Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nott The Hoople
Great cover but is the music any good.
The voice is a bit more throaty than usual but still sounds a lot younger than you'd expect. It took me a while to get into the Shrunken Heads album but I now rate that album highly. This one is more instant, (perhaps safe), but great fun non the less. River Of Tears has a similar sound to Bob Seger on Against The Wind and at...
Published on 20 July 2009 by J. Smart

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars way overcooked
Maybe giving this album rave reviews devalues the truly deserving recordings made by the same artist.

Ian Hunter's eponymous first album and the majority of All-American Alien Boy are still head and shoulders above anything he has done since; they where songs from the heart and you felt it in yours.
They remain the only recordings of Ian's solo career I...
Published 24 months ago by H. Murray


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nott The Hoople, 20 July 2009
By 
J. Smart "Joe Smart" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
Great cover but is the music any good.
The voice is a bit more throaty than usual but still sounds a lot younger than you'd expect. It took me a while to get into the Shrunken Heads album but I now rate that album highly. This one is more instant, (perhaps safe), but great fun non the less. River Of Tears has a similar sound to Bob Seger on Against The Wind and at this point, having only played the album a couple of times, is the stand-out track for me.
Ian Hunter fans will love the album and if he was a younger artist nearer the start of his career it would probably win some new followers.
He's still got more to offer than most singers from the glam rock era. I still remember a Mott The Hoople concert back in 1972 where Ian prophesised, after watching The Sweet perform Little Willy on Top Of The Pops, that only Bowie would survive the aftermath of Glam & Glitter. He was almost right but forgot to include himself.
The up-coming Mott The Hoople concerts will hopefully encourage a new studio album and with the help of Mick Ralphs and Verden Allen a classic album would almost certainly be within reach because Ian still has what it takes.
So is the music any good? Yes it's great and I look forward to living with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way With Words, 24 July 2009
By 
Michael Boyle "Mickey" (Essex ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
Mr Untah! follows up 2007's Shrunken Heads with another fine collection of more laid back songs.Ian Hunter is now 70 years of age which makes this album remarkable the words are fantastic how about this "They got lasers that zap,they got cures for the clap,you can see your insides on TV,they got all kinds of pills for all kinds of ill's,but they ain't got a cure for me" from the title track.BRILLIANT STUFF.
There are are wonderful story songs such as The Great Escape and Girl From The Office full of humour and great little choruses, a terrific rocker in Up And Running."People making money out of other's misery" Hunter spit's out the lyric (he can't be 70 can he?)in disgust.I personally love the song Flowers which is beautifully sung and very catchy which has great words again "Top 2 per cent out of touch" later in the same song "Everyman killed is an insult to faith"this is super stuff indeed.The song Way With Words is a georgous love song to his wife written and sung in a way only Ian Hunter can, totally unique and quite beautiful as is the final song on the album River Of Tears.
This is a fine album and needs to be listened to a few times to fully appreciate the quality of the songs i found myself being moved and quietly chuckling at other times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He shoots, he scores again, 31 July 2009
By 
Peter Meathrel (South Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
A different kind of album to Shrunken Heads but the sharp observations on life the universe and everything else are still there. More laid back but still oozing lyrical & musical quality. The voice shows a bit more sign of age but I think this only adds to the album. A worthy follow up to SH. Is this man in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 23 July 2009
By 
I. H. C. Mellor "mihcm" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
Ian Hunter is really amazing, I have been rocking along to his music since I was school in the 70s and it is as good now as it was then. Here then is a new offering from Ian and all I can say is that it is refreshingly different. It is not what we have come to expect from Ian Hunter, more laid back and melancholy, but all the same I liked it on first listen, it will definitely grow on me. The tracks 'The Great Escape' and 'Girl from the Office' are almost rock ballads, but great tracks all the same. An excellent new album, keep on rocking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still rocking at 70, 22 Mar 2010
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
Ian Hunter/Mott The Hoople fans have a suprisingly long catalogue of discs to choose from, and in Ian, this just keeps getting longer. A boy called Leon Thompson stole my All American Alien Boy album when I was at school ( I leant it to his girlfriend) & I have never forgiven him. It still remains one of my all time favourites, but 'Man Overboard' is now firmly up there.

Back in the 60's Ian was often compared to Dylan, and I think this is an album of Dylanesque proportions. This is not a Mott The Hoople album but i hope that with the re-birth again of Dudes (through the film Juno, plus the Sky advert) many Mott fans, new and old will discover this album and encourage the old git to keep recording.

