Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trying to find this film
Since seeing this film years ago, in the cinema, it's haunting earthiness and great soundtrack have stayed with me. Sometimes the memory of a film is better than a re watching, but not in this case. Young Parisian goes in search of his bereaved father's favourite gypsy singer. Taken in by a Romanian gypsy family , he experiences the joys, tribulations and day to day...
Published on 6 Jun. 2010 by Christopher M. Draper

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fragmentary with no story line!
Sad to say but Tony Gatlif created a lousy movie in
every aspect, except for the charecters. The film has
absolutely no story to tell, the editing and cutting
reveals their is no direction. It's actually a disaster
and should have been stopped somewhere along
the road, instead of running high on people's
sympathy for roman's.
Torben,...
Published on 19 Mar. 2010 by Torben Hellborn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trying to find this film, 6 Jun. 2010
By 
Christopher M. Draper (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Since seeing this film years ago, in the cinema, it's haunting earthiness and great soundtrack have stayed with me. Sometimes the memory of a film is better than a re watching, but not in this case. Young Parisian goes in search of his bereaved father's favourite gypsy singer. Taken in by a Romanian gypsy family , he experiences the joys, tribulations and day to day casual discrimination that these communities go through.
Great spirit, great musical soundtrack and earthy acting. Great to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars touching and vivid, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I loved Gadjo Dilo when it was released, and seeing it again now I still found it a charming film, both as a portrait of the Roma people and a story of one young man's journey of discovery. The music is absolutely superb, and their dancing full of spirit. Romain Duris has a winning smile and very open attitude to the unknown, and the characters he meets are feisty and disarming by turns - however I don't think I could have 'roughed it' quite like Duris does, with such good grace. The lifestyle he adopts, for a time, seems less exotic 17 years on, and more like an ordeal, including the absolute impossibility of getting even the simplest point communicated, even though there was certainly a high enough decibel level! As I say, it is really the music and singing which makes it, and Rona Hartner is full of gypsy fire and intrigue as the Romantic interest, with the added originality that the character is not above a bit of biting if things don't go her way ... the dirty talk that seems to come so naturally to her is also quite funny! The fairly elderly Izidor, who takes in Duris with much kindness a bit like a long-lost son, cannot fail to leave a mark on the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this film as l think it is quite an accurate portrayal of some Roma , it has beautiful and amusing scenes in it, also tragedy, try watching it without sub-titles and you'll empathise better with the problem of language. The music is great, and it's worth watching the film just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great one, 5 April 2005
By 
M. GUNDUZ (Istanbul, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gadjo Dilo [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
A great movie I've first seen on tv and decided to get one immediately. Really fun without trying to be, touches to your heart without trying to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Ode to Loving Difference, 10 May 2010
By 
B. Juez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gadjo dilo (1997) ( L'étranger fou ) ( The Crazy Stranger ) (DVD)
This film is a favourite of many students of European cinema, whether they also be interested in languages, cultures, or not. It is full of life (whilst on a journey toward a dead father, himself a fan of an unreachable gypsy singer). It deals with the stereotypes surrounding nomads of all kinds and brings things back into (an alternative) perspective. See it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourit film of all time, 7 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
Ever since falling into it on television I have been mesmerized by this film! The story is funny and tragic, and the music is magic. A must see for everybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gadjo dilo (1997) ( L'étranger fou ) ( The Crazy Stranger ) (DVD)
Great film - would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Materpiece!, 24 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Gadjo Dilo [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
One of the top 10 films ever made. Thank you Tony Gatlif, Romain Duris, Rona Hartner, et al. Only Kusturica and Wenders can make cinema like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fragmentary with no story line!, 19 Mar. 2010
By 
Torben Hellborn "EarWax" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gadjo dilo (1997) ( L'étranger fou ) ( The Crazy Stranger ) (DVD)
Sad to say but Tony Gatlif created a lousy movie in
every aspect, except for the charecters. The film has
absolutely no story to tell, the editing and cutting
reveals their is no direction. It's actually a disaster
and should have been stopped somewhere along
the road, instead of running high on people's
sympathy for roman's.
Torben, Denmark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gadjo dilo (1997) ( L'étranger fou ) ( The Crazy Stranger )
£21.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews