Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars18
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2005
Thes original recordings of the time give a real insight into the music hall stars of the war. The songs telling young boys to go and die in the trenches send shivers down your spine. The joy in the 1918 recordings make you feel the relief of Peace at last, and the propaganda speeches by a twenty year old boy soon to die is chilling. Really not to be missed - a piece of history.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
Excellent CD with many of the memorable WW1 songs on it. Suspect I'll soon be purchasing Vol2! Thoroughly recommend to all interested in the Great War.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Have just been on a battle field tour with tthe MG car club Belgium, so i wanted a CD of all the old WW1 songs to listern to whilst driving arround, the CD was Ok but for me did not tick all the boxes, However ths comment is NOT a complaint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 March 2014
A superbly evocative selection of songs from the Great War which perfectly and poignantly capture the pathos behind the comic lyrics. This CD is an important social and emotional record of a terrible moment in world history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Very Good Sound... I just think of the Events of the Past 100 Years and my Two Grandfathers Going Through Hell in 1914 - 1920... Ted
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
great service arrived quickly my father in law was singing along to the songs straight away brought a smile to his face
packaging great price very reasonable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Cool to hear those happy songs sung by soldiers who didn't know the real WW 1.
After having experienced that they didn't sing anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
good collection of music of the time, recordings are good, if you are interested in this period of our history it is worth geting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Wonderful collection of songs and sketches, captures the very essence of WW1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Art exhibition doing a section on WW1 and love the evocative songs etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)