Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2009
I can't recommend this DVD highly enough! Its certainly in my opinion Duchovny's finest performance, it has now overtaken my image of his definitive role.

After buying the first series on a bit of a shopping spree, i realised that i had discovered one of the sharpest and slickest comedies on television to date. I think i must have watched the DVD within 2 days of recieving it because i was that hooked.
So of course when i discovered that series 2 was being aired shortly after i had ploughed through the first installment i could barely wait for my next fix. It certainly matched up to, and exceeded my expectations.

Without spoiling the plot lines for you i think the only way i can describe Californication is a blend of hilarious and often fairly vulgar lines, amazingly awkward situations that will have you in hysterics and the magic of Hank Moody's pure style. You just can't help but love the guy.

My favourite comedy of the past few years.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
I would have to say no. The pure shock value of S1 is obviously impossible to recreate again, with all the main characters settled in series 2 had a very hard act to follow. Hank is such a great character he would be worth watching painting a wall let alone the predicaments he finds himself in. With the introduction of music producer and lothario Lew Ashby, Hank has found someone that is perhaps even more Hank than Hank himself, a wonderful blend which actually allows you to realise Hank's moral ceiling and his more tender side.
In closing I would highly recommend series 2, if you liked series 1 you'll buy it anyway and for those people go ahead you'll love it! Come on Showtime get series 3 out on DVD soon!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
Even better than the first series!
Sick, silly, clever, rude, realistic, extremely well written, superb cast at the top of thier game, well directed and hugely enjoyable. One of the best series on TV.
If you've got a broad mind, enjoy comedy drama and like good Television, buy this DVD.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 September 2009
Californication Season One was inspired television. Given the ending, you can watch it as a complete experience in itself. And you might just be well advised to do so.

It felt too mean to give three stars here, but there is no disguising a slight falling off in style and seriousness of purpose in Season Two. The title indicates the essentially moral - not moralising - view of casual sex that the show explores in its first year; however, in season two, it seems everyone is just screwing around blithely and for the sake of hooking an audience. The plot line about Charlie getting the sack for repeatedly jerking off at his desk is beyond belief, but his new job as agent for an aspiring porn starlet and eventual cameo in one of her movies - well it's kind of repugnant, almost celebratory of the supposed ubiquitousness of nasty hardcore porn.

I would say the writing in general is less witty second time around, and the reappearance of certain characters kind of unbelieveable. Don't get me wrong, I watched all the episodes compulsively, and even on this form it's still more unisex than Sex And The City, but there's no escaping the fact that the first year was altogether sharper and more purposeful, Hank's peregrinations given a stronger emotional interest than here.

Still better than anything home grown, but don't tell me season one wasn't better.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
'Dyspeptic Spirit' wrote a review here, giving this second series two stars. If the series had continued as poorly as its first few episodes then I would have agreed and maybe gone for one star. With Karen and Hank coming back together the story seemed to lose its structure and purpose and I agree it became crass and not at all funny. But, for me, it perked up once the two had bounced of one another again. Some of the moments in the middle and latter episodes are better than anything through series one, and there's one episode that's just beautiful and brought the sun out for me. I didn't write a review for series one, because it had all been said by other reviewers. If series two were just the last 7/8 epsiodes then I would have given it five stars, but the first few epsiodes hold it back and so I've gone for four.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
Californication - The First Season [2007] [DVD]

Second season did not live up to the first in my opinion.
However, I still enjoyed it, but just didn't laugh as much, looking forward to season 3, lets hope they recapture some of what was lost.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
Continues from Season 1 with the same sharp sexy humour touched with pathos as characterised Season 1. The best thing I've seen for years. Hopefully to be followed by Season 3,4,5......
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
It makes me feel good that they kept Hank a bad boy. That he didn't clean up his act and still was and is notorious bad boy in the second season.Isn't it fun with an little disaster and moral abuse in the days after the credit crunch and subprimes. Watch, laugh out loud and then laugh some more. Hanky is not cleaning up his act in this season - and still so much fun lies ahead! Can't wait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
i had never heard of californication, but read reviews and thought i would buy the first season and see what i thought about it!
what an absolutely brilliantly hilarious series where i watched the whole first series in one day....straight onto amazon and ordered series 2 and 3!
series 2 is every bit as good as the first one..love it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
Hank is back and as bad/good as ever. Great performances from the whole cast with witty fast paced dialogue. If you loved the first series then what are you waiting for you know you want to. Some great new characters adding even more dark humour to this great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)