Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars56
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2011
As a fan of Jimmy McGovern and his outstanding work on 'The Street' I approached this series with great expectations. However, Moving On was worked a 'daytime' drama and is alot less violent or traumatic than the tone of 'The Street'. Still I have not been disappointed as Moving On deals with stories of that affect people in their day-to-day lives without glorifying it with swearing, sex or strong violence. This DVD contains five stand alone stories that include the subjects of debt ('Drowning Not Waving'), prejudice ('The Rain Has Stopped'), friends who become enemies ('Bully'), cross dressing ('Dress To Impress') and coming to terms with being the victim of a violent crime ('Butterfly Effect'). The various characters are played by a stella cast of top weight British talent including Sheila Hancock, Lesley Sharpe, Mark Womack, Dervla Kirwin and Ian Hart. I don't think anyone who purchases this DVD will be let down by this much underated series.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
This series was a refreshing change from the CGI enhanced stuff that is the usual British fare these days. It was written by new and up and coming writers and acted out by the very best acting talent around. I can't fault this series what-so-ever and thoroughly enjoyed it! Loved Richard Armitage as the suave baddie in the "Drowning Not Waving" episode and couldn't stop laughing all the way through the episode called "Dress to Impress" where it tells the story of a teenage cross dresser. Beautifully written, acted and directed. Well done BBC this is what viewers want. Not expensive gimmicky photography just plain old good quality drama. Cheap but cheerful!
0Comment|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Must have missed this when it was on TV because I always watch everything that Jimmy McGovern has been involved in.
Certainly wasn't disappointed ! Each story deals with things in life, that are there, but we don't always realize.
Would thoroughly recommend it. Can't wait for the next series!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
I was not sure when I purchased this series whether I would enjoy it or not and am delighted to say that it is excellent. Telling stories of everyday problems that people encounter in a down to earth believeable manner. You can understand why the characters react in certain ways because the actors and directors have ensured that the whole thing feels real rather than parts being played. Well done to all of those concerned. Highly recommended viewing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Transmitted originally as afternoon dramas, this meant that the writers had to rely on good acting, story lines that grabbed attention, and interesting dialogue between characters the viewer could identify with, and to do this without resorting to explicit sex, gratuitous violence or obscenities. This DVD is the first in a reliably excellent series.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Enjoyed the series ,love the fact they were about 40 minutes per episode and the stories are not linked .So if there was not anything on tv you could just watch and episode
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Seen series 5 and 6 on TV which were excellent which prompted me to look at the earlier plays. These in series one are also very good - one or two are maybe a little far fetched in their final outcome maybe, but good life-lessons nonetheless. All of these "Moving On" plays are very professionally acted and expertly produced/filmed by LA productions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
This is another brilliant series by the bbc. It was first shown on the BBC in the afternoon which meant that a lot of people would have missed it if they were at work. Its also been repeated late at night so I'm glad that its released on DVD now for people to enjoy. The actors are brilliant. The storylines believable. It is very similar to The Street in the way that the storylines play out. A very well written and acted series. I await a second helping.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
Loved the short stories. Each one totally different. Didn't know what to expect, but quite pleasantly surprised. You don't realise how many 'good' actors we have in the UK, until you watch stories like this.....
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
Whilst not as good as The Street (but then again, what is?), this is fairly entertaining drama. I have to agree with some reviewers that some of the stories may be a little weak, but still give it five stars as it is far superior to a lot of the rubbish that is put out today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)