The quality of the title track in particular shows that this man is totally under-rated. But not by us the fans. We've always known! Keep rockin' Ian. See you in May at the Barbican!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album from a rock veteran., 18 Nov 2009
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard much of Ian Hunter since the glam rock days of Mott The Hoople - "All the Young Dudes", "Roll Away the Stone" etc. back in the seventies and I must confess that I thought his popularity had died along with that short lived musical craze. I was surprised to see that he was still making albums and when I saw all the positive reviews for "Man Overboard" I decided to take a punt. Boy was I glad that I did.

This is brilliant stuff! Hunter's lyrics are razor sharp, but it is the voice and delivery that really make this album something special. All eleven tracks on the album are superbly crafted (well, maybe one exception) and Hunter could show some guys half his age a thing or two.

The only track that doesn't quite cut it is "Girl From the Office" - I don't quite know why, but it just seems slightly inferior, perhaps because everything else is so good. The opening track ("The Great Escape") is a killer, great little rocking number with loads of tongue in cheek humour, and this is followed by two excellent rockers, but by the time you get to the title track you are really into this. It is here that Hunter really scores - the emotion that he gets into this is amazing, and the other ballads, the beautiful "Flowers", along with "These Feelings", "Win it All" and "Way with Words" are just stunning. The real surprise comes with the final track "River of Tears" which in lesser hands could become mawkish and overly sentimental, but Hunter gets it just right - when this finishes you want to go back and start all over again.

Hunter may be getting on in years, but this is one of the freshest albums I have heard in a very long time and I will certainly be giving his back catalogue some attention - a fine piece of work Mr. Hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic from an absolute genius!, 4 Oct 2009
By 
John K. Gateley "johngateley" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
I first must own up to following Ian Hunter's career for over 37 years now. Ever since 'All the Young Dudes' appeared in 1972 you knew he was more than special. It may not have been his song but it was the way he delivered it that told you that he meant business. Mott the Hoople were only really a rehearsal for what was to come. Some great singles and a couple of good albums but it is his solo career that really allowed him to flourish. We have had 'Rant', Shrunken Heads' and now 'Man Overboard' this decade as new material and they are simply three wonderful albums from a man who has just hit 70 years old. Some wine just gets better as it matures. 'Man Overboard' follows 2007's 'Shrunken Heads' and if you are expecting a dose of the same you are going to be surprised. The new album finds him in a more 'ramshakle' style - a little less heavy rock and more reflective. There is simply not a bad track on this album. The first track 'The Great Escape' is just a fine story about being chased by a thug. 'Arms and Legs' is about love and the title track is about a guy on the skids. The Ray Davies-like 'Girl from the Office' initially sounds a bit thin and flippant but on repeated listens is a delight - a very clever song. 'Flowers' is outstanding and one of the best songs he has written in years - flowers are sometimes not enough. 'Win it All' is capable of drawing you to tears; it is that superb. The final two tracks are also superb with 'River of Tears' ending the album - a song about an American Indian tribe lost a long time ago. So, why is Ian Hunter still a best kept secret? God knows. He is leagues above most stuff around these days. He is one of those geniuses that can write great rock songs back to back with a ballad that will break your heart. I saw him at the HMV Apollo on Thursday 1st October 2009 with his fellow Mott the Hoople band members and sat there thinking both what a fine musiscian and great rock and roller he is in the true tradition. An intelligent and hugely observant man who deserves to have more recognition for his fine body of solo work. I love the guy - Ian here's to the next 20 years Fella. God bless you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OVERBOARD WITH PRAISE, 20 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
Apart from two tracks I could never get into his RANT album Hunter's unique voice was too far back in the mix for my taste. SHRUNKEN HEADS was much more immediate and had greater long term impact with Dylan like backing and Hunters voice more upfront giving greater impact to the finely crafted words of the up to date songs. MAN OVERBOARD does not have the immediate impact of Shrunken Heads but on frequent listening I think it is a more complete album with scarcely a duff track.The stand out tracks for me are the Village Green like " Girl from the Office ", the Bob Seger like " River of Tears " , the heart rendering " These Feelings " and "Win it All " and the the poignant " Flowers " which should be dedicated to all the brave soldiers we have lost in Afghanistan. This lovely song contains the killer line " Everyman killed is an insult to any faith". WHAT AN ARTIST AND TOO THINK HE IS 70 YEARS OLD. He deserves a knighthood or some honour from the country he felt unable to continue to live and work in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Onwards and Upwards - Yet Again!, 24 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
This album is superb. If you are familiar with Ian's work you might be wondering why there are early reviews of less than five stars?

`Man Overbaord' runs at a slightly different to pace to `Rant' and `Shrunken Heads' and is definitely a grower rather than instantly gratifying. Don't let that bother you, after a few plays you fall in love with it.

Hunter' song writing just gets stronger and stronger with every release, the quality of musicianship and production on this album make it an absolute treat to listen to. Ian's website is well worth a visit as well, this man has respect for his audience and it pays off.

Keep them coming Ian we are always ready and waiting for the next offering. This album is the DB's mate, well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Shrunken Heads, 25 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Man Overboard (Audio CD)
Fans of Ian Hunter are a canny bunch. Somehow they knew from the beginning that while other rockers would come and go, their man would serve them up pleasure and provocation for a lifetime with his complex and sophisticated blend of Rolling Stones rocking, Bob Dylan balladeering, Suzanne Vega existential personal investigation and John Lennon acid social commentary.

We have known Ian Hunter the lover, Ian Hunter the divorcee fearing for what he has done to his kids, Ian Hunter the rock auto-biographer and above all Ian Hunter the back-against-the-wall street fighter taking on the world. As similar, and similarly excellent, British rocker Joe Solo puts it "It's you and me against the world, Joe, and they don't stand a chance".

If there is another singer-songwriter who has written quite so many classics, I would be very surprised, and if there is one who forty years into his career is sounding fresher and sharper than ever, I would be even more surprised.

Things got a little iffy back there in the eighties as "All The Good Ones Are Taken" followed "Short Back `N' Sides", but in those days you could always count on a great album being followed by a dud. Not any more. Since `The Artful Dodger', three albums ago, Ian's majestic progress has been as sweet as it has been impressive. While some professional music critics have limited themselves this time around to asking "Can Hunter still get it up at the age of 70?", his devoted disciples can ease off their trainers and revel in yet more plastic turned to gold. "Man Overboard" is Ian at his very best.

The album starts with "The Great Escape", a slice of life story of a guy (maybe Ian) being chased out of a pub on his 21st birthday, sort of in the vein of (if not in the style of) "All The Way From Memphis" back in the "Mott" days. "Arms And Legs" is a words-to-the-wise regret for not having had the guts to commit romantically when you should have done. "Up And Running" is the first of his social critiques for this outing, picking up where he left off on "Shrunken Heads" bemoaning the predatory state of the world and encouraging the underdog to fight back (a theme later picked up again on "Win It All") and leading into the title track, "Man Overboard" with its lush chorus which is about finding yourself homeless, serving as a contrast to "Babylon Blues" which is a rant against the self-pitying and self-destructive, a topic he has covered many times, not least in "Boy" ("Ian Hunter") and "Silver Needles" ("Welcome To The Club").

At which point the CD starts to get really interesting.

In contemporary poetry there are several brilliant poets, like Geoff Hattersley and Martin Hayes describing the work scene in piquant vignettes and "Girl From The Office" is up there with the best of their output with its tale of how really to impress the guys on the shop floor.

"Flowers", far from being a love song as some people seem to think, and bigger than being an anti-war song, is actually a ballad that points out that exploitation in all its forms will inevitably lead to violence, and that it's only worth it if you think that flowers placed on graves are sufficient compensation.

"These Feelings" is a long-term love song of the "Too Much", "Still" ("The Artful Dodger") and "Knees Of My Heart" ("Rant") variety, and can be paired with "Way With Words" as the penultimate track on the album.

The final song underlines how masterly this album really is. Some will remember "The Ballad Of Little Star" from the tragically overblown "Overnight Angels", a generalised and sentimentalised lament over the fate of the North American Indians. In "River Of Tears", Ian returns to the regret of what has been lost, but this time using a poignant story to make his point.

In summary, this CD lives within the continuing flow of a lifetime of passions and personal themes and could even stand as the most powerful testament to date of Ian Hunter's towering skills. With a bit of luck he hasn't hit his peak, but he must be getting very close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man Overboard
Man Overboard by Ian Hunter (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews