Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is in the box set ?
After a few years of trying to decide which Battlestar collection to buy, I bought this one when it came up at a good price. There are several collections out there but none are perfect. I hope that by letting you know what is in this box set, you can make a well informed decision too:

** Mini-series **

** Series 1 **
Disc 1:
Episode 1-...
Published 14 months ago by Crackers

versus
435 of 509 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the series, 3 stars for this set!
Like G Meakings' mentions above, this is NOT a Complete or Ultimate Set as described. Whilst this isn't Amazon's fault, Universal Playback (the UK branch of Universal who released this set) have screwed up big-time.

1) The set does NOT contain material like extended episodes, the Webisodes, many of the audio commentaries and the longer, uncut version of Razor...
Published on 22 Sept. 2009 by PoochJD


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is in the box set ?, 13 May 2014
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
After a few years of trying to decide which Battlestar collection to buy, I bought this one when it came up at a good price. There are several collections out there but none are perfect. I hope that by letting you know what is in this box set, you can make a well informed decision too:

** Mini-series **

** Series 1 **
Disc 1:
Episode 1- 33
Episode 2 - Water
Episode 3 - Bastille Day
Episode 4 - Act Of Contrition
Disc 2:
Episode 5 - You Can't Go Home Again
Episode 6 - Litmus
Episode 7 - Six Degrees Of Seperation
Disc 3:
Episode 8 - Flesh & Bone
Episode 9 - Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down
Episode 10 - The Hand Of God
Disc 4:
Episode 11 - Colonial Day
Episode 12 - Kobol's Last Gleaming (part 1)
Episode 13 - Kobol's Last Gleaming (part 2)
Bonus - deleted scenes, buck rogers trailer

** Series 2 **
Disc 1:
Episode 1 - Scattered
Episode 2 - Valley Of Darkness
Episode 3 - Fragged
Episode 4 - Resistance
Disc 2:
Episode 5 - The Farm
Episode 6 - Home (part 1)
Episode 7 - Home (part 2)
Episode 8 - Final Cut
Disc 3:
Episode 9 - Flight Of The Phoenix
Episode 10 - Pegasus
Episode 11 - Resurrection Ship (part 1)
Episode 12 - Resurrection Ship (part 2)
Disc 4:
Episode 13 - Epiphanies
Episode 14 - Black Market
Episode 15 - Scar
Episode 16 - Sacrifice
Disc 5:
Episode 17 - The Captain' s Hand
Episode 18 - Downloaded
Episode 19 - Lay Down Your Burdens (part 1)
Episode 20 - Lay Down Your Burdens (part 2)
Disc 6:
Bonus - deleted scenes (episodes 1-9)

** Series 3 **
Disc 1:
Episode 1 - Occupation
Episode 2 - Precipice
Episode 3 - Exodus (part 1)
Episode 4 - Exodus (part 2)
Disc 2:
Episode 5 - Collaborators
Episode 6 - Torn
Episode 7 - A Measure Of Salvation
Episode 8 - Hero
Disc 3:
Episode 9 - Unfinished Business
Episode 10 - The Passage
Episode 11 - The Eye Of Jupiter
Episode 12 - Rapture
Disc 4:
Episode 13 - Taking A Break From All Your Worries
Episode 14 - The Woman King
Episode 15 - A Day In The Life
Episode 16 - Dirty Hands
Disc 5:
Episode 17 - Maelstrom
Episode 18 - The Son Also Rises
Episode 19 - Crossroads (part 1)
Episode 20 - Crossroads (part 2)

** Series 4 **
Disc 1:
Razor
Bonus - deleted scenes, 7 minisodes
Disc 2:
Episode 1- He That Believeth In Me
Episode 2 - Six Of One
Episode 3 - The Ties That End
Episode 4 - Escape Velocity
Disc 3:
Episode 5 - The Road Less Travelled
Episode 6 - Faith
Episode 7 - Guess What's Coming To Dinner ?
Episode 8 - Sine Qua Non
Disc 4:
Episode 9 - The Hub
Episode 10 - Revelations

** Final Season **
Disc 1:
Episode 11 - Sometimes A Great Notion
Episode 12 - A Disquiet Follows My Soul
Episode 13 - The Oath
Episode 14 - Blood On The Scales
Disc 2:
Episode 15 - No Exit
Episode 16 - Deadlock
Episode 17 - Someone To Watch Over Me
Episode 18 - Islanded In A Stream Of Stars
Disc 3:
Episode 19 - Daybreak (part 1)
Episode 20 - Daybreak (part 2 & 3)
Disc 4:
Bonus - Sneak peak at Caprica, David Eick's video blogs, What the frak Is going on with Battlestar Galactica, The evolution of a cue, A disquiet follows my soul (unrated version)

** Bonus Disc **
Season 1 series lowdown
Season 1 behind the scenes featurettes
- From mini series to series
- Change is good, now they're babes
- The cyclone centurion
- Future-past technology
- The doctor is out (of his mind)
- Production
- Visual effects
- Epilogue
Season 1 sketches and art photo presentation
Season 2 deleted scenes (episodes 11, 13-20)
Season 3 deleted scenes (episodes 2, 4, 5-8, 10-20)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Remake, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
D. Scouller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
After being an avid fan of the original BSG I finally decided to give the new version a go.. And it took about 30mins of the original mini series to get into it. I am now half way through season 3.

If you like Sci-Fi with some underlying sub plots and stories then you will enjoy this version. I must say it is a more grown up version in comparison to the original, but times have changed. This box-set was very good value especially in comparison to what iTunes wanted for just a single season. I just need more time to continue with my watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


435 of 509 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the series, 3 stars for this set!, 22 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Like G Meakings' mentions above, this is NOT a Complete or Ultimate Set as described. Whilst this isn't Amazon's fault, Universal Playback (the UK branch of Universal who released this set) have screwed up big-time.

1) The set does NOT contain material like extended episodes, the Webisodes, many of the audio commentaries and the longer, uncut version of Razor! However, the Region 1 US version DOES include most of these!

2) Worse still, the UK set advertises many of these extras in the set booklet, and on the back of the box, but are not actually included! What happened, Universal? Couldn't get the legal issues/copyright details sorted in time? Couldn't be bothered to make the extra effort, or just hoped that UK BSG fans wouldn't be hacked-off?!

3) The DVD's are identical to the ordinary individual UK season sets, and so the artwork on the discs themselves, do not match, and are stupidly labelled too. Again, this is Universal in the UK being lazy! Would it really have caused too many problems to create artwork for the discs that matched, across all of them?

4) Season 4 is stupidly split into "Season 4" and "The Final Season" (which actually contains the final 10 episodes of Season 4), rather than just having all of them labelled as "Season 4"! Again, Universal in the UK split the season, probably to milk money out of the UK fans, but this could easily have been rectified for this so-called "Complete" boxed set.

The tin set itself,is nice, although I would advise checking it for scratches and dents. Annoyingly, the DVD's are stupidly labelled as being in different ratios, namely: 16:9, Full-height anamorphic, 1.85 widescreen, and 1.78:1! Was it too much to ask, to simply label all of the discs and the box, with just the words "Anamorphic Widescreen" instead? After all, only the anally-retentive fan is going to worry over the pettiness of 1.78:1 over 1.85:1, and for 99.9% of fans, they aren't going to notice the difference on screen, and aren't going to care.

The problem you now have, though, is do you buy the US version of this set, but get an inferior box, paper sleeves that scratch the discs, but more extras, or do you settle for this UK version? For DVD fans, I'd have to go with the UK release, only because damaged discs and a bad box design is NOT what we should be spending the best part of £85 on. Clearly, if you can, get the US or UK Blu-Ray releases, but for DVD-only fans, it's a horrible choice!

What a shame that such a great show, has been damaged so badly, by Universal UK! I love the show, and it's absolutely worth buying, but this set is not what it could have been, nor what it should have been! Such a disappointment! I urge all UK BSG fans to contact Universal to get these issue rectified, and sets replaced immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Duplicate/missing discs? Not good! And I'm not the only one..., 17 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
NOTE: THIS RATING IS FOR THE PRODUCT ITSELF - NOT THE SERIES

Can't yet comment on the presence or lack of extras in the UK version. Haven't finished watching it yet, but I thought I should put up here what we just noticed:

Our limited edition (which was just the tin box by the way - no cardboard exterior) Battlestar Galactica Complete Series had disc 3 of season 2 missing, and it its place was a duplicate disc 4. And we're not the only ones to have duplicate discs... Google it, and you'll find quite a few comments posted right here on Amazon, but sadly difficult to find here on the product page.

The good news is Amazon were very courteous with us. Despite the fact that my 30 day return ran out in April (it's now halfway through June) having phoned them up this is what they did: They said I had a choice, I could get a replacement boxset which would mean a) sending the old one back to them (and also paying a hefty recorded delivery bill), or they could send me the missing season on its own as you would buy it separately on Amazon.

Taking the latter option, they have done this free of charge, and better still if anything else goes wrong or there's something wrong with the season boxset, I can send it back and get a replacement free of charge, and if that fails, I can get a refund (presumably having sent everything back). So they've sort of extended my options which is nice.

But seriously, if you're thinking of getting this boxset to replace your old season boxsets... Keep the old seasonal boxsets on the side somewhere until you've watched everything in this complete boxset - you never know what you might otherwise be missing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 126 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the lack of Special Features, 21 Sept. 2009
By 
G. Meakings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Received my box set in the post today and was very disappointed with the lack of Special Features. Gone are the extended episodes, Webisodes, the majority of the Commentary tracks are missing and no extended version of the movie Razor. All of these are contained on the American version of the complete series (except the Season 4 Webisodes which are missing from both versions) and the Blueray editions.

It is a big shame that for the same price the UK version is missing the majority of the features especially as a good number of them were even advertised as being contained within this box set.

This is a very good TV show and I will recommend it, I just can't recommend this box set as it is incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing lots of advertised features - and booklet is wrong!!, 23 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremely disappointed. This is missing a lot of the promised extras. Surely this is mis-selling. Univeral need to be written to and complained to.

Great series spoilt by a promise that wasnt delivered. This is NOT the ultimate collection. I want to send it back :(

Shame as I was looking forward to it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 56 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing compared to the American Edition, 21 Sept. 2009
By 
G. Meakings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received my box set in the post today and was very disappointed with the lack of Special Features. Gone are the extended episodes, Webisodes, the majority of the Commentary tracks are missing and no extended version of the movie Razor. All of these are contained on the American version of the complete series (except the Season 4 Webisodes which are missing from both versions) and the Blueray editions.

It is a big shame that for the same price the UK version is missing the majority of the features especially as a good number of them were even advertised as being contained within this box set.

This is a very good TV show and I will recommend it, I just can't recommend this box set as it is incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all about the fiction, not the science, 17 July 2011
By 
Mr. D. M. Edwards "Dave" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This series is fantastic.

It's dramatic, emotional, realistic and confronts all manner of deep issues like loss, faith, family, betrayal and the horrors of war. This is not Star Trek. There's almost no high technology, no unbelieveable hyper-moral characters and for large parts of the series, no hope. This is depressing stuff - things are always going wrong, people are always dying or being traumatised and the leaders are always having to make dreadful decisions.

The gritty realism of living as the remains of a destroyed society come home perfectly in this setting. The beauty of it is that this could be set in the second world war and it would be pretty much the same, just with an aircraft carrier instead of a spaceship and Nazis instead of robots. This is a science fiction series about people - people who have only just survived and are clinging on to what little remains of their lives with both hands.

For me, the best thing of all is the ever decreasing number of survivors put up at the start of every episode - whoever came up with that was a genius. Simple and hard hitting.

Pros:
+Great acting and excellent characters
+Enormous story arcs
+Plenty of intrigue
+Great action sequences
+Tension of situation is very successfully put across

Cons:
-Some plot holes when viewed from start to finish
-The 'mystical' side of things gets a bit too strong as the series go on
-Can be genuinely depressing at times

Buy it. Don't worry about what extras you get, just watch the episodes and get lost in the story - it's a fantastic series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Universal Playback explanation about missing extra's, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. O. Blackman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
i'm giving this 3 stars as i love the series but am annoyed how this company treats its customers

I found it quite annoying that when buying this product that it was missing a lot of the extras that bluray customers get because i choose not to spend lots of money on new technology but here is their statement taken from an email sent them earlier today

STATEMENT TO CUSTOMERS OF "BATTLESTAR GALACTICA - THE COMPLETE DVD"

We would like to reassure customers that the bonus material featured in the DVD boxset Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series is listed accurately on both the external product packaging and on online retailer sites.

Due to a printing error, the booklet contained within the boxset contains some inaccuracies in the listing of audio commentaries available on the discs. The listing of commentaries for Seasons 1, 2 and 4 reflects the contents of the Blu-ray version of the release, rather than the DVD boxset.

Customers should also be aware that minisodes have been listed in the booklet by season, rather than by disc. In particular, minisodes for the Season 4 set refer to the minisodes for the "Razor" feature-length episode contained on disc 1 of Season 4.

The booklet is currently being reprinted and will be available on request to customers who have already purchased the boxset. Please contact us at the email address below if you would like any further information.

Universal Playback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictively good!, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Delivery was prompt and well packaged

The product itself looks smart and is nice and compact, The picture quality is really good and the series plays great on both DVD player and using the DVD disc drive on a computer. The menu and features on the discs are easy to navigate.

The series itself; Having never watched the original BSG series I can't comment on how it compares to this version. However, I would say that this series is great for anyone who enjoys sci-fi series as it's very well written, directed and acted. The only thing I would say is that the last series does feel rather rushed and the ending of the series for me felt a real let down.

I would say for anyone who is looking for something new to watch this is a great series and addictively good too!

What's inside the boxset? Boxset includes Mini Series; Seasons 1 - The Final Season as well as Bonus Discs. It's worth noting that this is not technically the complete series as it doesnt include The Plan so anyone wishing for the complete collection will need to buy The Plan seperately as I dont believe it is available to buy as part of the boxset itself.

Would I recommend? Definitely, I certainly feel this is a series that everyone can enjoy as it has a bit of everything. I would recommend adding this to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004]
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews