Customer Reviews


860 Reviews
5 star:
 (676)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Stylish and a complete Bargain!
There isn't much I can add to other reviews that hasn't already been said but I also would like to confirm the quality and reliability of this product.

Out of the box you get a docking [toast rack style] charger, a USB lead and 2 batteries. You can leave it plugged into you Xbox or buy a USB plug to put it straight into the mains.

Replace your...
Published on 23 Jun. 2011 by RAAM²

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistant Charging
I bought this to save hassle of ordinary batteries and re-chargeable batteries going flat mid-game.

Fairly soon, but after the return date, I realised that one of the supplied batteries works fine, however the other supplied battery appears faulty. The problem being that when the light shows green indicating charge, it does not turn on. You have to put it back...
Published on 2 Jan. 2012 by James1084


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Stylish and a complete Bargain!, 23 Jun. 2011
By 
RAAM² (Hastings, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There isn't much I can add to other reviews that hasn't already been said but I also would like to confirm the quality and reliability of this product.

Out of the box you get a docking [toast rack style] charger, a USB lead and 2 batteries. You can leave it plugged into you Xbox or buy a USB plug to put it straight into the mains.

Replace your controller batteries with these batteries and put on the dock, you can charge one when playing with other or charge between games but at only 1.5ish hours for full charge you can afford to decide.

The charger looks very stylish, especially with controllers sitting on it. The charger has 2 lights on the front [left for front controller, right for back] and they are red until fully charged which then turn to green which I found was a problem with other chargers I've had, they didn't let you know when they were complete.

Overall I think for the price, looks and reliability of the product you couldn't ask for any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
We have had this now for over a year and it is just brilliant. No more batteries. We have saved a fortune!
The lights at the front which indicate when the unit is properly in place and fully charged is handy as it can be turned off when it has finished charging. I don't know how long charge holds as the controllers have never run out of charge using these lithium batteries.

A must have for any X box fan (unless you love buying batteries of course)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 29 Oct. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic charging solution for my xbox pads. It comes with two batteries which is a bonus and buying this is a much cheaper alternative to the play and charge kit. It charges very quickly about 2.5 hours and works perfectly. Have saved myself money buying this and so glad I did. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have purchase, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great docking station. Looks like it is well made and doesnt look out of place next to my black xbox. Each battery pack gives me over 10 hours of gaming per charge. Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this product.. simple as!, 20 Nov. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
At first i was put off by this potentially looking "ugly" compared to some others on the market, but to be quite honest it looks amazing next to the black xbox with a black controller docked! :) So far i've only used 1 battery and the other is a spare - I've also been using the xbox all day in some cases and just drop the controller to charge at night. (Never dropped below 75% after 8+ hours of gameplay)

Red light when the battery is charging..
Green light when the battery is charged!

Further to this you can just place the battery on it's own into the cradle and it will charge :) you probably wont need to though! - save for the first charge.

It's not a micro USB cable on the back which connects to the dock, it's a slightly bigger connection which i've been looking for as my portable HDD cable had gone (HDD is a few years old) HAPPY DAYS! :D - this of course has no bearing on YOUR purchase but worth a mention.. Leave it connected to your XBOX for 24/7x365 charging due to the XBOX power adaptor running in trickle mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Product, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love this company such a solid design and no rubbish Microsoft wires that I have to replace every month. I have had play and charges for as long as I can remember and they ALWAYS break quickly. This is a BRILLIANT substitute in which I can just switch controllers each time one dies. The design is lovely and it's easy to use. Just chuck your controller onto the slot and wait for the red light to turn green to indicate it is fully charged, Awesome product got it for both consoles (360 and One)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as NiMH AAs, but a cheap, convenient alternative, 16 Nov. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been using the cradle and bundled battery packs for a little while now, and I'm happy enough with my purchase. Overall, this is a very competitively-priced product: a decent alternative to Microsoft's own-brand kit.

The product spec neglects to mention that each battery pack is rated at a capacity of 900mAh. You will therefore notice that they don't provide as many hours of gaming as you would get from alkaline AA batteries, or even rechargeable NiMH AAs (typically 2000-3000 mAh). Venom are hoping you'll like the benefit of never really needing to remove the battery packs from your controllers. Rechargeable AAs are fundamentally better batteries, but if you don't want the hassle, these packs do the job.

As another user has noted, it's not possible to charge standard Xbox battery packs with this cradle.

In the packaging, you'll find a cradle (finished in a high-gloss black plastic), a USB cable (for connection to your Xbox, or other powered USB port of your choice), and two rechargeable battery packs. It does not come bundled with a power adaptor, or an instruction manual, though neither is really necessary at this price point..

The cradle is rather light, but does have non-slip feet attached, so it shouldn't move about too much during use. It is powered by a USB cable (male type A to miniUSB), of generous length. The USB ports on the new Xbox 360 S remain powered even when the console itself is on standby, so all works a treat. If you have an older 360, and your USB port is occupied by the wireless adaptor, you'll need to find another powered USB port: Veho do a great 3-pin plug adaptor, which has a single integrated female USB port, typically for less than a fiver. Job done!

The cradle has two slots for controllers. Each slot has two spring-loaded metal prongs, to connect with the contacts on the battery packs. The connection feels a little flimsy (and it might take a couple of nudges to get the controller to charge), but again, no complaints for this price.

The battery packs themselves are unremarkable: the release catch seems sturdy enough. I noticed that initial drain (time taken to lose one 'bar' of charge) happened considerably more quickly with these rechargeable packs than with alkaline AAs, but have not had any of my kit long enough to have drained any batteries at all, so I'm not in a position to comment on the lifespan of a charge.

You'll know when your batteries are charging, too: wave goodbye to your eyesight with two retina-searing green LEDs at the front of the cradle. This could be a bit of a distraction if the cradle is within your field of vision when you're gaming or watching TV, but it's easily rectified.

In summary, cradle might be a tad flimsy, and the batteries might not be blessed with all that much in the way of capacity, but together, they certainly do the job, while saving you a bunch of money. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Venom twin charging cradle, 25 Feb. 2010
By 
David A. Davies "wanderingwelshman" (Northampton, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought One for my son last month as he was allways raiding the remotes and anything else that had batteries in to power his controlers. although there are no instructions it is easy to use and does what it is made for,Comes with two rechargeable battery packs and is very handy to keep both controlers stowed away neatly. red lights for charging green for fully charged, batteries seem to last a fair time and dont take long to recharge, it continues to charge even when x-box is in standby mode. price is quite reasonable as it wont take very long to pay for itself.
the only downside is that it only charges by usb i would have prefered an option to plug into a wall socket and that is the one reason i only gave it 4 stars, As somone else has said " It does what it says on the box"
Andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I guess It's good for a USB charger, 20 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I made the mistake of buying this without fully reading the description and I didn't realise it was USB powered. I've found that it charges slower than the mains powered Nyko Charging Base I have for 2 other controllers. I've Heard that this may affect the battery life by the lower input power but I don't know for sure as I haven't had it long enough and I recharge it only after a few hours of usage each time.

The controllers have to click in rather than just rest in like my Nyko charger which I've found tends to mean that the just sit there not charging if you havn't put them in just right.

The colour is exactly the same as the official black XBox controllers which makes it look nice, and it was a very reasonable price which were the reasons I bought it.

I would like to recommend a mains charger although sadly it looks like they have discontinued the Nyko chargers along with all other mains ones so guess it's USB from here onwards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect !!, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought for my sons xbox
Plugs into xbox console & keeps controllers charged ready for next gaming session!
Neat & tidy therefore happy mum & happy son
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venom Twin Charging Cradle: Black (Xbox 360)
£13.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews