Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal media centre PC - especially the price
I am really pleased with this computer. It's a doddle to set up, sits out of sight behind by TV and is so quiet.

To get the best out of it, remove all the unnecessary software which comes with it (especially McAfee). Install the latest drivers from the NVIDIA website, then install Media Player Classic Home Cinema (free) to watch video files in HD. To get the...
Published on 10 Dec. 2009 by N. Rose

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be great value - depending on your needs
I bought this a second PC to run specific applications, and for that purpose it's great. But as a regular PC it would be near unusable. To describe it as slow is an understatement. Slow to boot, slow to open even basic applications, slow at anything/everything. But for my needs it's great, and as it's on my desk, the fact it's 100% silent is a great bonus...
Published on 4 Oct. 2009 by D. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal media centre PC - especially the price, 10 Dec. 2009
By 
N. Rose - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
I am really pleased with this computer. It's a doddle to set up, sits out of sight behind by TV and is so quiet.

To get the best out of it, remove all the unnecessary software which comes with it (especially McAfee). Install the latest drivers from the NVIDIA website, then install Media Player Classic Home Cinema (free) to watch video files in HD. To get the best out of iPlayer (including watching it in streaming HD), install the new Adobe Flash 10.1 - the built-in graphic accelerator removes the jitters you get with previous versions of Flash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking machine for cheap HD playback, 17 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. A. R. Pope (Farnborough, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
I bought one of these to sit in the bedroom as a media playback machine. Running Ubuntu and Boxee it plays 720p and 1080p video perfectly. I watch BBC iPlayer on it full screen, full speed with no issue.

Only omission is bluetooth, but bluetooth dongles are super cheap, so that's not a major issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
This is a great machine that works well within its remit ie HD and movie playback and Vista capable at an affordable price.

As a second computer setup +/- media center to go with my LCD tv, it does very well. The Experience Nvidia clip was probably the first HD content it has shown and my daughter squealed when the collie came on in HD. It is silent and small and will fit into a shoebox several times over. I researched the market for a small media pc and this ticked all the boxes. Style and unobstrusiveness combined is a bonus.

It also should do well as a first pc, especially if word processing and internet acccess is a priority. I bought this for my Dad just for this purpose and he is going to be finally transported to the 21st century after plugging away for years on his ancient computer.

If you have a VGA monitor/ LCD, you are ready to go. You may have to adjust resolutions if using LCD. The mouse supplied with the bundle is generic, the keyboard is similar to the sony button type.

Setting up the pc is fairly easy, although you should press the corner of the power button till there is a clunk rather than the top. That gave me a big scare and brought visions about returns. I had no trouble with vista and its aeroglass feature worked without any problems. And of course it recognised my internet signal when hooking up. I haven't activated its software yet, preferring to download some comparable freeware which works well.

Its sitting under my tv until Dad shows up, then it will be sorely missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very compact and silent PC, 14 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
I got this for my mum and have installed Windows 7 on it as is much better than the Vista OS supplied. All drivers are found but you will have to download the latest ION drivers from NVidia.

Overall this unit is very small, sleek and silent. But underpowered. The 1.6Ghz Atom processor really strains under everyday computing conditions, its 'ok' for Word 2007 and Internet Explorer 8, just dont expect too much performance (gaming) and you wont be upset.

I'm thinking about getting one of these to use as a media player as it has a HDMI port, perfect for plugging into my hdtv for divx and BBC iPlayer duties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once you have changed it is great, 16 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
A great computer when you get rid of Macefee security (replaced by AVG) and add Windows 7 that gives you the speed of a standard desk top. It is very quiet and power-consumption friendly, it looks good too. It is the sort of hardware that makes friends envious as they stub their toe on a 3stone desk stop they can not lift on to the table. I like the HDMI link straight into your TV and all diverse input points but you will need an external DVD drive if you want to make the most of it. I bought an LG DVD reader and 20 times writer for £41. A bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crippled by McFee, 3 Sept. 2009
By 
D. Payne (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Dump the pre-loaded McFee and it will be transformed. I nearly returned it because it was so slow, but after uninstalling McFee and some of the other junkware that comes preinstalled it is great. It runs Vista just fine and no complaints about responsiveness. What a fantastic little unit - good looking, unobtrusive and a fine addition to my five-machine home network. I replaced a Popcorn Hour with it because I was tired of the hassle of having to be a geek to get anything to work. Now I have another full Vista (upgraded to windows 7) machine on the network that I can remote desktop manage like all the other (expensive!) high performance machines. Love it, buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acer Aspire, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. Rachel J. Carter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
I didn't believe that this tiny box could do everything a desktop could until I tried it! It is so easy to set up, much less hassle than a desktop tower, and you just plug in and go! It runs very efficiently, and is so much easier to find space for. the price was excellent for someone on a budget as well. Brilliant piece of technology, compact, comes with a small keyboard and mouse also.Would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, quiet but underpowered, 31 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Describing itself as a net-top computer it does that task perfectly well. It's perfect for running windows explorer to surf the web.
It is however underpowered for any other use and painfully slow - even the boot up sequence takes over two minutes.
It's size and design mark it out from the rest of the pack and mounted on the back of a monitor this net-top computer is invisible on your desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be great value - depending on your needs, 4 Oct. 2009
By 
D. Collins "Dave Collins" (New Forest, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
I bought this a second PC to run specific applications, and for that purpose it's great. But as a regular PC it would be near unusable. To describe it as slow is an understatement. Slow to boot, slow to open even basic applications, slow at anything/everything. But for my needs it's great, and as it's on my desk, the fact it's 100% silent is a great bonus.

Assuming you don't mind a crawling system, the value for money is incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HD playback and games, 30 July 2009
By 
Peter Aaen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop PC (Intel Atom N230 1.6 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Vista Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Great little unit. Used in the lounge to watch HD movies and I've manages to load call of duty 4 and runs smoothly. However, needs to be at 640p but nevertheless still great value for money. Also, great that its out of sight as its mounted behind my LCD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews