase for Kissy's synth and programming skills, which takes away any emotion it may have been intended to convey. "This Kiss" on the other hand is a playful and energetic number which is brought to life by the wry, brattish...
Published on 3 Aug 2009 by Moebius Dick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brave new step for british electronica!!!, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Alex Bailey (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Youth (Audio CD)
If you're gonna buy one album this summer and listen to it all the way through - BUY THIS ONE!!

I've loved every Kissy remix I've heard since he first appeared on the blogs and mix cds back in 2007 and this album shows he's still on top form and way ahead of the game!!

As with the release of Justice's Cross album last year, many of the musical aspects you would normally criticize an album for daring to mess with prove to be the album's strengths. With Justice it was like someone had thrown Daft Punk into a cement mixer and smashed them to pieces with a sledge hammer, with Kissy it sounds like The Human League have been put in charge of a huge fireworks display juiced up on Red Bull and Jelly Beans!

Yes, the insanely complicated synth solos on Kissy Sellout tracks are self-indulgent BUT since I'd imagine most other artists out there would never be able to write or play such epic compositions in their wildest dreams - you can't help but giggle like a school girl as Kissy's unique signature sound pumps through your headphones - and judging by the album being entitled "Youth", that's probably exactly how you are supposed to feel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An album of 2 halves, 3 Aug 2009
This review is from: Youth (MP3 Download)
On one hand over elaborate and self indulgent electronica, on the other joyous, addictive electro-pop. The track "Harriet", for example, is a mere showcase for Kissy's synth and programming skills, which takes away any emotion it may have been intended to convey. "This Kiss" on the other hand is a playful and energetic number which is brought to life by the wry, brattish lyrics and punky vocals of Danimal Kingdom.

Either way, if you think this album is going to be a showcase of Kissy's standard bassline filled electro then think again. However, this should not be taken as a negative because this album has some true gems, although slightly naive in places- as it's title would suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY. Indie Electro Pop Heaven, 1 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. C. Seath "Seathy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Youth (Audio CD)
Flippin love this album.

Kissy has mixed his honest, raw, electro Dj talents with his other passion of guitar music..thus resulting in a positively exciting and feel good album. Each track on the album experiments with different musical techniques whilst also relaying that token Kissy sound, enabling the listener to relate to him on a whole new level. There is a vast range of different tantalising melodies exploring vivid and creative personal lyrics sung by the fantastic Danimal Kingdom, which make you want to not only bop along, but sing along very loudly! It completely represents the hot sound of now..and covers many different desires that one would crave from this particular genre.

Buy it now and forever love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 Mar 2010
By 
Paul M (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Youth (Audio CD)
It was a really awesome album. Happened to hear Kissy's radio 1 show one night, the next day I was hunting for his music. Really awesome tunage, I'd recommend it to anyone who likes his show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great summer album, 1 Mar 2010
This review is from: Youth (Audio CD)
This album is just great fun. It feels upbeat throughout and as far as I'm concerned is a great feel good album that everyone wanting a lively summer party or a less boring train journey should buy. It's first on my playlist for car journeys home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really lively and funky album, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Adam Meredith (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Youth (MP3 Download)
I expected chunky electro sounds and honest if rather simple lyrics, and that's exactly what I got. This album may not win any awards for depth or poetry, but it is a hell of a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant electro man, 24 Jun 2009
This review is from: Youth (Audio CD)
Kissy does it again - wonderful to have his own albumn at last - really rocks - a must get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a-mezzin, 26 Jun 2009
This review is from: Youth (Audio CD)
great great album, so much fun. love bubs and bizzle especially. kissy is always great on radio 1 etc, more of the same here. highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Youth
Youth by Kissy Sell Out (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews