Customer Reviews


297 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous & Magical
This set looks fantastic. It has a cardboard sleeve and the main box inside is large, solid and and very well-presented with lovely detailing. If you have all the sets together, they are quite phenomenal to behold! Inside there is a 'Creating The World of Harry Potter' photo album and this contains photographs of many of the Harry Potter film sets. There is also a paper...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by Quinn

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but a disappointing Blu-Ray
The film is wonderful, for me clearly the better of the two Christopher Columbus 'family films', and in many ways my favourite before the obsession started with making Harry Potter increasingly 'darker'. Extras are not bad including around nine minutes of deleted scenes and numerous behind the scenes features. But the main issue here is the Blu-Ray quality and that is why...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Mr. Blu


‹ Previous | 122 23 2430 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my son loves this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous, 21 Jun 2002
A really, really, really fabulous movie. The actors are well chosen and do a fantastic job. Robbie Coltrane makes the best Hagrid you can get (his entrance with "Sorry about that!" never fails to crack me up!), Emma Watson is fantastic as the know-it-all busybody Hermione, and as for Rickman, well, you just have to SEE it. Only I could not take Richard Griffiths seriously as the malevolent Dursley. The sceneries are breathtaking. While some scenes and details from the book have been left out, the movie is more than an illustration of it, it brings it all to LIFE. Don't know if I'd be so much taken with the books if I hadn't seen the movie. I'd give it 5 1/2 stars, pity that it's only allowed to give 5. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic family film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for non-Potter fans!, 15 May 2002
By A Customer
I must confess that I wasn't a fan of Harry Potter before seeing this film last year, but, Having been impressed with the first film dramatisation of it, the story itself is pretty good! The DVD'S extra features are the best I've come across to date, with little games and things to keep you entertained for much longer than normal DVD extras do, usually. I bought my copy in fullscreen format, and, as I don't possess a widescreen tv, it was refreshing to watch a film on DVD that filled the whole screen for a change, instead of being anamorphically "squeezed" onto the disc like all the other DVD movies in my and everyone else's collections are. I only hope more DVD's are manufactured in this way for we non- widescreen fans of the format. (Sorting) Hats off to Warner Bros. for doing this. And by the way-I may still not be a bonafide Harry Potter fan, but I'll conclude by saying this...bring on "Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All as stated, great, 14 Sep 2014
By 
L. Vann-Wakelin (UK, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All as stated, great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter And The Philosopher's Stone [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
just what I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Harry Worth than Harry Potter, 26 Feb 2002
By 
M. F. Edwards "xbumble" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's always difficult to live up to hype, and it's even more difficult to live up to everyone's imagination. And this proves to be the ultimate downfall of this DVD.
Anybody who has followed the books has already established a visual interpretation of the characters, the locations and the special effects and has become familiar with them throughout the series. When presented with the director's ideas on these, it is not what you envisaged and as such becomes almost alien to you.
The acting itself is OK but not really outstanding, personally I didn't identify Harry Potter with the character on the screen - I found him to be too cheesy. In an attempt to cram all the key elements of the books into the film, the director has merely dropped in these events and glued them lightly together with some irrelevant padding. As such, the film lacks the depth and subtlety of the books.
Detail was lacking such as Hagrid's undersized motorbike rather than the hulking mean machine we were fed in the literary version. Such small things make or break a film and sadly there are way too many intricacies missing.
Many of the characters make cameo appearances without really adding to the plot such as Nearly Headless Nick. The absence of Peeves, truly the only spirit with any bite, was unforgivable and whoever took the decision to leave Rik Mayal on the cutting room floor should be ashamed of themselves.
Special effects are up to standard but again, tend to be there through necessity rather than to enhance.
It's not a bad film, just that you come away with a slight empty feeling. A feeling that somehow it just could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 7 Aug 2005
this film is an action packed exciting adventure that makes everything seem it is in real life. i enjoyed this film and every detail was so real! great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 1 Nov 2007
I have not been impressed with any of the five Harry Potter movies so far, but the first three are on a different level of badness than number four or five. Fine they are very faithful to the book, but they are terrible adaptations and the director and scriptwriter ought to be ashamed of themselves.

The plot is basically like this ( although everybody knows it ), Harry doesn't know he's a wizard until a giant tells him that he is, he then goes to a magic school called Hogwarts and makes friends with Ron and Hermione, but everything doesn't go well because Harry finds out about the philosophers stone which is hidden in the school, and he suspects one of the teachers is going to steal it.

The problem with this movie is the following: The first two books were more for children than the ones following them, but this takes a novel for 9+'s and turns it into a soppy kids movie for four year olds who aren't able to tell te difference between a good movie and a bad movie, aswell as that they take the direction of the happy ending, and seem to ignore all the horrors that Harry went through during the term. The script is terrible, I mean, no children talk like that, it's just disgraceful that any scriptwriter that bad could be hired for this major a movie. There are some excellent adult actors here, but even they have to struggle with a terrible script, and the three main kids in it are useless, nowadays Emma and Rupert are ok, but Daniel has only imroved a little bit, but certainly not enough to be convincing. The directing is very poor in this one and only starts to improve at number 3, when they got a new director.

I don't recommend this to anybody except young children, and the only reason I didn't give it 1 star is because of the good acting from most of the adults, and because I can't stand giving something even remotely connected to the genius of JK Rowling 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter And The Philosopher's Stone [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2430 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter And The Philosopher's Stone [DVD] [2001]
£4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews