Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Rhode
Currently cleaning up at all the respectable awards Stateside, The Low Anthem's second album is one of this century's finest releases. Cutting to the heart of old America (almost a musical version of Cormac McCarthy's novels) via pump organ, harmonica, woodwind and guitars, the ten songs presented here are spiritual and muscular marvels. Ben Knox Miller's voice ranges...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by Peter Horton

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very bi-polar offering.
On the strength of "Ohio" and "Charlie Darwin", and being a fan of Iron & Wine, Bon Iver et al, I bought the full album. What I'm confused about, though, is how a band that can produce such sublime tracks, mixing the best of Fleet Foxes and American (new)folk can also produce such dire pub-country-rock nonsense as "The Horizon is a Beltway" and "Home I'll Never Be"...
Published on 14 Jan 2010 by Cr Beckett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Jay Zyru (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
Some very nice tracks on this, but a few - in my opinion - awful ones too. Worth buying for the good ones. 'Ohio' is the track used in the TV adverts for this in the UK, and is pretty representative of the better tracks. Often close harmony vocals, which I quite like. Verging on country at times, but keeps to what is for me the right side of the line. I'm not an expert is what the various music genres are these days (I'm more of a classical music listener) so I've picked one of the genres that I haven't got a clue about, viz: 'wilco'. This used to be an RAF abbreviation for 'will cooperate' but I suspect it means something different here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars low fi genius, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh My God, Charlie Darwin (Audio CD)
beautifully constructed music with space to breathe, The Low Anthem continue to produce music of the highest quality in an almost simplistic form, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good deal & delivery, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh My God, Charlie Darwin (Audio CD)
Great order as stated. Stand out music and well worth a listen if into folk rock with some really good tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilled & classy music, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Fnpig "kmccra15" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh My God, Charlie Darwin (Audio CD)
Excellent service delievered promptly for a classy album by a genius artist. Recommended if you appreciate quality in your music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic record, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The slow and the bippety-boppety - and the openning track will squeeze tears of life affirmation from places you didn't even know still existed on that aching body of yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant American Folk, 2 Jun 2012
This review is from: Oh My God, Charlie Darwin (Audio CD)
I have come to this late, at least three years after is was released. But I'm really glad I found it. From the amazing title track on, The Low Anthem create a unique folk/country sound that is perfect listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Owain Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this album after hearing "Champion Angel" being played on a HMV store stereo during a particularly slow Sunday afternoon. Expecting a CD full of foot-stomping folk-rock songs I was very pleasantly surprised to find a mixed bag of melancholy and emotion, with the rowdier (but just as good) songs few and far between. The stand out songs for me are "Ticket Taker" and "To The Ghosts Who Write History Books", both are beautifully written emotional ballads which are the perfect companions to lazy afternoons in the sun. All in all it is a brilliant album and once which I would whole-heartedly recommend to anyone. Also check out the earlier offering from TLA,"What the Crow Brings", if you are a fan of the slower ballads in this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUBLIME, 1 Aug 2011
By 
pete shields "axepete" (Mansfield Notts England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oh My God, Charlie Darwin (Audio CD)
The Low Anthem produce outstanding songs.
Lyrically and musically sublime.
The vocal melodies,harmonies and diction are exquisite.
Colouring the minds canvass with wonderfully strong imagery
The Low Anthem understand the importance of " understatement " and weave their own unique magic via carefully chosen instrumentation and " Leonard Cohen / Tom Waits - esque" poetry.
Oh My God Charlie Darwin is a masterpiece.
It holds the listeners interest throughout and is a complete album from begining to end.
They are fast becoming one of my all time favourite bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Oh My God, Charlie Darwin (Audio CD)
Really, really good! I was initially drawn to this album by the faster tracks like 'The Horizon is a Beltway' and 'Champion Angel' then the slower ones grabbed me. This is one of the best albums I've heard in recent years. I saw them play Sheppard's Bush in London a few months ago and it was stunning, the crowd stood in complete silence, in awe of the quieter tracks (often played by them surrounding just one mic), then just erupted in the breaks. Everyone I spoke to, or overheard, seem to agree it was something very special, and the album captures them perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On My God, Charlie Darwin, 28 May 2010
By 
Hazel Vicary "Hazel" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh My God, Charlie Darwin (Audio CD)
This is a really beautiful CD. I only came across Low Anthem recently, hearing it on a television programme as background music but I love it so much I intend collecting everything they have done. Well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oh My God, Charlie Darwin
Oh My God, Charlie Darwin by The Low Anthem (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews