Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2014
I bought this version of the Messiah back in the early sixties. It was one of my favourites then and still is. I was very pleased to find that at last, I could buy it on CD/MP3. I have several complete sets of the Messiah and would not like to be without any of them. This version is the one I play and enjoy the most. I would buy it at full price, let alone the very reasonable price being asked. The performances by all concerned stand up, and in some cases surpass any of the others I have heard. Why, when going to the trouble of producing a CD they omit the names of the performers is very strange. So, for those who would like to know, the soprano is April Cantelo, contralto, Helen Watts, tenor, Wilfred Brown, Bass, Roger Stalman, Harpsichord, George Malcolm, organ, Harold Darke, Choirmaster, Frederick Jackson, London Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir, conductor Walter Susskind.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2010
An excellent production, although the major pieces (Hallelujah Chorus, Unto us a child is born, etc) do seem to lack a little punch. Very good value for what it is, and something I frequently listen to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
Heard this on the radio and wanted it for our own collection. Excellent value and well worth including in our favourite music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
The only problem I have with this is that it would not play 4 tracks on my tablet saying an internet connection was needed yet it played all the other tracks. Apart from that a very good buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Slightly disappointed, tempo very slow. Downloaded after listening too an excellent live (whizzy) version at the weekend. Good quality recording, interpretation just too slow for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This is an excellent recording of Handels Messiah. The orchestra,soloists and choirs are all excellent. The value for money is fantastic. Downloading was quick and trouble free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
As a church choir member, I love Handel's Messiah and sing along with the most familiar choral works as often as possible. I think it is beyond brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Wonderful music my desert island discs I could listen to this over and over again. I never get tired of listening to every track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Very cheap for so much music. But I would have liked the names of the soloists, and some of the tempi are on the slow side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
Very good value. Good Orchestra & Choir. Would like to be told who the soloists are though. I'll have to google it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.98
£7.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)