Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Historical Novel
At first blush, this is simply an entertaining novel, something to read for a bit of excitement.

But on further scrutiny, one finds a very detailed, painstakingly accurate account of the Knights Templar. All a person has to do is conduct an internet search, not just of the main characters such as Otto de Grandson who as it turns out was instrumental in...
Published on 11 July 2009 by Jai

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A so-so story of everyday Templar knights
Based on the great reviews this book has received so far, I expected a truly exciting historical novel filled with nuggets of accurate detail of the period.
I have to say that I was disappointed, both by the very basic writing style with little character development or suspense, and by the way the historical content has been incorporated into the text, mostly in...
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Historical Novel, 11 July 2009
By 
At first blush, this is simply an entertaining novel, something to read for a bit of excitement.

But on further scrutiny, one finds a very detailed, painstakingly accurate account of the Knights Templar. All a person has to do is conduct an internet search, not just of the main characters such as Otto de Grandson who as it turns out was instrumental in stopping the French king on his tracks and possibly saving England from being invaded, and also founding Switzerland. It is truly amazing what the man did. But the detail gos on to the battles, places, even what people wore and ate, and how the Templars actually lived and fought. The detail is simply amazing!

In between the necessary gory battles that are so vividly violent and the horrid customs of that time, I loved the captivating romance of Richard and Elizabeth, that starts on such a nasty note but ends so beautifully.

I also loved the information on Gnosticism. Turns out, "The Brotherhood," the secret society within the Templars were Gnostics, and this is actually the backdrop of the whole novel. Splendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enlightening tale of one mans quest, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs. L. W. Baxendale (Leeds. W. Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
I recommend this book which is beautifully written. The age of the Templars is largely unknown and this story brings to life their way of life and their challenges. It seems to be written with much depth, but at the same time a great joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two kings and a pope, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
this was a great read having done some history into the knights temples this book is very near the true history of how history worked out .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
A fast paced historical romp from the holy land to Scotland. Always entertaining, and educational.
Recommended. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A so-so story of everyday Templar knights, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
Based on the great reviews this book has received so far, I expected a truly exciting historical novel filled with nuggets of accurate detail of the period.
I have to say that I was disappointed, both by the very basic writing style with little character development or suspense, and by the way the historical content has been incorporated into the text, mostly in pages of clunky brain-dump exposition.
Compared with other recent Templar-based fiction and "faction" books, this is a poor relation.
I know that the writer has a passionate and well-informed interest in the Templars, and I think his intentions were admirable, to publicise their "true"story in novel form; but unfortunately I don't think he has the storytelling skill to accomplish his aims.
Still worth reading for the central mystery, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No secrets., 30 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
This is more like it!! The truth will out. Well written research was fair but readable. Out of all the books on us this is a fair commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great subject - Mystified by poor editing, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the subject matter and story line of this book, but found the editing, poor proof reading and layout of the text extremely distracting. This ruined what could have been a very good read. In some places the subject and scenario changed without even a paragraph break, and I found myself back-tracking on numerous occasions just to regain the context. Not sure whether this is due to the transfer to e-book format, but clearly, this is one that has slipped through the quality control net. Probably the worst book I have come across for such problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
This book was excellent and easy to keep up with and an excellent read and l would recommend this book to any reader and the content was of historical interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
Great read - really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who is an avid reader. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite an interesting tale, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope (Kindle Edition)
very good read, I would recommend this book to lovers of historical fiction. I gave it 4 stars for that reason
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templars, Two Kings and a Pope
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews