Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 171 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid continuation of the series
Picking up events three weeks after the end of Season 1, the second season of True Blood opens with people trying to get back to normal life in Bon Temps, Louisiana, following the resolution of the serial killer problem. For the staff and regulars at Merlotte's this is complicated by the disappearance of their cook, Lafayette, under strange circumstances. Meanwhile, Jason...
Published on 30 Sep 2009 by A. Whitehead

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first series
I absolutely adored the first series of True Blood. It was officially my New Favourite US Import, and while I was waiting for the second series I went out and read all nine True Blood novels by Charlaine Harris. Maybe that was where things started to go wrong. I thought the structure of the books was excellent: basically a series of supernatural detective novels, Sookie...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by Baby Boot Camp


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

163 of 171 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid continuation of the series, 30 Sep 2009
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Picking up events three weeks after the end of Season 1, the second season of True Blood opens with people trying to get back to normal life in Bon Temps, Louisiana, following the resolution of the serial killer problem. For the staff and regulars at Merlotte's this is complicated by the disappearance of their cook, Lafayette, under strange circumstances. Meanwhile, Jason Stackhouse has found religion and is being drawn into the orbit of the Fellowship of the Sun, an anti-vampire fundamentalist group, whilst Sookie and Bill's relationship continues to develop. The disappearance of Godric, the vampire sherrif of Texas, has Eric calling on Sookie and Bill's aid to help find him, meaning they are out of town when newcomer Maryann begins to have a very odd influence on the people of the town. Oh yes, and Bill also has a freshly-risen vampire protege, Jessica, to deal with.

True Blood's second season hits the ground running with a number of complex storylines in progress or just getting underway. As a result the second season has less of an introductory feel than the first, and cuts to the chase much more quickly. There's less of Sookie changing her mind every five minutes about whether she wants to be with Bill or not and more focus on more dynamic storylines, which is what the series needed after the first season, which got bogged down a few times.

The fact that Sookie and Bill are now together and that's pretty much it (despite a couple of curveballs sent towards the relationship late in the season) results in Anna Paquin raising her game notably. Whilst always decent in the role of Sookie, the character's frequent changes in attitude in Season 1 gave the impression of leaving her unsure about how to play the character. In Season 2 she is visibly more confident about the character and that comes through in a stronger, more interesting performance. Stephen Moyer also has an ability to relax and add a bit more humour to the character of Bill, which mostly comes out in his interactions with Jessica and Eric.

Deborah Ann Woll first appeared at the end of Season 1 as Jessica, but she's a regular in Season 2 and delivers a great performance as the stroppy teenage vampire who isn't initially particularly happy about her lot, but then finds vampirism an excellent way to rebel against her strict Christian upbringing. Her interactions with Moyer and also with Jim Parrack as her love interest Hoyt are very well-written and performed.

Alexander Skarsgard also gives an increasingly excellent performance as Eric. He hits impressive heights towards the end of the season when his carefully-cultivated sense of unflappable stoicism is shattered. We also get to see his life as a human in flashback, adding additional layers to his character.

Most of the rest of the cast are great, particularly Michelle Forbes as Maryann, a seeming hedonist who just wants people to have a good time. The unveiling of her true motives is well-done and Forbes seems to have a ball playing a more overt villain than some of her other roles (such as the much greyer Admiral Caine in BSG).

The season's structure works quite well, with Sookie and Bill's adventures in Texas, Jason's storyline at the nearby Fellowship of the Sun church and events back in Bon Temps unfolding in tandem, allowing the story to skip around to another location whenever one storyline starts running out of steam. However, whilst the Texas storyline is well-developed and resolved fairly quickly (in eight episodes), arguably the Fellowship storyline remains pretty predictable and its depiction as a bunch of fundamentalist whackjobs is too simplistic, given the moral complexities of the story explored elsewhere. Events in Bon Temps also unfold far more quickly than is necessary, meaning that the latter half of the season seems to be almost entirely taken up by disturbing magic-driven orgy rituals and Sam running around with various people chasing him, waiting for Sookie and Bill to get back from their storyline to help resolve things.

Still, the show remains well-written and entertaining, and even if it does lack the depth of a lot of other HBO shows it is also a lot funnier (even if that humour is as black as midnight) than some of them. The final episode also does a good job of setting up Season 3, with the introduction of Evan Rachel Wood as the Vampire Queen of Louisiana (a great performance based on 1950s starlets) and several plot elements that look set to be more thoroughly explored next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 26 Oct 2009
By 
J. Ball "Joshua Ball" (Valencia, ES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the first series of True Blood I was desperate to see what Alan Ball and co would do with the next book. Based loosely on the second "Sookie Stackhouse" novel, this series as compared with the previous is a lot slicker, sexier and character based. The relationship of Sookie and Bill develops, we get glimpses of the vampire world outside of Bon Temps, new characters such as Jessica are developed and old characters such as Tara and Sam are shown in a different light to the first series.

Overall, this is an excellent drama/thriller/horror series which gives a tired format (i.e Vampires in a remote town) a new spin. There are a few mediocre episodes, however, when this series is good, it is good! It does feel like "Buffy" from time to time but True Blood feels like it is more for young adults and adults rather than teens. It will be very interesting to see what happens next series. Definitely worth getting in to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RE: Great Second Season!, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Caro (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
I think the person who gave this only 1 star is talking out of their hat!! Season 2 has been great, particularly with the characters of Eric and Pam and Jessica getting more screen time. A great 2nd season, my only criticism would be that the Maryann storyline took up too much time and I wanted to see even more Eric!! Looking forward to Season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fangbloodytastic!, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. C. O. Abbot "Charlotte Abbot" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
True Blood just keeps getting better and better. Awesome storyline running through the entire series that intertwines with others. new and fascinating light shed on all the existing characters while introducing other intriguing characters to the plot.

Watched the entire season 2 online (i know that's naughty) in two days and I am so pre-ordering the DVDs as could watch it again and again.

TV show of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first series, 7 Dec 2010
By 
I absolutely adored the first series of True Blood. It was officially my New Favourite US Import, and while I was waiting for the second series I went out and read all nine True Blood novels by Charlaine Harris. Maybe that was where things started to go wrong. I thought the structure of the books was excellent: basically a series of supernatural detective novels, Sookie Stackhouse is firmly at the centre of each story, with boyfriends coming and going, and Sookie's subjective experience of events providing a moral heart. Leaving aside the fact that the second series departs significantly from the books (and of course it can't be expected to slavishly follow the novels' plot lines), the split storyline feels jumbled and disconnected. There seemed to be a need to give everyone in the large ensemble cast something to "do". Most significantly for me, as much as I love Bill Compton as a character, the this series seems to need him to be a "hero", perhaps because a female heroine isn't considered enough to carry the show - unlike the books. This also compromises his cool, detached (and very sexy) character, and Stephen Moyer's performances in the this second series are often very human (stressed, love-sick, anxious, vulnerable). Bring back the aloof and mysterious vampire of the first season!

Having said all this, the series is very entertaining and blackly funny, with high production values and engaging characters. If you enjoyed the first season you will enjoy the second, but I just wish I could say to the programme-makers: don't try to work out what you think people want from this show, but rather stick to the core ideas of the books, with Sookie Stackhouse at the heart of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There are centuries of faith and love between us.", 25 May 2010
This season is much better than the first one and I really enjoyed it although it is not so close to the original story.

Season 2 is partly based on the second installment "Living Dead in Dallas" of the Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampires novels by Charlaine Harris. As I'm a great fan of the Sookie novels I was really happy to hear that they were going on screen.

As mentioned earlier there are quite some deviations from the original plot but I believe that is more a benefit to the readers as you don't know exactly what will happen next.

The cast is wonderful and there are also fantastic side characters which do not play such a large role in the books. For example, the charas Sarah and Steve Newlin (Fellowship of the Sun) were a huge highlight to me. I really had a great laugh here.

Again as in the first season my personal highlight is Alexander Skarsgard as Eric Northman and I was really glad that in this season he had a larger role. I just wish there would be a little bit more Pam as she is next to Eric my favourite character throughout the books but maybe this is something to look forward to for the upcoming seasons?

Another fantastic plot was the one about Godric (i. e. Eric's maker), esp. the episode "I will rise up" is an absolute highlight and has its very special emotional moments. This TV portrait of Eric's maker is much nicer as the book version (Appius Livius Ocella).

One negative aspect to me was the whole maenad plot. However the actress who played this role of Maryann Forrester was absolutely great but I simply found it too much, it just could have been a little shorter.

All in all this season has much more great moments than the first one and is absolutely worth a five star rating to me. I cannot wait for season 3 to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fangtastic!!, 16 April 2010
If you loved watching this on tv you are just gonna love watching it again and again. Ignore all comments about accents etc just enjoy it for what it is - a truely original series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows on at the moment., 30 Mar 2010
By 
Kristin "I read so I don't kill people!" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Its not for the easily offended, or for those who want to see exactly what they read in the books. This second series deviates even more from the original story, but I love this as it keeps me guessing! However the characters are still very much the same as in the books, and I like that we are seeing more of how and why they got to this point in time - particularly Sam and Taras back stories. Its gradually becoming a very rich and complex world with an excellent range of characters and interrelationships.

Be warned, you really need to start at the beginning with series one, or you may find yourself very confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love this show, and this series doesn't disappoint one bit! Can't go wrong with some vampires really! Gets more and more weird series by series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant series worth every penny of cost cast excellent holds your attention from start to finish of every episode will watch over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa47d54b0)

This product

TRUE BLOOD: COMPLETE SECOND SEASON
Used & New from: 6.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews