Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value
In agreement with the previous reviewer, thumbs up to Foreign Affairs on the Kindle. The monthly fee is a snippet of the newsstand price making this great value. The articles are stimulating, informative and a makes useful reading for anyone with an interest in foreign affairs with a particular emphasis on US-Global relations.
Published on 13 Jan 2011 by tiptoeingaround

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle fire hd
This is unavailable for kindle fire?! In fact most of my beloved magazines are so unfitted to this device...I want to return it and go for ipad now!!!
Published 21 months ago by Tq


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 13 Jan 2011
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
In agreement with the previous reviewer, thumbs up to Foreign Affairs on the Kindle. The monthly fee is a snippet of the newsstand price making this great value. The articles are stimulating, informative and a makes useful reading for anyone with an interest in foreign affairs with a particular emphasis on US-Global relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best bits of owning a Kindle, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
For me it's one of the best bits of owning a Kindle - the Kindle's there to make it easier to find time to read stuff, to think about things unrelated to the rest of the stuff I have to do & generally be more interested in the world. Foreign Affairs is great for that - a collection of essays on international relations. Okay - it's US centric, you may not like the politics (or you might, or might be indifferent) but it is one of the leading publications in the field & has some great material in it - it's worth of being thought provoking.

It's a heavy read, with essays typically 4000-5000 words. Being bi-monthly is probably a blessing in that regard. I'm loathed to mention the price, because it's a really good deal and, well, I hope the consequence of saying that out loud won't be a change!

The Kindle conversion is good... can't honestly compare it to the print version but never felt I've missed out on anything. It is, after all, a series of essays, which makes sense on the Kindle when it has to be read linearly (what you'd expect to be the stumbling block for most magazines & newspapers).

Really this should serve as an example to other 'serious journals' that Kindle publication is an option that should be available (if only the IEEE would listen) if it's done properly. One concern is that this is the type of publication where having indefinite access to back issues could be important. Not to me, but certainly to those who read this stuff seriously. As to back issues: premium subscription, or purchase copies individually in perpetuity (but keep the basic subscription cheap enough for a private individual to justify)?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - but we need account numbers, 21 Sep 2012
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
This is utterly brilliant, completely agree with all of the above. However, it would be useful if we got access to the Foreign Affairs website as subsribers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subscriber for last 7 months, 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
FA is the best magazine on kindle because of the following 1)best conversion to kindle format, 2)plenty to read, 3) best magazine, 4)cheaper than the print edition , 5)cost is just 1.99/month..peanuts for top notch quality essays..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great content. Cheaply delivered, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
As others have mentioned, the FA content focuses a lot on US perspectives. All I want to add, for the sake of anyone who might be confused, is that the Kindle subscription is indeed Monthly, whereas the actual magazine is published once every two months. Even so it is much cheaper than the news-stand edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting publication..., 22 Jun 2011
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
...but loses a star for being too US-centric. Excellent example on how to organise a kindle journal. Others take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle fire hd, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
This is unavailable for kindle fire?! In fact most of my beloved magazines are so unfitted to this device...I want to return it and go for ipad now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The digital subscription is $35 per month at FA website, 8 Aug 2013
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
The digital subscription is $35 per month with access to their 90 year searchable archive, is that not a better deal?
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent range of well written articles, 10 Oct 2012
By 
Robert Wiggins "Cura" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
Took a trial subscription and in the sep/oct 2012 edition was taken with the excellent article by Timothy Garton Ash about the history leading up to the founding of that awful European Union! Plenty of other interesting items. Well worth the subscription just for this. Also it's well formatted for the keyboard Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vvfz xg zf xfv dv @??:;''-,;;,, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Foreign Affairs (Kindle Edition)
dfgvg F ?:;;"', …'7)( (&)::dddv ghh ffg fgg fhn fgvb xfg fgh cfhbbvfggbbfh xgb vbb wefv qwwerfgjb ghn ghk ccb sfb ssvv xxdsszzasfc vhjjhhhgff njg fh i migyt have don few mistakes ib my ligw but i il live purly fr myvlife i love my lfe enjoying wachband every day its hood to be like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foreign Affairs
Foreign Affairs by Foreign Affairs
1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews