Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, funny and unpredictable
Just got around to finally watching this little indie charmer and I must say 1) it was incredibly refreshing seeing the extremely talented Cillian Murphy being cast against type and having so much fun with it (his long crying-scene had me in tears from laughter!) and 2) Lucy Liu was very quirky and terrific (her fake drunk scene is priceless). The two of them make for one...
Published 13 months ago by Renaldo Matlin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cillian and Lucy
Intriguing casting so I thought I'd give it a go. And coz I like both actor and actress. Really quite good. And funny. Ish.
Published 6 months ago by BigAl82


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cillian and Lucy, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Intriguing casting so I thought I'd give it a go. And coz I like both actor and actress. Really quite good. And funny. Ish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, funny and unpredictable, 25 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Just got around to finally watching this little indie charmer and I must say 1) it was incredibly refreshing seeing the extremely talented Cillian Murphy being cast against type and having so much fun with it (his long crying-scene had me in tears from laughter!) and 2) Lucy Liu was very quirky and terrific (her fake drunk scene is priceless). The two of them make for one of the most adorable odd couples I've seen in years.

If you're a huge movie buff (this film is LOADED with cinematic references) and love romantic movies with quirky characters, chances are you'll enjoy this little gem. Also, I can normally tell where most movies are going, but this one caught me by surprise at every corner! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rom com to enjoy, 13 May 2012
By 
Mr. G. F. Burton "Barking DVD" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD because of the two main actors, Cillian Murhpy and Lucy Liu have a wonderful chemistry in their scene's together. There is also are two wonderful charcters who are film geeks who provide some wonderful surreal moments.

I would recommend this film if you want a rom com it is not filled with the standard Hollywood card board cut and paste plot and charcters. I would say this is as good as "Sideways" in being charcter led.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy-going romantic comedy with some quirky twists, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I thought this movie was quite enjoyable. If you want an easy-going romantic comedy with some quirky twists it surely fits the bill. Liu and Murphy have great chemistry and despite their characters beeing, well, somewhat annoying at times you do want to see them together in the end which is always a good sign when it comes to romantic comedies. However, the twists and turns as well as some scenes that are truly cringe-worthy when it comes to comedic timing drags down the rating for me. Also, being a fan of Mr Murphy's earlier work I'm somewhat baffled that he would choose this movie considering the great, stand-out roles he has taken on earlier (in for example The Wind that Shakes the Barley, Sunshine, Breakfast on Pluto...). Him being a part of a movie has always been as sign that the audience is invited to something extraordinary and thought-provoking and Watching the Detectives is none of these things. In the end it's a feel-good movie that gives a few laughs though so if that's what you're looking for you'll surely be satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch 'Watching the Detectives', 27 Jun 2014
By 
Banky23 (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Yes, it is a Rom-Com, kind of. But ignore the cutesy cover with the heart-shaped clouds.

This is something different.

All that is required of Cillian Murphy in this movie is to react to Lucy Liu, which he does, but in a really lovely way. Her character is nuts, that's the simplest way of putting it, but sometimes it's nice to have a little crazy in your life.

Every performance is solid, Paul Soter shows that he isn't 'just' a member of Broken Lizard, but that he has his own voice and style, and, fine, I'll admit it, even if it wasn't already a 5 star movie, it'd get a bonus star for featuring an 'Eagles of Death Metal' song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of escapism, 28 May 2014
By 
Suzanne Ryder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I chose this rating because of the different nature of this film's theme, as well as the superb acting of the cast. It is a most unusual drama, with constant surprise and turn of events. I would recommend it for anyone wishing some time out of the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for LL / CM fans, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The story is not enough striking, the film is boring.
I could not laugh although the goal of this movie would be to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Frank "ffello4" (Heidelberg, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
As another review mentioned: with Lucy Lui and Gillian Murphy one would hope for something better. The summary of the film sounds like a "must" for film buffs. However, the film allusions are minimal and the story (of a crazy-type, footloose and fancy free woman enticing a nerdy guy into her world) was done so much better in "When Brendan Met Trudy." Watch that one instead of this fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 15 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The two stars are for Cillian Murphy, who is as gorgeous as ever. I thought this film was kind of boring really. I didn't even end up watching it all, I just skipped to the end. Thumbs down from me sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007]
Watching The Detectives [DVD] [2007] by Paul Soter (DVD - 2009)
3.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews