Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toe tapping Tickell
Anyone who adores the tone of the Northumbrian pipes and likes a fast moving, toe-tapping, dancing style, will be delighted with this album. Her band is fresh and inventive. Kathryn's albums seem to vary quite a lot which is great. This one is light hearted and reminds me of some of the dancing sketches in River Dance. I dare anyone to sit still whilst it is playing...
Published on 26 Aug. 2010 by NIgelJ

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Canny
Published 11 months ago by Martin Boyle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toe tapping Tickell, 26 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
Anyone who adores the tone of the Northumbrian pipes and likes a fast moving, toe-tapping, dancing style, will be delighted with this album. Her band is fresh and inventive. Kathryn's albums seem to vary quite a lot which is great. This one is light hearted and reminds me of some of the dancing sketches in River Dance. I dare anyone to sit still whilst it is playing. "Instrumental" is just that and does not contain any ultra-modern interpretations, which I do not personally like. I have three of Kathryn's albums now and I love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 20 May 2009
By 
Stewart M (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Instrumental (MP3 Download)
At times it's possible to get carried away when you are listening to music played by a real expert on any instrument - you can end up mistaking pure technique for musicality. This is not a problem here. Tickell has both outstanding technique and a musicality that makes most of these songs a real joy to hear. At almost any level you care to think of this album is a success - and I would suggest the song writing is of a high enough standard to appeal to more than just the tradition folk music listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her greatest CD so far !, 14 July 2007
By 
Odd Werner Sørensen (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
I have followed Kathryn Tickell since she was a very young and promising girl in the eighties.
I live in Norway and used to listen to Jim Lloyds brilliant "Folk On Two"
on BBC 2 every Wednesday evening.
I have always been impressed by Kathryn Tickells music and this one is NO EXCEPTION!
She has made so many 5 stars albums, but this one deserves a 6 star!
One of the greatest album in the history of folk music!

OWS from Norway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great album from an extremely talented musician and her band, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
A superb album from the master of the pipes and fiddle ; along with her talented band , they have made a cd that will brighten up your day and put a smile on your face. Folk music doesn't get any better than this; and even if you are not a lover of folk music you will appreciate the musicianship of these guys. Buy it and it will be a firm favourite to your ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Oct. 2011
By 
Martin Ward "(Martin)" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
This is very well played, interesting music. Kathryn Tickell is apparently *the* expert on the Northumbrian bagpipes, which is easy to believe from this album. The pipes themselves are much more suitable for such music than the better known Scottish bagpipes, sounding more like pipes from southern or eastern Europe.

Most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
Excellent CD by these very talented musicians. Technically it's folk music but lovers of classical will appreciate it too. You are there experiencing the wild and bleak Northumberland Moors in "Yeavering" written by Kathryn Tickell. This piece alone is worth the price of the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great CD -, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
Having found out an ancestor was a traditional English fiddler, I googled English folk CDs and this was recommended - its foot tapping stuff and has quirky bits to keep you interested throughout. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fine music, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
very good album, probably her best. no duff tracks to skip over, every track has quality, some are exceptional. recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
another great set of sounds from Katyryn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instrumental (Audio CD)
Canny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Instrumental
Instrumental by Kathryn Tickell
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews