Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2009
This CD bought back so many good memories of my time in Kenya working alongside Kenyans. Excellent audio quality, good songs not at all sycophantic. This CD will get a lot of plays and augments my ageing cassette recordings. Could not be better. Tremendous value!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
Absolutely the purest sound of Africa recorded in that modern way that makes it sound as heaven has decended...
great!
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this dvd, it took me back to the time I lived in East Africa, mostly it is in swahili just a couple of songs in english but I highly recommend it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
I met these guys this year in Kenya, where they sung for the inauguration of a building in a primary school in a poor rural area of Kenya. They stole my heart. They sing like angels and you feel the warmth in their hearts. They still have to broaden their repertoire, but this is a high quality recording which will give you the impression that the boys are standing next to you. Their voices go even deeper than the voices of Ladysmith Black Mambazo and I am convinced that they will grow in popularity and steal also your heart ! If you like african choirs then this cd is a must have !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2009
Bought as a present for my husband to play in his car - it really is a great album. Having lived and worked in Kenya for many years, it brought back some lovely memories. Hope it is successful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
I enjoyed this CD enormously from start to finish. The individual tracts were very different and it was a joy to listen to, I wish all the choir success in all they do in their lives ahead.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
Spirit of Africa was a great change to the subject choirs the Harmony was great, very enjoyable
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
This is a tremendously talented young choir and well disciplined. The material chosen varied and some of the arrangements were far too commercial and Euro-Americanised. Universal are probably shot themselves in the foot here! 'Jambo' is heard as a theme in the Mombassa hotels! This is a problem affecting a lot of good performers in Africa that are trying to catch the markets outside their continent. The fact, Africa has art music and composers that will match any outside the continent is not conveyed on this album. Congrats to Fred Onovwerosuoke on his exceptional arrangements that DO share the Spirit of Africa.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
This CD is worth buying; the choir is precise, has a good voice material. However lacking some dynamics in the performance. A more serious criticism is that I find the repertoir somewhat uneven. This Kenyan choir seeks to adopt a South African image, using some iconic music like Ladysmith Black Mambazo's "Homeless..." (well known as Paul SImon featured it in his "Graceland"), and their version of the SA National Anthem "Nkosi sikeleli Afrika". - Why don't they give us the Kenyan national anthem? (which is beautiful). Or the Swahili texted version fore this melody? (the Tanzanian anthem.) Other pieces sound more original. By: Tore Lange, Oslo, Norway, February 2010.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2009
This choir was chosen to sing at the President's inauguration ceremony and I agree that they are really good. In fact it is played over and over again here. They give a true impression of african music
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.40
£13.23

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)