Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit of Africa
This CD bought back so many good memories of my time in Kenya working alongside Kenyans. Excellent audio quality, good songs not at all sycophantic. This CD will get a lot of plays and augments my ageing cassette recordings. Could not be better. Tremendous value!
Published on 3 Aug 2009 by D. E. Banks

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great singing but.....Universal have not helped
This is a tremendously talented young choir and well disciplined. The material chosen varied and some of the arrangements were far too commercial and Euro-Americanised. Universal are probably shot themselves in the foot here! 'Jambo' is heard as a theme in the Mombassa hotels! This is a problem affecting a lot of good performers in Africa that are trying to catch the...
Published on 30 July 2009 by Mike W


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit of Africa, 3 Aug 2009
By 
D. E. Banks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
This CD bought back so many good memories of my time in Kenya working alongside Kenyans. Excellent audio quality, good songs not at all sycophantic. This CD will get a lot of plays and augments my ageing cassette recordings. Could not be better. Tremendous value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 1 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
Absolutely the purest sound of Africa recorded in that modern way that makes it sound as heaven has decended...
great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit of Africa Kenya Boys Choir, 1 Aug 2009
By 
S. V. Owen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this dvd, it took me back to the time I lived in East Africa, mostly it is in swahili just a couple of songs in english but I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life enhancing, 25 May 2010
By 
Von (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
Flying to Washington DC, I was searching for some music to while away the hours. I love Africa and African music, and was interested to hear what the Kenyan Boys Choir would sound like. I loved every minute of it: the tunes, the arrangements, the wide variety of songs, both joyful and sad, South Africa's beautiful National Anthem. The singing is rich, faultless and deep felt. I made a note to buy it when I returned home. The product review says that the choir performed in Washington DC at the inauguration of Barack Obama as the American president. What a wonderful way for the choir to have 'come out'. They deserve to be known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this realy IS the spirit of Africa you hear., 17 Oct 2011
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
I met these guys this year in Kenya, where they sung for the inauguration of a building in a primary school in a poor rural area of Kenya. They stole my heart. They sing like angels and you feel the warmth in their hearts. They still have to broaden their repertoire, but this is a high quality recording which will give you the impression that the boys are standing next to you. Their voices go even deeper than the voices of Ladysmith Black Mambazo and I am convinced that they will grow in popularity and steal also your heart ! If you like african choirs then this cd is a must have !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. K. Tilden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for my husband to play in his car - it really is a great album. Having lived and worked in Kenya for many years, it brought back some lovely memories. Hope it is successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit Of Africa an excellent CD, 3 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this CD enormously from start to finish. The individual tracts were very different and it was a joy to listen to, I wish all the choir success in all they do in their lives ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spirit of Africa, 10 Aug 2009
By 
eric dickinson (east yorkshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
Spirit of Africa was a great change to the subject choirs the Harmony was great, very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great singing but.....Universal have not helped, 30 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
This is a tremendously talented young choir and well disciplined. The material chosen varied and some of the arrangements were far too commercial and Euro-Americanised. Universal are probably shot themselves in the foot here! 'Jambo' is heard as a theme in the Mombassa hotels! This is a problem affecting a lot of good performers in Africa that are trying to catch the markets outside their continent. The fact, Africa has art music and composers that will match any outside the continent is not conveyed on this album. Congrats to Fred Onovwerosuoke on his exceptional arrangements that DO share the Spirit of Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obama was right, 7 Dec 2009
By 
R. Hawkins (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirit Of Africa (Audio CD)
This choir was chosen to sing at the President's inauguration ceremony and I agree that they are really good. In fact it is played over and over again here. They give a true impression of african music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spirit Of Africa
Spirit Of Africa by The Beach Boys (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews