Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MOTHER'S GONE MAD
As this starts off,it's clear the mother is depressed and struggling to not completely lose it,probably post natal depression.
She also suspects her somewhat emotionless husband of cheating. The father has to go away on a job and tells his oldest son that he will be the man of the house for a while and must look after his siblings,little does the father realise that...
Published 13 months ago by BAZ316

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When the Bough Breaks...
Essentially a 'cat and mouse' film, Cradle will Fall tackles the disturbing subject matter of filicide (the killing of one's own child or children) which, as far as horror films are concerned is something rarely portrayed on film even in this genre. Generally there's a formula when it comes to these types of film and it's usually a case of pitting a bad guy against a...
Published on 13 Aug 2011 by Drew


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MOTHER'S GONE MAD, 13 July 2013
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
As this starts off,it's clear the mother is depressed and struggling to not completely lose it,probably post natal depression.
She also suspects her somewhat emotionless husband of cheating. The father has to go away on a job and tells his oldest son that he will be the man of the house for a while and must look after his siblings,little does the father realise that the son will soon be fighting for all their lives.
So the mother finally snaps and starts killing her children,leaving the scared soon desperate and determined to save his sister.
The acting is passable to impressive,the mother is impressively played,very disturbing. It's an interesting story based on truth and highlights a very real threat of mental illness. This is very short at 1 hour 14 minutes,with the end credits being several minutes of that.
Some repulsed reviewers of this clearly missed the point,i don't see how it's offensive or sick,it just points out how someone can just flip sometimes and the whole thing ends in bloody carnage. It is disturbing,but it does it's job and does it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real scare!, 19 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
I just watched this D.V.D. and I have to say,it was far better than I expected! This kept me on the edge of my seat,seeing what someone will do to survive,no matter what!
I would suggest this film to anyone who wants something out of the ordinary-something different-this D.V.D. offers that in a large dose! Go for it-You will NOT be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak and grim, but ultimately nail biting!, 22 Sep 2012
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Having one of her sons at university (me); one in the upper 6th form and one about to start secondary school, I often take for granted the amount of stress my mother may go through on a day-to-day basis, but at least she hasn't attempted anything like THIS when my Dad goes on a business trip!
Postpartum psychosis is a condition by which women experience a sudden onset of psychotic symptoms after childbirth, that may include thought disturbances, delusions, hallucinations and/or disorganized speech or behavior. This film, based on the horrific crimes of Andrea Yates who killed all 5 of her children in a bathtub, is the worst case scenario for postpartum psychosis! Some of the acting and dialogue is questionable, but surely its to be expected with this type of film? The chase sequences are thrilling (utilizing various types of farm equipment to keep the mother at bay), and the murder scenes deeply unsettling with plenty of blood and gore not going to waste.
Overall, if you're not put off by the idea of a mother murdering her children, then this film is a non stop, nail-biting adrenaline rush. I recommend it :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When the Bough Breaks..., 13 Aug 2011
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Essentially a 'cat and mouse' film, Cradle will Fall tackles the disturbing subject matter of filicide (the killing of one's own child or children) which, as far as horror films are concerned is something rarely portrayed on film even in this genre. Generally there's a formula when it comes to these types of film and it's usually a case of pitting a bad guy against a group of hapless teens and watching as all but one are sliced and diced leaving the hero (or heroine) to gain the upper hand, take on the bad guy and survive. This film is different, the bad guy is the mother (and she isn't bad, she's having a mental breakdown) and her victims are her own children. Hugely exploitative, even more so when an on-screen graphic states that the film is based on true events this is one film which will quite rightly divide its audience.

Some people simply wont be able to watch it given the subject matter, some will say it's a step too far and perhaps they're right. I watched the film under the assumption that the film makers wouldn't actually allow a mother to kill her own children, surely it would be a generic cat and mouse film, I thought. All the kids would hide and get close to being caught, tensions would rise and the film would play on the peril of the situation but ultimately there would be a hero who comes to save the day at the end, the kids would survive and the mother get the help she needed...

Once again I was proven to be wrong, I really shouldn't make assumptions as 'Cradle will Fall' *does* feature child killings and doesn't shy away from shocking its audience with its content. A small cast of just six; mom, dad and 4 children of varying age from newborn to 10 years old the film's first 30 minutes follow what looks like an everyday family existence, time is spent following the mother as we slowly witness her depression take her deeper into her own dark places and when she snaps the results are truly shocking.

The film has a very short running time of only 68 minutes and doesn't waste time with superfluous detail, it has a strong narrative which stays firmly on track and the majority of the focus is on the mother and her eldest child, Jimmy. Collen Porch as the mom is compelling in this film, absolutely believable in her portrayal of a deeply disturbed character she commands the audiences attention and pulls off a complex performance. It's a strange mix of empathy and revulsion you feel for her as you can almost relate to the despair she feels but it's impossible to understand the things she does. I'm not going to discuss the details of the killings in the film as they wll be very upsetting for some people to read, they're certainly not as gratitous or exploitative as they could have been and are shown off screen with the camera focusing mainly on the mothers face and her eldest sons reaction, suffice to say it eventually comes down to a face-off between Jimmy and his mother and many chase sequences as Jimmy tries to evade capture.

It stands to reason that this is going to be a horror film with limited appeal, the idea is far more shocking than how it is presented thankfully but many people will choose to base their decision not to watch it on the subject matter alone. It certainly isnt a film to enjoy, the usual cliched cat and mouse elements that make up similar films are intensified and feel far more believeable here and I do think that overall the balance falls on the exploitative side rather than anything thought-provoking.

Would I recommend it? In all honesty, no I wouldn't but at the price it is available for it is a cheap film and I guess there is a market for it otherwise it would never have been made or released. Overall then there's not that much going for the film other than its low price tag, I do think the subject matter could have been handled better and the ending does spoil the film as a whole so as far as my rating goes I'm awarding 2 stars. Collen Porch is outstanding in her portyal as the mother and the young cast cope with what they have to do well but it isnt a film I would recommend given everything I've mentioned in this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the sentimental hearted!, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
This is actually a top film but not for the sentimental hearted! Acting is really good but I found this film very sad as you see what happens. The acting is intense so kinda makes you think your watching it for real. Mum basically snaps and kills her kids I think it's actually based on a true story. Great film however I could only watch it the once as it's real sad to watch and it's one of those that stays in your head for ages after! .. Do recommend a watch as it's a real good film tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watch your woman!, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
My missus had just had a baby when we watched this ,so i was following her to the bog straight after it finished,she was sympathising with the Physco mum in the film saying "you bastards don't know how it feels" so I guess it struck a chord for her but after the shock value of old crazy momma slaying the kids and drowning her baby it was a pile of shit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The disturbing and shocking truth of Postpartum Psychosis (CONTAINS SPOILERS), 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
Ok first thing I can tell by looking at many of the other reviews of this film is people seem to have a problem with anyone under 16 being killed in a movie, but if your older than 16 its A-okay to be killed, sure whatever.

Cradle will Fall is a movie based on Andrea Yates, a lady who drowned her five children while suffering from postnatal depression and postpartum psychosis (a form of extreme psychosis that follows childbirth). Doctors warned her husband that she was suffering this condition but her husband ignored them stating that women who suffer postnatal depression/psychosis just need 'a swift kick in the pants'. The result of his ignorance is all of his children being drowned in a bathtub. She was originally sentanced to life but was retried in 2006 and accquited due to insanity (she was psychotic at the time) and thus sent to a mental health facility for treatment.

Now the actual movie is extremely good as it shows the gradual decline of the Mother's sanity and her decent into a mental breakdown, the camera work and soundtrack is so well done that you can start to feel like your being dragged down with her. Colleen Porch manages to portray her psychosis very authentically for example crying as she impales her daughter with a pitch fork and accusing her eldest son of trying to hurt her so much.

Despite the signs of the Mother's depression the Father, a long-distance trucker leaves her with a newborn and three other kids to cope on their farm in the middle of nowhere after only being home from his last job one day. At dinner she finally snaps and kills her baby and tries to kill her other children, constantly plagued by manic emotions. Her eldest son, Jimmy and sole survivor manages to keep her away until the Father gets home. Then the mother is institutionalized and several months later the Father announces to Jimmy that he wants his wife to come home so they can be a family and announces that she is pregnant much to his sons horror. The final scene shows the mother staring emptily into the distance humming 'rock-a-bye-baby' and stroking her baby bump.

Ultimately this is a very well made slasher film that raises awareness about a very serious mental condition. So before you chastise my support look at the greater picture: 1000s of mothers suffer with this condition though suicides and infaniticides are rare and with the right support and treatment many of them go on to be fantastic mothers and some go on to have more children but for those who don't know about it they can spiral into depression and psychosis and then be labled a 'bad mother' or an 'evil woman', when you are psychotic you aren't any of these things you've lost contact with reality and that can have dire and disturbing consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
good horror story good plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars cradle will fall, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cradle Will Fall [DVD] (DVD)
OK horror story but not the best.Just an everage horror story.Its not terrible just average.These are often called B movies..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cradle Will Fall [DVD]
Cradle Will Fall [DVD] by Amardeep Kaleka (DVD - 2009)
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews