Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2010
Anyone who adores the tone of the Northumbrian pipes and likes a fast moving, toe-tapping, dancing style, will be delighted with this album. Her band is fresh and inventive. Kathryn's albums seem to vary quite a lot which is great. This one is light hearted and reminds me of some of the dancing sketches in River Dance. I dare anyone to sit still whilst it is playing. "Instrumental" is just that and does not contain any ultra-modern interpretations, which I do not personally like. I have three of Kathryn's albums now and I love them all.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At times it's possible to get carried away when you are listening to music played by a real expert on any instrument - you can end up mistaking pure technique for musicality. This is not a problem here. Tickell has both outstanding technique and a musicality that makes most of these songs a real joy to hear. At almost any level you care to think of this album is a success - and I would suggest the song writing is of a high enough standard to appeal to more than just the tradition folk music listener.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
I have followed Kathryn Tickell since she was a very young and promising girl in the eighties.
I live in Norway and used to listen to Jim Lloyds brilliant "Folk On Two"
on BBC 2 every Wednesday evening.
I have always been impressed by Kathryn Tickells music and this one is NO EXCEPTION!
She has made so many 5 stars albums, but this one deserves a 6 star!
One of the greatest album in the history of folk music!

OWS from Norway
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
A superb album from the master of the pipes and fiddle ; along with her talented band , they have made a cd that will brighten up your day and put a smile on your face. Folk music doesn't get any better than this; and even if you are not a lover of folk music you will appreciate the musicianship of these guys. Buy it and it will be a firm favourite to your ears.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
This is very well played, interesting music. Kathryn Tickell is apparently *the* expert on the Northumbrian bagpipes, which is easy to believe from this album. The pipes themselves are much more suitable for such music than the better known Scottish bagpipes, sounding more like pipes from southern or eastern Europe.

Most enjoyable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
Excellent CD by these very talented musicians. Technically it's folk music but lovers of classical will appreciate it too. You are there experiencing the wild and bleak Northumberland Moors in "Yeavering" written by Kathryn Tickell. This piece alone is worth the price of the CD
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Having found out an ancestor was a traditional English fiddler, I googled English folk CDs and this was recommended - its foot tapping stuff and has quirky bits to keep you interested throughout. Highly recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
very good album, probably her best. no duff tracks to skip over, every track has quality, some are exceptional. recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
A good selection of this lady's excellent work. Well worth listening to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
another great set of sounds from Katyryn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£15.98
£7.59

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)