Customer Reviews


305 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The series continues...
Goblet of Fire being my favourite of the HP books, I have looked forward to this film for so long and thankfully it did not disappoint. Yes, a lot of scenes are cut and a lot of scenes added, and some important details are only touched on, but fans of HP will know the book inside out anyway and should appreciate the fiilm in its own right.
Daniel Radcliffe has...
Published on 11 April 2006 by KB

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An illusion
Having read all the potter books, I expected there to be some minor ommisions in the films. A few details were dropped in the first film, a few more in the second,until you get to this fourth film which, in my opinion, is only the outline of the story.
There are so many details and events missing. In truth i'm not totally surprised, because this film is a...
Published on 23 Mar 2006 by warden139


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Harry Potter Film So Far! :), 3 April 2007
By 
M HALL (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the best Harry Potter film in the series.

I have always loved Harry Potter films and enjoyed them much more than reading the books, I was really happy to get this film on UMD for such a low price!

This installement is a great film. It's exciting, and funny! Lots of mystery, as all the Harry Potter books / films have. And a great ending.

The picture quality on the UMD, is excellent and close to DVD. Only moan, is that it is displayed in a widescreen format, so the picture only covers half of the screen.

But apart from that, a great film and great value!

Can't wait for the 5th film to be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will have choose between what is easy and what is right, 11 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire [Blu-ray] [2005] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Harry and his friends are now young ladies and gentlemen. An international Quiditch event is taking place. To get there one has to use a port key (an innocuous looking device that transports one to a different location). Things do not go as well as planned and now a dark element has been added.

Also this year is the tri-wizard tournament in which a hero from each of three learning institutes must compete in unknown events. This is to promote friendship among the institutes. The opportunity is open to only potential contestants of seventeen years. They must enter his/her name into the goblet of fire for selection. So you can imagine everyone's surprise to find fourteen year old Harry's name in the Goblet. How did his name get in the goblet? Will Harry accept the challenge? And if so how will he fair?

We get to see all the characters for the book come to life. Most of the relevant story is included. Among the parts that were left out, I was hoping for the Blast-Ended Skrewts and the male wizard wearing the dress to get plenty of air around his private parts.

The series of Harry films has also matured with each rendition. It took several tries, some better than others but this one has the feel of the book and even with the short time it plays has shown the real feel of the ongoing story of the struggle between Harry and he who must not be named. This includes the larger picture of more than just good versus evil.

Harry Potter Adult Edition Box Set: Four Volumes in Paperback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling for family but misses book spark, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Harry Potter (Radcliffe) returns to Hogwarts for his forth year where he is mysteriously entered into the legendary Triwizard Tournament.

The forth instalment into the series and fans expectations were higher than ever after Prisoner of Azkaban broke minds with a darker promotion than the previous two and with established new director Mike Newell the franchise took on an even bigger hit with a more dismal but equally more entertaining look into the magical world of...magic.

Opening with a strange montage we see a stranger enter a house where traitor Wormtail and a mystery man are conversing with some unknown man in a chair. Blinding green light later and we are in Ron Weasley's bedroom. This opening is dark and mysterious and whereas not appreciative of the opening chapter (a mere two or three minutes covering around 20 pages) will engage any Potter fan.

If, like me, you enjoyed J.K Rowling's forth instalment the most, then you will have looked for adrenaline soaked action sequences, a heap of mystery and some interesting new sequences then you are rewarded. But does this do justice to the book? Not really.

Goblet of Fire was easily the longest book at the time of release. Filled with multitudes of mystery, main and sub plots, it engaged me into a world I thought did not exist. Dragons, underwater adventures, the return of a certain villain creating a big soap like story and the growing up guys like girls factor spells one entertaining film. What Newell's picture offers is all these elements but in a finely cut manner. Sharp and sophisticated it is great family entertainment with dark mystery and stunning visuals, but are extremely cut down. For example scenes which take four chapters to decode take ten minutes on screen (The Graveyard scene) and cutting so much out of the book makes you feel unappreciated for your patience. This is the case with most Potter films but this one most of all.

However despite the too quick scenes what makes Goblet of Fire special is what J.K Rowling created. The Dragon, the love and the hate are all still there and are handled in a stunning way, particularly the dragon sequence.

The actors all deliver with Ralph Fiennes in special sophistication form. Set designs are impressive though the fact Hogwarts changes so frequently throughout each film will undoubtedly annoy die hard fans.

Goblet of Fire therefore is a good action packed sequel that still casts spells over fans but though enjoyably long, still misses so many important facts.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ever Potter, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Many critics have questioned whether young Daniel Radcliffe is up to the task of creating the passion of the central protagonist from J.K Rowling's series. Personally I believe he is performing well as the young troubled wizard and this film showed Radcliffe again rising to the occasion to prove he will do whatever it takes to make Potter an interesting character.

Radcliffe stars as Potter who is forced to compete in an ancient magical competition, the Triwizard tournament, only someone put Potter's name in the Goblet of Fire, so he has no choice but to compete in deadly tasks that will see him tested to the extreme.

I'm a big fan of the Potter books and this is my all time favourite Potter book, so I was a bit unsure about seeing the film as it may have taken away some of the imagination from the book. As usual many scenes are cut away from the book but also as usual, many scenes are brought to breathe taking life, especially the Dragon scene and the lake task which were visually and emotionally stunning with on the edge of your seat entertainment.

The films keep getting darker and none more so than the ending to this film which is very powerful and shocking to the system and the most deadly anticipated return of the series.

One element of the films which I'm not too happy with is the character appearances. The first two films shone for me by having regular appearances of the favourite characters from the books, Draco Malfoy, Hagrid and Professor McGonagall. Now they are hardy in the films which are a real shame as they are able to provide more interesting scenes between them.

Its minimal criticism however for a brilliantly visual and moving tale about the teenage wizard, with many laughs and excitement for the whole family.

with many twists, turns, magical creatures and laughs, it is the most engaging Potter film there ever will be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An illusion, 23 Mar 2006
Having read all the potter books, I expected there to be some minor ommisions in the films. A few details were dropped in the first film, a few more in the second,until you get to this fourth film which, in my opinion, is only the outline of the story.
There are so many details and events missing. In truth i'm not totally surprised, because this film is a similar length to the first, although the book is almost 4 times the length of the original.
Disappointing for those who read the books and know the FULL story. A reasonable film if you havent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Harry Corrie!, 29 Mar 2006
Just a short review on this film, I have saw all the films and being a small fan of the series, loved for example the first movie. Over all, my Harry potter experience has been one of good humour and suspense. Nearly all the series includes Harry in deep trouble and a spell salve's the day. It's like MacGyver, Order of the phoenix? AKA Phoenix Foundation LOL. Still I do like the series, however this last instalment seamed to be more about CGI and hype and a bit of romance it's not as clever as the last few. And it's most definitely not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but not quite magical enough, 16 Oct 2007
By 
After I saw the first Harry Potter film a few years ago I refused to ever watch any of them again, as I am such a loyalist to the books, and felt that the films could never live up to them. However, the trailer for the fourth film intrigued me so I gave in and went to see it with some friends, and actually quite enjoyed it. I have now given all the HP films the benefit of the doubt and seen them all up to date, and although they don't match up to the books they are pretty good films nonetheless, and that change in attitude was all thanks to me seeing Goblet of Fire. Although it is not the best representation of the book, characters and scenarios are relatively well realised, and the score is fantastic. The effects are pretty good too. There are few let downs - tiny technical glitches that book fans will grumble at - such as Harry's letters from Sirius Black being signed Sirius rather than Padfoot - as he is in hiding it is ludicrous that he should use his name, but ho hum perdantics... Also the Third Trial - the Maze - is disappointingly represented, but the graveyard scene with Lord Voldemort coming back to full power more than makes up for this.
I say it's an enjoyable film, if you're prepared to let the inaccuracies go and just see it for what is. A film based on the book rather than an accurate portrayal, and all the basics are there so that it follows on from 3 and leads on well to 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Oh No What Happened, 25 Mar 2006
Please don't hit me, but this film left me rather disappointed. It's no-where as good as the first three. Something was missing. I think it lost some of its childish innocence. I know this was supposed to be darker, but the other films got across the dark and sinister side of the story, in fact the dark parts were perhaps made darker by the light and humorous parts. The other films drew more comparisons between the muggle and magic world. Also I feel that the characters in this film were a lot weaker. I think that the lack of character reaction was a big downside, the other films concentrated on the friendship between Ron, Harry and Hermione, this time I think they concentrated too much on effects and forgot about the characters and the little details that make things complete. The ending also left me very disappointed, I think that there might have been better ways to do it. The film ended too open ended, the other films left you knowing that there was more to come, but did have a little bit of closure, but this was lacking this time. I did love the bit with He Who Must Not Be Named, that was done extremely well, but the rest of the film was dull in comparison. It left me feeling that they had tried to get in too much in to short of time and hence the film felt a little flimsy. I was extremely disappointed I just hope they get it better with the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry's back, 2 May 2008
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Year 4 Harry's back with his friends at Hogwarts Hermione seems to get more sexy every year and this film take full advantage of that fact.

This year the tri-wizard tourment is to be held at Hogwarts and when Harry even thought he isn't old enough is chossen to take part by the goblet of fire Ron turns his back on Harry.

The Yule Ball is great fun some famous faces appear in this film.

Apart from the normal now famous face of lovely Emma Watson (Hermoine)
Harry and Ron and the other regulars.

We see Trigger of Only Fools and Horses fame appear and David Tennant (Doctor Who 10th Doctor).

In this film Voldmort the Dark Wizard that Harry stopped while his was young is reborn in this film.

This film has everthing you want and lots of action this is a great film and perfect to add to any Harry Potter collection plus a must for any Potter fan (But I guess most guy are Hermoine or Granger fans) I am.

Emma really steals the shows and Malfoy gets his just want he should have gotten years ago.

You may have thought he would have learnt his lesson after Emma (Hermione)punched him last year.

Back to the product as with UMD's the picture quailty I standard and the sound even though good better with headphones.

As with all UMD's the film is full length but no extras as always but a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting better...., 1 Mar 2006
I was very keen to see just how a book like Goblet of Fire was going to be translated into a film. Not only is the book huge, it takes a turn towards real violence and death that has only been alluded to before, plus the characters themselves are changing. They've hit their teens and experiencing all the angst that goes with that. So how does the film do? Well it has merits and flaws...
First the merits... It manages to hit the main thrust of the book well and generally captures the spirit of what happens, moving the plot forward to Book 5. It cut out the House Elf sub-plot (thank goodness). The effects are excellent and the young actors are growing in stature (both physically and in their performances). Daniel Radcliffe deserves particular mention as he has improved greatly and really now seems to be under the skin of his alterego not to mention all the fantastic work he did doing the underwater scenes. They are all the more effective for it. I also liked the way his growing crush on Cho Chang was dealt with. Katie Leung was well cast for her looks and her charming Scots accent and generally the rest of the casting was good, including Miranda Richardson as evil journalist Rita Skeeter.
Now the flaws... I am sure most people would agree that fitting in such a big story requires deft editing. But the film rattles through as if each scene is a set piece in itself to explain a particular plot point. I think it would have been better to take a breath now and again instead of spending so much time on scenes like the dragon test which is way too long in my opinion. Some of the moments are overdone, particularly in the relationship between Ron and Hermione which boils over to a point where it no longer relates to the book (heck by the end of Book 6 they have barely acknowledged their real feelings!). I was also quite disappointed with the great 'unveiling' of Voldemort. Not as scary as I'd hoped and strangely the long-winded exposition comes across like a bad episode of Scooby Doo when on film rather than in print. Hopefully more chance for Fiennes to grow into this in OOTP? But my biggest source of frustration is that Michael Gambon's Dumbledore still bears no resemblance to the character I know, either physically or in his personality. JKR's Dumbledore is quirky but not loud or aggressive. He emanates power, he is tall and thin with a white beard not a straggly grey one. I suspect Michael Gambon (whom I am usually a big fan of) simply wants to differentiate his own performance from the late Richard Harris, who in my eyes was perfectly cast. This is a great shame as it spoils the films for me. When I saw 'Troy' it occurred to me that Peter O'Toole might have been a better choice?
So some major and minor flaws and some things to celebrate. I think this film visually was the most successful of the four and the promise is of even better to come, particularly in the performances of the young actors. As a fan of the books, I found the film enjoyable and on the whole true to their spirit - but I hope for more improvements in the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire [Blu-ray] [2005] [Region Free]
£8.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews