Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grower.....
At 1st listen, this didn't seem the most instantly memorable Eels album but after having it for less than a week, E's songs have already worked their magic and got into my head. The album draws from a full range of styles from across the Eels back catalogue - Prizefighter, Tremendous Dynamite and Fresh Blood are heavy, snarling tunes; My Timing Is Off and All the...
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by Lumpster

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great songs, where's the band?
Bit of a frustrating one this. The songs are as up to the usual Eels standard, and I like the way the slow, ruminative tracks alternate with the harder, rockier numbers.
The thing that holds the record back though is the (apparent) absence of a live band, particulary on the heavier songs. It seems that E has succumbed to the same temptation that has, in the past,...
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by Mr. W. J. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grower....., 7 Jun 2009
By 
Lumpster (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
At 1st listen, this didn't seem the most instantly memorable Eels album but after having it for less than a week, E's songs have already worked their magic and got into my head. The album draws from a full range of styles from across the Eels back catalogue - Prizefighter, Tremendous Dynamite and Fresh Blood are heavy, snarling tunes; My Timing Is Off and All the Beautiful Things are smart, catchy melodies; What's a Fella Supposed To Do has the most amazing guitar riff under-pinning the song. There isn't a Top 10 single here but just 12 high quality tunes that collectively make a fantastic album; the return of Knuckles and Koool G Murder have added a richness and depth to the sound versus some of the recent Eels releases when E was effectively a one man band. Rest assured that this album certainly stands up against some of the Eels' career highlights, such as Electro-Shock Blues, Daisies of the Galaxy and Blinking Lights & Other Revelations.

For a couple of extra quid, the DVD edition is also recommended, which features footage of the album being recorded in what looks like E's front room!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Beginner's Luck....., 12 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
I own all of the Eels back catalogue and can safely say that apart from the patchy Souljacker album, the standard of Eels material is consistently good. This album is no exception. It takes a couple of listens to get used to the sparse production but the mixture of Howlin' blues songs and introspective songs gradually begin to grab you with their charm. Fresh Blood and Beginner's Luck are probably the most immediate songs. That Look You Give That Guy and My Timing Is Off are real growers, but the best song of all is the introspective last track Ordinary Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 11 Jun 2009
By 
M. A. Turner (Sussex by the Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
No matter what the medium, this mans creative output is always superb (lets ignore 'A Man Called E'). His writing, film making, recorded music and live performances are consistently mouldbreaking and unique. This is no exception.

From the opening howl it is a rollercoaster ride all the way to the introspective reflections and unfailing optimism of Ordinary Man. The best love songs are allways the sorrowful tales of unrequited love, and The Look You Gave That Guy is on par with Nick Caves' Brompton Oratory.

The album rocks out and ambles along in equal measure. True to his style and a step forward also. I can't imagine a lover of good music being disappointed with this record.

The last words of the last song are 'I'm No Ordinary Man'. What's not to like about Mark Oliver Everett? Man Wolf Indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars E is the Hombre!, 29 May 2009
By 
Brian Scott (Wigan, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
Just been listening to this album over the last few days, streamed from the Eels Myspace page, and must say that E has done it again! Once more, another five star album! Most like Souljacker in its mix of rocking and melodic tracks - all excellent from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Eels sound without being a Greatest Hits compilation, 21 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
Hombre Lobo is the seventh studio album from the Eels. It arrives in the wake of a B sides compilation and the Live in the Town Hall with Strings releases. The last studio album released was Blinking Lights and Other Revelations, which reached critical acclaim but left me wondering what on Earth was going on.

I am delighted with Hombre Lobo. It is absolutely the best Eels album I could have hoped for. E has put together a wonderful portfolio of melodies. There is a really strong sense of the journey that the Eels have been on, and influences have been drawn from all their recording experiences.

"The Look That You Gave That Guy" brings us the quiet Eels of the Beautiful Freak days, and "Beginners Luck" reminds me of the songs released for the Shrek soundtracks. "Lilac Breeze" is reminiscent of Shootenanny, and "The Longing" takes me back to the Electro Shock Blues, without depressing me too much. The Daisies of the Galaxy are represented by "My Timing is Off". "Tremendous Dynamite" is the hardest rocking song that I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy from the Eels. I can't stop listening to it on repeat. It is dirty rock at its best, and is the song that Souljacker wished it had on it.

That said, I feel that the progression in the Eels is also shown in this album. "Fresh Blood" is an excellent innovative track, which harnesses a slightly more electronic sound than we are used to, and has a simply electrifying 'chorus' which is best listened to as loud as you can bear it.

I can't recommend this strongly enough to Eels fans. It is simply quintessential Eels; you couldn't call yourself a fan if you didn't enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Desire and delivery, 31 May 2009
By 
Mr. J. Milton "jambo234" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
Bloodthirsty like a werewolf, desire hasn't been a topic that Mark Oliver Everett has shied away from over his fifteen years as an alternative-rock pioneer. Although his songwriting has always remained exposed and generous in honesty, never has a man sounded so out in the open as E does on this concept album on that very subject. It's difficult to fully gain awareness of the actual attitude E takes towards seducing sexy ladies, with the lyrical content varying between a desperate, lust-filled man and one so wounded that he can't continue. Nevertheless, throughout `Hombre Lobo', he manages to take your breath away.

Strictly speaking, this is a concept album, but you need not know that. Instead you could interpret this record as a truthful collection of Eels' most naked accounts on seeking love. A proverbial pendulum switches musically and personally between the obnoxious, edgy numbers ('Tremendous Dynamite') and the beautiful, damaged ballads ('The Longing'). Each track maintains the accessibility factor that comes with Eels, but the variety feels like something new, almost on a level of the diverse nature of `Souljacker' in 2001. It's in the words he sings that E truly excels. The most poignant moment of the aching account `The Longing' is the revelation "I think she knows, that when I say that I would die for her, it's not just words, I really would" and on the flipside of that, there's the dark, almost stalker-like account of the itch on `Fresh Blood', which suddenly opens up with the declarative "I'm more alone than I've ever been, help me out of this shape I'm in". Be it a concept album, be it E's words or not, those words still get to the very core of your thinking.

But at one point it does strike you that Everett might truly be a lonely man, not some playboy with a libido. His life has always been bleakly surrounded by death and loss. It's not the first time that as a songwriter, he's become so honest with his audience, but with that thought in the back of your head, it makes `Hombre Lobo' a unique and striking account. You might think you've heard the likes of `My Timing Is Off' and `All The Beautiful Things' before, each clasping to a traditional Eels formula of summertime blues, major chords and an uplifting atmosphere, but lurking inside is something not so commonplace, something momentous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Songs of Greatness..., 3 Jun 2009
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
E has certainly come back with an absolute amazing album. Eels first studio album since 2005's 'Blinking Lights And Other Revelations' sees a return to issues ranging from love, loss, suffering.. but with an over-riding feeling of hope: this album is upbeat even at its most haunting. Since 'Blinking Lights' we have seen the release of... The Best Of... B-Sides and Live Offerings... yet throughout this time I have been craving a new studio album and it has finally arrived in the form of 'Hombre Lobo'. Recorded @ E's studio with old time collaborator Koool G Murder (from the SoulJacker days) and 'Knuckles' (drums and percussion).

The 12 track studio album is as follows:

1. Prizefighter
2. That Look You Give That Guy
3. Lilac Breeze
4. In My Dreams
5. Tremendous Dynamite
6. The Longing
7. Fresh Blood
8. What's A Fella Gotta Do
9. My Timing Is Off
10. All The Beautiful Things
11. Beginner's Luck
12. Ordinary Man

Let me get straight to the point here: all 12 tracks are fantastic. Think Souljacker/ Electro Shock Blues mixed in with Daisies of the Galaxy... I have followed E throughout his career from 'A Man Called E' to this latest offering and man he never fails to amaze.

Songs on this record range from the incredibly haunting 'the longing' to the chilled out 'that look you give that guy' to the head-banging 'fresh blood' and 'prizefighter'. The great thing about this album is that if I were to recommend an Eels album to a new listener of the band I think I may well choose this album. To hardcore Eels fans you may raise an eye here, I mean everyone of their studio albums is an absolute classic, but Hombre Lobo has truly captured an essence of everyone of their albums. E clearly continues to work through life-issues and continues to present the listener with breathtaking music.

This is a must have folks. Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New one is even better, though, 1 Feb 2010
By 
C. M. Drazin (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (MP3 Download)
Up to Eels usual high standard but End Times' transcendent gloom surpasses it. Cheer up Mark (tho not too much), we love you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical genius from Eels, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Steven Willis (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
Other reviewers have nailed this one far more eloquently that I could, so I'll keep this short. It's absolutely brilliant.

I genuinely dread the time when this man decides to stop making albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less Is More, 7 Jun 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hombre Lobo (Audio CD)
No fuss or frills on Mr Everett and his merry minstrels'
new release 'Hombre Lobo'.
The simple formula is a highly effective one.
A shining example of less sometimes being more.

He has an ear for a good tune, no doubt about that
and there are twelve of them here.
The best of the bunch are genuinely affecting.
Mr Everett has a true melancholic's understanding
of the value of pathos and understatement.
'In My Dreams' and 'The Longing' are both exquisite examples
of his fragile art. Love and loss balanced on a knife edge.

'Lilac Breeze' and 'Fresh Blood' provide a rough-edged rocking
counterpoint to the album's largely reflective and downbeat mood.
There is a howling wolf loose in the latter ( one of my American
cousins perhaps ? ) stalking through an effectively realised
B-movie landscape.

'All The Beautiful Things' is a whimsically perfect little gem of a song.

Top marks, however, go to 'The Look You Give That Guy' a
composition which manages to articulate a moment of lost
opportunity as well as any described before him by Randy Newman
and 'Ordinary Man', a simple and touching song which brings
the album to a sad but emotionally satisfying conclusion.

Mr Murder (nee Logsdon) and Mr Knuckles (nee Brown) provide their
leader with economical but very strong musical support throughout.

A canny, well-constructed and perfectly paced little album. I loved it.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hombre Lobo
Hombre Lobo by Eels (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews