Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caution: May cause you to be a lifelong Leps fan
Often overlooked by the music press, who seem to prefer Hysteria, I think that Pyromania may be the best thing Def Leppard ever did. Don't get me wrong, Hysteria is amazing but this, for me just steals it by a shade. At this stage Steve Clarke was still alive and Rick Allen still had not had that awful car crash. During the making of this album second guitarist Pete...
Published on 3 Feb 2005

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great effort, eiree album cover.
Great record. Very good production for 1983 and songwriting to boot. Sounds rough at times, but this is not a bad thing.
Published 1 month ago by Maz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caution: May cause you to be a lifelong Leps fan, 3 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
Often overlooked by the music press, who seem to prefer Hysteria, I think that Pyromania may be the best thing Def Leppard ever did. Don't get me wrong, Hysteria is amazing but this, for me just steals it by a shade. At this stage Steve Clarke was still alive and Rick Allen still had not had that awful car crash. During the making of this album second guitarist Pete Willis was to leave to be replaced by the dazzling talents of Phil Collen.
This is the album that said "Hello world, we are Def Leppard, take notice!", especially in America where "Photograph" made them household names. Produced by Mr. Shania Twain, (Mutt Lange)it features the excellent rockers Comin' Under Fire, Foolin' Rock Rock Til You Drop, Billy's Got A Gun and Stagefright. All these tracks are mint and sadly apart from Foolin' seldom seem to feature in the live sets nowadays. Photograph is up there with Love Bites as one of the only songs to start me blubbing.
Action Not words, Die Hard and of course Rock of Ages (unter glieben glauben globen, what an intro!)add to the rockers making this one of the few albums in the world to not have any bad tracks. Guitar playing, singing, everything about this album is spot on. If you do not own this and like classic rock you need your head examined! If you want to get into Def Leppard start here, buy everything but Slang and be hooked for life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that was ahead of its time., 28 July 2009
By 
Brian V. Burford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyromania (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of rock music, so it would be hard for me to pick out one album as my favourite of all time. However, if I simply had to, I'd probably pick this one.

Like most Leppard fans, especially ones from their pre-Hysteria days, I was looking forward to the remastered version of this album. But for some reason, this just doesn't sound as good as it should do. Although it is an improvement on the previous CD release, they still haven't captured the epic feel that it had on vinyl. One review I read said that the sound had been 'compressed' and I've got to agree with that.

However, there isn't a bad track on here, this is classic Leppard, made all the better by the loose and often raw guitar playing from the late Steve Clark. This release is complimented by the live disc from the LA Forum in 1983, which has Clark in majestic and aggressive form. The song Wasted is the type of thing that the band haven't written for years.

I can well remember the Forum gig because it was a the ultimate climax for the band who had climbed the rock ladder in the US with overwhelming success. This show earned them the cover on Kerrang! magazine, including pics from the gig, which was quite an achievement at the time because Def Leppard were accussed of selling-out to the American market by British rock fans.

Nicely packaged that's pleasing on the eye, and some interesting and informative liner notes from David Fricke, Pyromania Remastered Deluxe Edition is a must for all Def Leppard fans. As an album it was ahead of its time, and even though the sound is still somewhat woolly, it stands the test of time and remains, in my opinion, superior to its successor, Hysteria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dogs, 8 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
What more can be said? This is the canine's nadgers of metal albums. It contains 'Photograph' a record so perfect that it makes me weep to hear it. Lock the door, plug in the air guitar and attain musical nirvana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live and proud, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pyromania (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
A must have because of the amazing live performance from 1983. It captures DL at their raw and energetic best. It has a number of songs from their first 2 albums which is why it is so special. I also (off the back of his live second Cd) bought their new mirrorball live album which is also fantastic. Both Cds well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the scene of crime - and commit it even better!, 8 Sep 2009
By 
A. Antero - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pyromania (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Pyromania was a tough choice for a heavy metal fan like me in the beginning of the 80's. NWOBHM was big then. I loved the first Def Lep LP. The second was OK, but quite, eh, commercial, and then, in the 1983, came thrash and speed metal... It was a crime to admit that Pyromania was actually brilliant; catchy, but very powerfull. Well, those drums sounded like 100% plastic.

On this remastered version the drums still sound like plastic, but after all, this isn't a remixed version. Remastering is excellent: clear, energetic, wide range of dynamics and no digital distortion at all, loudness war is forgotten here. This sounds million times better than the old CD version, although I still think Japanese vinyl LP has the best sound of them all.

The gem - or the other gem - in this Deluxe Edition is the second CD, a live concert recorded in '83. The band is red, hot and kickin'. Wonderful sound quality and what a set list! Material is from their first 3 albums plus a CCR cover with Brian May as a guest guitarist.

A fantastic package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DEFinitive edition, 11 Jun 2009
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyromania (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Not before time that the original 1983 (and that's when it was actually issued on CD) is finally updated. For an album that's sold over 10 million copies it's pretty shoddy that it's taken this long for Mercury to finally get around to revamping it. But here it is at last and it's a nice package too. The original Pyromania CD sounded horrible. This remastered version still sounds horrible. Not Bob Ludwig's fault but the fault of a crap recording and mixing. Harsh, compressed and tinny, typical of a Mutt Lange production where layer upon layer of detail saturates the sound to breaking point. Hysteria was little better. Doesn't hide the fact that it's still a brilliant album - a real rock album back when rock music was believable. The good time sounds of Rock Rock Til You Drop and Rock Of Ages sit beside melodic gems like Photograph and Too Late For Love which in turn are happily placed next to more epic titles such as Die Hard The Hunter and Billy's Got A Gun. Sheer brilliance and when you listen to their first 2 albums you can tell it's the culmination of their abilities. Incredibly they topped this with Hysteria, one of THE best albums EVER!!
Disc 2 is where the real value comes in. Not having officially released a proper live album in their entire career (!!) to get a full disc of an early live show is about as good as it gets. It shows they didn't need the studio technology to hide behind - they really COULD cut it live too. Back in the day Joe Elliott had a terrific range in his voice and it's apparent here. The amazing twin guitar assault and Rick Allen's powerhouse drumming before the accident that cast the first bad spell upon the band. Possibly better than the studio versions because they're natural.
Informative notes by ace journalist David Fricke as well as additional photography make up the booklet and the fold out Deluxe Edition packaging is colourful and pleasing to the eye which enforces the fact that physical media is still way superior to downloads and must never be allowed to die.
So, don't expect sonic revelations with the remastering. It's better and it doesn't resort to compressing the sound to appease low-fi Ipod dwellers but it proves that there are limitations to what technology can do.
Now, how about remasters of On Through The Night and High N Dry. Let's not forget these exist because they're flippin' great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leppard Mainia At It's Best, 26 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
This album from Def Leppard is just brilliant. I could tell straight away what the quality of this album was going to be like just by listening to the first track "Rock Rock (Till You Drop"), and by the end of the CD you nearly have dropped hust listening to quality Leppard. The best tracks on this album are "Rock Rock (Till You Drop"), "Photograph", "Stagefright", "Too Late For Love", and "Rock of Ages". But I found it really hard to choose my favorite tracks because they are all so good. Any fan who hasn't got it by now you don't know what you are missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just for the live disc., 8 Aug 2009
By 
G. Heywood (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyromania (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Not much needs to be said about Pyromania. While certainly not as well known in the UK as the two follow ups (Hysteria and Adrenalize), it is simply a great album with no filler. The reason to buy the deluxe edition though is for the live CD, recorded in LA in 1983. The live disc in itself is the probably the best CD Def Leppard have released for a long time! The song selection is simply first class, and the energy and vibe of the show is just incredible. Def Leppard are a truly great band live and this CD will be a great introduction to anyone who has never had the pleasure of going to one of their live shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even if you don't like the leps, this is a great one..., 28 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
this is one of th best musical compilations i have ever had the good-fortune to purchase - i even have this on VINYL!! as well as the ones everyone knows, like "photograph" with it's distinctive riffs and "rock of ages" which in itself is an amazing anthem to rock (plus everyone in the 80s used that infamous line in their yearbook - fess up!), there are some great gems waiting to be discovered - "rock, rock" is a whirlwind-way to begin this joy-ride and it never let's up until you hear "...bang, bang" at the end of "billy's got a gun"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Ever...?, 20 Oct 2002
By 
Mr Pee (Northampton (a town I'm proud to be)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
The naivety of 'On Through The Night' promised nothing like this, while the excellent 'High 'N' Dry' layed the foundations but...Jeezus, this album was amazing. Probably the one that made stadium (or poodle) rock the monster that it became. Opener Rock rock (till you drop) showed no compromise and kept the Leps true to their metal roots. However, this was a band determined to show that they could leap way beyond the NWOBHM from where they came.
Photograph took the world by storm, and rightly so. A gorgeous, melodic rock homage to one of the century's most beautiful icons.
Stagefright was to start the live set for many years to come, while the stunning Too late for love would leave the audience gagging for more. One of hard rock's greatest tracks, both on vinyl (or disc) and espcially live. Together with Bringin' on the heartbreak (from High 'N' Dry), the Leps would never sound this good again. Die hard the hunter became a classic, while Foolin' was an (almost) over-produced piece of stadium rock genius. It's an orgasmic statement of intent that Leppard have struggled to match in the years since.
A similar theme continues as the Leps churn out more rock classics until the incredible Billy's got a gun brings the amazing experience to a dramatic close.
Like many of the Leps' earlier and later lyrics, this might sound like a cliche, but they really don't make 'em like this anymore. Which really is a great shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pyromania (Deluxe Edition)
Pyromania (Deluxe Edition) by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews