Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2011
I really loved this movie, and wholeheartedly recommend it to all. It's a charming story of three lives, three very different characters thrown together by circumstances. The three leads, Tim Robbins, Michael Pena and Rachel McAdams are in almost every scene, but to me this is the huge strength of the film as you soon really get to know their three characters, and you quickly wanna know what will happen to their lives. It's a film hard to stop watching, as like any good book you want to know what is coming next. The storyline is full of surprises as the three characters get buffetted about by an America that is not the place they left before going to fight in Iraq. That war doesn't feature at all really, as the film tries to etch out each character's personal journey as they seek to re-connect with their country and families. The performances of the 3 leads are 5 stars all the way. Rachel McAdams is utterly convincing as a simple lass from the trailer park, who missed out on all the good stuff when growing up, yet she retains a wonderful optimism. It'll not be long before this young actress lands a part that earns her the acting acolades she clearly merits. Tim Robbins is already a well-known, hugely accomplished actor, and it's a delight to watch his take on another hugely tormented character. Michael Pena is new to me, but his subtle portrayal of his character's contradictions as he moves from ultra-confident macho-man to dithering wreck is first-rate. Buy it, you will not be disappointed
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
This is about three soldiers sent home from war due to injury. The happen across each other by chance, help each other out and end up on a road trip to share a car. The world is not how they left it having being changed slightly by the war and they no longer fit in. They find a subtle comfort and support from each other as they try to readjust. Very nicely done. Three great actors.
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
This film is very little known, hey i even stumbled upon it by chance on a movie site, but once i started watching i knew it was one of the best films I've seen. Deep, meaningful and emotional film that takes a look at just how certain people deal in life and what happens when they meet others that are like minded and begin to share a bond, i was particularly blown away by the performance of Rachel Mcadams who portraits a wounded soldier perfectly and no other actress could have played her role as well. After the film ended i genuinely felt a strong sadness and just wanted it to keep going, i would recommended this film to every serious viewer, a true cinematic gem that im glad i discovered.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
a very well put together movie,
that in my opinion,gives you a tiny
insight in to the state of mind of soldiers,
injured and retired,and thier journey
back in to thier lives.
excellent film.
a must see.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
I've been buying second hand dvd's as a way to increase my otherwise unaffordable collection. I'm very pleased with my purchases. They have all arrived well packaged, on time and in the quality that has been described [very good].
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
Never have I smiled so much through a movie. Three brilliant actors cast as army recruits hitching a ride home together during their break between tours. Same as any road trip, things do not run smoothly. This is a movie showing how everything in life doesn't always go as expected or as planned. But the people you meet along the way definitly help. I would recommend, just to warm your heart.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Didn't really know what to expect when buying the film but was pleasantly surprised. Great cast and really nice story. Would definitely recommend.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
I just bought this as a curiosity because it had some good ratings, but we watched it several times because it was so sad and funny and mad and hopeful. Would definitely recommend.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
I had passed this film over when looking through the Amazon listings but caught its trailer on another DVD and thought this seems watching. It is a well worked film very well acted by all with a good fleshing out of characters though Rachel and Michael's characters could have been explored more. I was drawn into their lives and the story line of their road trip was different enough for it not to be a road trip movie. Highly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 July 2010
This was quite good. Not a big-screen action film or anything, but just a nice wee movie that had a feel good air about it. Plus, Rachel MacAdams!! Love her.

Despite each of the three main characters going through hard times in their lives, not to mention going back to war after their leave, it ends of being a feel good film. We follow them on their journey and can't help but laugh and cry with them.

There's no big action (maybe a small bar fight), no explicit sex scene (some small juicy bits), and mainly just drama and good acting. A sad story line behind it all and you've got a nice wee film for a quiet afternoon.
0Comment7 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.