Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb music that you might be surprised to find you like
Vangelis is an artist unlike others. This album seems to bridge a gap between classical and modern. Heaven and Hell is a superb musical journey that will be quite unlike most things you've heard before, but you may well find yourself converted. It is left to the listener to decide which movements describe Heaven and which Hell. Listeners of a certain age will recognise...
Published on 16 Nov. 2000

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity and Sonically Ruined
I was excited when I heard that this an other Vangelis RCA albums were being remastered, but I've found that the so called enhancements have ruined the quality and taken away some of the suttle effects of the albums.

In the case of Heaven and Hell, there is a ridiculous amout of reverb on most of the tracks which just seems to have been shoved on regardless of...
Published 17 months ago by Mark Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb music that you might be surprised to find you like, 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
Vangelis is an artist unlike others. This album seems to bridge a gap between classical and modern. Heaven and Hell is a superb musical journey that will be quite unlike most things you've heard before, but you may well find yourself converted. It is left to the listener to decide which movements describe Heaven and which Hell. Listeners of a certain age will recognise the 3rd movement as the theme from Carl Sagan's Cosmos series of 20ish years ago. My only slight complaint is that on the vinyl version, the song (with Jon Anderson as vocalist) is placed in the middle of the main theme, but this is not enough to cause me to award any fewer that 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trip through the Cosmos with Vangelis, 17 May 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
I first encountered Heaven & Hell when viewing the TV Series Cosmos, written and presented by Dr Carl Sagan. The music haunted me for days until I discovered it had been written by Vangelis and was available as the album Heaven and Hell.
The haunting electronic melody takes the listener on a journey through time and space with changes in tempo which constantly keep you wondering what is coming next but at the same time, guiding you along the path, building to a crescendo with fury similar to 'Mars in The PLanets Suite. I venture to compare it to use this comparison but purists may well disagree.
An album for which to set-aside time and drift off onto a higher plain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity and Sonically Ruined, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Mark Taylor (Wakefield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was excited when I heard that this an other Vangelis RCA albums were being remastered, but I've found that the so called enhancements have ruined the quality and taken away some of the suttle effects of the albums.

In the case of Heaven and Hell, there is a ridiculous amout of reverb on most of the tracks which just seems to have been shoved on regardless of some of the more interesting uses of echo, especially in the first track of Part 1 on the CD. Also, in the Symphony to the Powers B section (found in Heaven and Hell Part 1), some music has been cut out. In the track known on the LP as 12 O'clock (Part of heaven and hel Part 2), a strange echo effect has been added which is at least rhythmic and in time with the music, but isn't in keeping with the original album. While these aspects are bad enough, the other major disappointment is that the CD still only has two long tracks for each side when it's quite clear there are meant to be 10 separate tracks.

While understanding that an artist has the right to review their work from time to time, it doesn't always follow that those who appreciate their work have to endorse their tinkerings. Might be of interest to collectors, but I would suggest that the 1989 RCA CD version is still the better version to get for now if you've never heard this before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Raucous Celebration of Life, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
Vangelis's 1975 release, `Heaven & Hell', was his first true breakthrough album. It was recorded whilst setting up his new studio in London, the musician and composer having recently moved there from Paris. It was the first time he was able to use synthesisers with full orchestral effect. The work is heavy on percussion too, as well as featuring contributions from the English Chamber Choir.

The CD splits the work into parts one and two, but actually the original album listed ten tracks. A loose critique would perhaps suggest that tracks one to four comprise `heaven', whilst tracks six to ten are darker in character, but this would be to ignore the vast subtleties present throughout the work as a whole. For instance, `Hell' includes the track '12 O'Clock', which presents a monkish chant that is subverted but later saved, and the final track `A Way' sees the music end in serene cosmic contemplation.

Tracks one to four comprise `Bacchanale' - a raucous celebration of life - and the three movements of Vangelis's `Symphony to the Powers B'. This symphony can also be looked on as a piano concerto with choir, and there are reminiscences (consciously or not) to Carl Orff's `Carmina Burana' as well. Tracks five to ten are a varied bunch, though all are high in the quality of their composition and production. `Intestinal Bat' demonstrates why Vangelis is a consummate composer of soundtracks.

I have made no mention of track five, `So Long Ago, So Clear'. This is somewhat separate from the rest of the album, being the first collaboration between Vangelis and Jon Anderson, the former having briefly guested with Anderson's group `Yes'. The collaboration between the singer and the instrumentalist was later to bare rich fruit in at least three superb albums under the name `Jon & Vangelis'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought the LP in the 70s..., 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
This music is a bit of an acquired taste but it appealed to me when it was released at the height of the progressive music period. This CD was not as expensive as the LP I bought decades ago but it does sound dated and not as good as the vinyl disc (which I still have). I take the view that CDs need remastering and rebalancing when transferring to CD in the same way that when you add a subwoofer to a TV or cinema system there is a necessary rebalancing of the sound unless the there is to be a "bloating" of the upper bass region (CDs crop frequencies above 20khz and this adds a hard and closed sound)...

I believe that there is a remaster of the disc but for the money this CD cost there can be few complaints....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the first solo album on RCA that fanfared a great talent, 11 May 2008
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
The first major solo album and a great epic championed to a rock audience by the greatly missed Alan "Fluff" Freeman. Good themes with lots of monk style cloister vocals, scary synth effects and three absolute highlights: the Jon Anderson sung "So long ago so clear" -one of the very best songs he has ever written (and I am counting all his Yes classics) and sung - beautifully. The other stand outs are a galloping synth theme which has a Ride of the Valkries type feel and the main theme itself. There is a great atmosphere throughout moving from themes of dread and joy echoing the work with his previous 60s group on the classic 666.

The only downside and the reason why I have not awarded five stars, is that there are only two track entry points on the CD, so the three tracks I have referred to above are not listed and can not be accessed separately. I am sure there were at least two-three track points on each side of the vinyl album, even if the tracks had no individual names. This CD urgently needs remastering, including new additional track entry points so that you can easily access favourite sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Appalling remaster - not the same album anymore., 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Patrick Gleeson (Limerick Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A hugely disappointing remaster. There is so much reverb added to the recording that the piano passages in particular sound as though they're coming from the depths of a basement - completely ruining the ambience. For some reason there is 22 seconds omitted from the 1st movement of 'Symphony to The Powers B'. At least Vangelis resisted the temptation of increasing the loudness which have blighted so many remasters of the last ten years or so ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early work by the Master, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
Very good early album by Vangelis that contains the sublime music from Carl Sagan's TV Series Cosmos.

Superb keyboard playing but some of it may not appeal to the mainstream soundtrack fan as quite dense and impenetrable so I've docked it one star for self indulgence in certain passages.

However, it improves on repeated playbacks.

Still a very good, highly recommended album.

A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Heaven, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
AJ (Norwich, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl when it first came out in 1975 and have played it regularly ever since. It is one of the best of his early recordings. I reluctantly decided to buy the CD version as my vinyl copy is now showing its age. The CD is better than I thought it would be, in fact it is very good indeed. If you are not familiar with the genius that is Vangelis and want to give him a try this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I remember..., 12 Feb. 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
Buying this on vinyl when it was first released, and it was the first time I can recall listening to electronic music with classical overtones. It became prominent with it's partial use on the programme 'Cosmos' by Carl Sagan, along with other of Vangelis's works. It also introduced Jon Anderson into the mix with his vocals on 'so long ago, so clear'. An important album for the Vangelis fan then, and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven & Hell
Heaven & Hell by Vangelis
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews