Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam-packed full of classics, a very classy album, 15 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This is a stunning album. Aretha is amazing and her voice is simply sublime.
This album is full of classic soul tracks sung to perfection. I think each version is THE genre-defining version. I don't think you can help but be moved by Aretha's power, control and sheer soulfullness.
If you want to discover Aretha Franklin just buy this album. Simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gorgeous work of art and testament to the power of music., 5 Jan 2001
By A Customer
this is totally wonderful stuff. there's power, there's soul, there's beauty. she never sounded better. the only thing you should be buying instead of this is the 'best of the atlantic years' box set. now there's a birthday present for someone you love...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning Soul music as it should be!, 22 Oct 2004
By 
P. Sharpe - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On first listens i was a little disappointed as i'd recently been listening to a Raw Soul compilation i'd got free with a magazine and this album was not quite as upbeat in comparison.
In a few listens time though, i got it... and yes i got it really bad!
There is SO much soul in this record and she means it, she's felt the losing and the pain, unlike so many modern soul artists who's voices are pathetic in comparison.
The opener Respect, is instantly recognisable where she beats Otis (Redding) at his own song and adds her own bit to it too (the R-E-S-P-E-C-T!). The closer too is a cover of Sam Cooke's A Change is Gonna Come, which Otis also covered, however, Aretha's version just had so much more power and feeling than his, the opening "i was bo-or-or-orn by the river" and many other phrases within the song and so memorable for the amount of feeling packed into so few words.
In between these tracks are soulful gems of love and loss. My personal favourite has to be Don't Lose This Dream, it starts deceptively as a polite jazz inflected number but soon Aretha and her backing singers have reached the chorus and blown us away with their unique blend of soul/pop.
The album 'Aretha: Lady Soul' is often raved about but i think personally that this album far supersedes it. It sticks to the same genre throughout rather than flitting all over the place. Its one of those albums you love listening to and when its not on you long to hear it again.
From the opening to the closing note you'll be enthralled. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just pure , beautiful genius ......., 18 Jun 2010
If you care to look you will notice that EVERY review of this album , as i write this (June 2010) , awards it the maximum allowed , 5 stars all the way !!
That should tell you something . This was Aretha's first recording for Atlantic Records following a fairly long stint at Columbia . She recorded some decent stuff whilst with Columbia of course ( with a voice like this it would be hard not to) but really , this was her chance to break free from the shackles , let loose and show the world what she could really do . Believe me , the results did not disappoint .
Recording started at the legendary FAME studios in Muscle Shoals , Alabama (one of the most famous recording studios in musical history , run by Chips Moman) , producing two absolutely classic cuts I NEVER LOVED A MAN (THE WAY I LOVE YOU) and DO RIGHT WOMAN - DO RIGHT MAN .
Thereafter they moved up North to Atlantics studios in New York to complete the album . The lady was on the ball and in the mood when she recorded this let me tell you , every track is utterly brilliant and it's very hard to pick out favourites , they change every time i play the damn thing ! Just look at the track listing ; RESPECT , one of the all -time classics (miles better than Otis' pedestrian romp) , SAVE ME , a groovetastic wonder , A CHANGE IS GONNA COME , with it's heartfelt soaring intro , DR. FEELGOOD , so good they named a band after it !!!
Believe me , the rest of the album is just as good .
Where do you go after this though , well i'm afraid the answer is ....downhill. Not to write off the work which came after (there's a few albums from the 5 year period which followed this release which are almost as good ...almost , but not quite ) hell , you'll be hard pushed to find an album this good by anybody , in any genre , that's how high the standard is here .
Simply an utter classic , easily in the Top Three Soul albums of all time , and unequalled by very , very few in the years since . People will be listening to this for as long as recorded music survives......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ARETHAS BEST, 29 April 2013
THIS IS ARETHAS BEST ATLANTIC ALBUM...HOWEVER ONE WONDERS WHAT ESTHER PHILIPS WOULD HAVE DONE WITH THIS MATERIAL AND WAS ALSO SIGNED TO ATLANTIC AT THIS TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real Soul Classic, not to be missed, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've had the vinyl, which I decided to sell, so I know this wonderful LP very well.
Superb, absolutely. One of the lady's finest moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 April 2009
By 
L. Capocci "wabash" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i heard a song that i had never heard on the radio that i really loved and i found out it was aretha fraklin
so i brought 2 ablums and absolutely loved listening to her voice
she has such depth and variation i just love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 29 Jan 2008
By 
Mike S (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
In my opinon this is Aretha at her very best. Sincerity, soul & her unique & brilliant vocal delivery just ooze from this album.Each track arouses a different emotion - Save Me gives me goose bumps!If you are considering buying this album JUST DO IT, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars some of the finest music ever recorded - an unbelievable bargain, 31 May 2007
By 
My words could never do this album justice. Possibly the best soul album ever recorded. At this price what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of Soul, 13 April 2006
By 
Nish Pfister "nhpfister" (Chulmleigh, Devon, U K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can you say, just listen to it!
Aretha Franklin has one of the best voices, ever. And the way she delivers - out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

Only search this product's reviews