Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In love with this Album
It's a fantastic mashup of various styles and I love every tune on the Album, except one which is a little too vocoder heavy and a little bit commercial, the rest of it however is booty shaking madness.

The bass lines are heavy, the tunes catchy and there's enough variation on the Album to keep it fresh after repeated play through's.
I purchased after...
Published on 16 Mar 2010 by Mr. L. Goff

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diplo & Switch don't quite pull it off
Major Lazer is a collaboration project from Diplo and Switch. If you know Diplo or Switch you'll know that this album will be full of squelchy heavy beats, acid noises, unexpected jumps and arse-wobbling bass. That's true, but it's mixed with big doses of reggae and dancehall rhythms. The whole thing was recorded in Jamaica and you can hear it.

So on paper it's...
Published on 20 Dec 2009 by Mr. Stuart Bruce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In love with this Album, 16 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. L. Goff - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do (Audio CD)
It's a fantastic mashup of various styles and I love every tune on the Album, except one which is a little too vocoder heavy and a little bit commercial, the rest of it however is booty shaking madness.

The bass lines are heavy, the tunes catchy and there's enough variation on the Album to keep it fresh after repeated play through's.
I purchased after hearing "Pon De Floor" and didn't expect to like the rest of the tunes quite so much.

Honestly, the freshest Album I've heard this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Major Lazer is...., 7 Dec 2011
By 
Engstrom Mikael (sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
....absolutely right, and I will tell all my colleagues at the psychiatric hospital where I work; Guns don't kill people: lazers do. In the meantime, Major Lazer saves lives by swing. Great record! With MIA and Santigold to boot. Buy without fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly really good, 10 July 2009
By 
DJ Turpin (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do (Audio CD)
Bought off the back of 'Hold the Line', the first half of this album is great. And it doesn't suffer from the shoddy production that spoils a lot of new Reggae for me.

Top quality tunes, bar a couple of skits that will be skipped after a few listens.

[The second half isn't as instant as the first, but it does benefit from repeated listening.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Diplo's finest...lyrically dumb though lol, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do (Audio CD)
Occasionally crass, occasionally questionable, occasionally obnoxious. Lyrically, no different than most rap music and very much tongue in cheek in tone (listen to What U Like and you'll know what I mean...). The music provided and produced by Diplo (and the many dub and reggae artists) is just, in short, banging. Its perfect for starting a night out, partying, gymming it.
For those who want to try some dub and dancehall (as opposed to dubstep) and to those wanting to listen to what's coming out of the caribbean, this is a great place to start...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as i had lost (or someone stole) my original copy. Sooooo many wicked tracks on this album Cash Flow, Pon De Floor, Jump up, Sound Of Siren, Bruk Out, Hold The Line to name a few. You cant help but dance non stop to this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Stuff!, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No, it's not your usual, boring cd full of poptunes to make as much money for the artist as he can!
It's a crazy cd full of refreshing tunes with bleeps, tunes and all kinds of noises!!!
First time we listened to this cd was in the car on holiday, we both enjoyed it with a big smile!!!
You will feel better after listening to this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Varied and very well putt together, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do (Audio CD)
This offering from the major has to be one of the most playable dancehall albums of the decade it's by far the most varied body of material that's been released recently and proper entertaining from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diplo & Switch don't quite pull it off, 20 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do (Audio CD)
Major Lazer is a collaboration project from Diplo and Switch. If you know Diplo or Switch you'll know that this album will be full of squelchy heavy beats, acid noises, unexpected jumps and arse-wobbling bass. That's true, but it's mixed with big doses of reggae and dancehall rhythms. The whole thing was recorded in Jamaica and you can hear it.

So on paper it's a pretty exciting project, especially looking at the amazing list of guest vocalists and the fact Afrojack and Crookers help out. But in practice it never quite takes off. "Pon De Floor" is a highlight but apart from that the whole thing feels very 'samey'. Some terribly uninspired and sexist lyrics are disappointing.

The whole 'Major Lazer' concept is fun, but wasted. It feels like a parody of the Gorillaz idea (fictional characters front the 'band') but it ends up basically not being funny, it falls flat.

Solid grooves and some very slick production, but sadly not a great end product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do
Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do by Major Lazer (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
In stock on November 4, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews