Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves more attention
Bottle Shock is based on the true story of Steven Spurrier a wineshop owner who in 1976 single handedly brought Californian wines to the world, it may sound quite boring and I nearly didnt rent it but I'm so pleased I did. And although it's been compared to 'Sideways' it stands up on it's own.

Alan Rickman plays a snobbish wine expert quite ignorent to any...
Published on 3 Aug 2009 by Smatch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bottle shock
ok for a rainy or lazy evening. not brilliant but a nice little time passer.
ps. buy a bottle of wine to watch, after all that wine on display you will
want one
Published 11 months ago by phillip doyle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves more attention, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Smatch (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bottle Shock is based on the true story of Steven Spurrier a wineshop owner who in 1976 single handedly brought Californian wines to the world, it may sound quite boring and I nearly didnt rent it but I'm so pleased I did. And although it's been compared to 'Sideways' it stands up on it's own.

Alan Rickman plays a snobbish wine expert quite ignorent to any other wines except from the French. He travels to California to discover that quitely the Americans have been producing very good wine unnoticed for years. He therefore moves from vineyard to vineyard tasting wine, meeting great people and taking bottles to be entered in his wine competition in which world known (French) wine experts judge.

It is a very upbeat kinda feel good film shot on location with breathtaking scenery of the Napa valley in CA. It's funny, heart warming and an all round great film that deserves to be more widely recognised, with a great cast including Chris Pine, Dennis Farina and a good performance from Bill Pullman playing the man struggling to follow a dream, and not forgetting the great Alan Rickman who is brilliant as always.

I would say get this even on a whim because I'm NEVER usually into these sort of films, I was left very very suprised. See for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage entertainment, 10 Feb 2010
This review is from: Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This movie has been compared to 'Sideways', but it is not trying to cash in on Sideway's success. Rather it tells the true story of how Californian wines came to be among the world's very finest. So 'Bottleshock' is a story about the wine industry and real people rather than wine industry being used to tell a story about fictional people. All the characters in the story are real, the events pretty well match up to what actually happened. I found it charming and moving with some excellent observations about the French, the English and the French, which made it amusing. Alan Rickman is always good value. Chris Pine made this movie before hitting the big time in Star Trek, and his talent shines through. Dennis Farina and Bill Pullman are two other cast members who bring their characters to life. Not a classic movie, like say Amadeus or Chariots of Fire, but simple tale well told. Thoroughly enjoyed it as a good night in video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bottleshock - worth viewing, 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
After a history of dominating the wine business France received a shock when the much berated wine of California beat their revered wine in a blind testing set up by an english wine seller based in France. Alan Rickman plays the snobby wine seller who changed the world of wine forever. Funny and entertaining, watch this with a glass of wine and your feet up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this blu ray plays in US disc players, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just in case it helps, I have a Sony S3100 blu ray player, an this disc plays perfectly. it should work in most players
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Gem of a Film, 1 May 2010
By 
Oliver Saunders "Olski" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Not a very well known about film but really worth a watch, particularly if you enjoy your wine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 17 Mar 2010
By 
Paul (Pembrokeshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Reminded me of the ambience that Ridley Scott created with A Good Year A Good Year [DVD] [2006] and I would think if you enjoyed that then you would enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touché, 11 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Alan Rickman's portrayal of the English wine merchant from Paris trying to find alternative wines to those produced in France is very funny, but not in the obvious way. Sit back with a good glass of wine and enjoy.
A wonderful film based on a true story.Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
For someoen in the wien industgry like me it's a must watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great cast and an interesting story in the wine history of the world. I would definitely recommend this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Rickman and Pine. Actually quite a good combination. And it is historically important for wine lovers. How good it tastes is what matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008]
Bottle Shock [DVD] [2008] by Randall Miller (DVD - 2009)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews