Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Genius!
I was fortunate enough to see one of his live shows ("Joke Technician") just a few weeks prior to the recording of this DVD in May - it was brilliant. This DVD showcases some of the best jokes from that tour, and new ones also. Only once or twice did I notice jokes that were in his previous DVDs, but this is full with belly-laughing material; including unique visual...
Published on 31 Oct 2009 by A. Lapping

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy has reached his peak and now he's losing it
Being a true fan of Jimmy for years and probably knowing every single joke he has ever said, I find this DVD the least favorite. I saw this gig live last year and I bought the DVD about 2 weeks ago. It seems that after 4 brilliant tours, Jimmy's jokes are becoming very predictable with his very few subjects that he tends to joke about; pedophilia, homosexuality, and...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by Y. Khalil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Genius!, 31 Oct 2009
By 
A. Lapping - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I was fortunate enough to see one of his live shows ("Joke Technician") just a few weeks prior to the recording of this DVD in May - it was brilliant. This DVD showcases some of the best jokes from that tour, and new ones also. Only once or twice did I notice jokes that were in his previous DVDs, but this is full with belly-laughing material; including unique visual slide-show humour, and his attempt at creating the shortest jokes possible using just two to four words! On top of that, with a good 40-minutes of bonus features it really makes this product one of his best yet.

Overall, this DVD is a fantastic example of what Jimmy Carr can do with an audience, and if you didn't get the chance to catch his live show - and even if you did - then this is for you.

Absolutely fantastic! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy has reached his peak and now he's losing it, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Y. Khalil "Beanflu" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Being a true fan of Jimmy for years and probably knowing every single joke he has ever said, I find this DVD the least favorite. I saw this gig live last year and I bought the DVD about 2 weeks ago. It seems that after 4 brilliant tours, Jimmy's jokes are becoming very predictable with his very few subjects that he tends to joke about; pedophilia, homosexuality, and religion. If you are easily offended, this DVD is not for you, if you are a Jimmy carr fan, this DVD is not for you either. The extra footage are a gig in America with the same jokes as the main gig, some deleted scenes, and some tweets he sent on twitter which aren't really jokes, but rather thoughts that aren't really that funny. In other words, this DVD was put together just to sell something this year unlike the previous DVDs which included hilarious clips and showed true dedication.
I am not saying that it's a rubbish gig with no funny jokes, in fact, there are some really hilarious jokes. But even for someone who doesn't get offended easily, I think there is a limit for how much you can push it before you stop being funny and start sounding like you really want to irritate the people you're meant to be offending even when offense is taken and not given. I think his continious theme of sexual jokes gets boring after some time but that's only because he doesn't seem to change his themes that often anymore unlike his first 2 DVDs.
I rated it 2/5 for the 'not so brilliant' material and the obvious lack of dedication in putting this DVD together in comparison to other DVDs. And the way I know I don't like it is simply by not wanting to watch it again unlike his other DVDs which i've seen MANY times.
I saw his new tour live last october and it seems his next DVD would be much better than this one. If you could wait till next November, then do spare your money till then. It might be worth it. Meanwhile, do buy the new Michael Mcintyre DVD titled "Hello Wembley", as it is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great in parts, but not a patch on his previous shows, 5 Feb 2010
By 
S. Renshaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm an avid fan of Jimmy Carr, have bought his previous stand-up DVDs, and absolutely loved them.

Telling Jokes is a similar format. Plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, and he proves he's still king of the heckler put-downs. You know what to expect with this guy, and if you don't like smut then you should avoid.

That said, a lot of the routine seems a little directionless, using abuse without marrying it to humour, to the point where "yeah I f****d your mum" starts to wear a little thin.

However, as a DVD it's worth buying. The good outweighs the bad, and I suspect hardcore Carr fans will find plenty there to love about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still great, but getting a little stale, 30 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Another year, another Jimmy Carr DVD, and once again, I'm not disappointed. Of all the comedy DVDs that seem to flood the shops come November every year, Jimmy Carr is probably the one I look forward to watching the most. Crude humour is probably not my most favourite kind of humour, but there's no doubting that what Jimmy Carr does he does very well, and is a masterclass in comedy.

That said, it's all starting to become a little over-familiar. It's hard to describe Jimmy as playing-it-safe (how can anyone who cracks jokes about paedophilia, rape and sex be safe?) but quite frankly, it seems to be all Jimmy Carr is about and little else. No matter what the set-up, no matter what the heckle, Jimmy always brings it back to the same seedy subject matter. It may have been risque in the beginning, but Jimmy Carr's fanbase has long been desensitised to it. He's balancing a knife-edge that's long been blunt. Like many active comedians at the moment, he needs to branch-out and mix things up a bit or risk becoming stale, which would be a shame, because there's no denying the comedic skill this man possesses.

That all being said, this is still great stuff, VERY funny and with some brilliant audience interaction (those who have seen it will know what I mean when I mention 'soup' - I dare you not to raise a smile at the thought of that heckle!). Jimmy Carr fans won't be let down, that's for sure. However, here's one fan hoping for a bit of a shake-up next time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY... BUT SAME OLD, SAME OLD., 22 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. T. L. Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
If you've seen Jimmy doing live stand up recently, or seen most of his shows on TV, or have his other DVDs.... then you know what to expect. He knows his stuff, he knows the intricacies of joke construction and telling, read his book The Naked Jape. But don't expect to hear anything you haven't heard from him already..... try Rhod Gilberts DVD..... thats a riot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staying on top, 21 Dec 2009
By 
W.N. (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Jimmy amazes me how he finds material after all his other dvd's..!!!
he is gifted.....rude, bitter yet classy....

Just a piece of advice, don't get it if you're easily offended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. P. A. Clowes (UK London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
as all ways Jimmy Carr belts out a brilliant DVD

he is not every-one's "cup of tea",
but if you like the harder more offensive jokes(like me), and laughing tell you almost pee yourself this is the man for you.

i have all of his DVDs and they are all amazingly funny.

I would highly recommend this DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 13 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. M. D. Daglish (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Jimmy Carr is a true comedy genius!! Jimmy seems alot more relaxed on stage than his previous dvd's, but he's as funny and witty as ever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 1 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Having just watched this, and having seen Jimmy Carr live, this DVD doesn't live up to Comedian or Stand Up. Don't get me wrong - it's funny - if you've watched the other DVDs and laughed then you'll certainly enjoy this but if you want to see him at his best, or if you're buying this as a gift for someone who doesn't know what he's like this isn't the best place to start.

It's very close to the bone. Josef (sp?) Fritzl and paedophilia are recurring themes and the while the jokes are undoubtedly funny, they're definitely not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the easily offended!!, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Jimmy Carr never fails to amuse me, although he does push his jokes a little over the line. But that's what makes it a brilliant DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb28a88e8)

This product

Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD]
Jimmy Carr: Telling Jokes [Live] [DVD] by Jimmy Carr (DVD - 2009)
5.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews