Customer Reviews


424 Reviews
5 star:
 (296)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


171 of 172 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarification. What this box set actually DOES and DOES NOT contain! Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
As some of you may or may not know; there is so much Battlestar Galactica related content out there in the form of spin-off series, additional minisodes, TV movies and other secondary content. When I was trying to purchase the Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] for myself I was having trouble actually finding out what this box set contains, especially...
Published 7 months ago by P Bortowski

versus
429 of 502 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the series, 3 stars for this set!
Like G Meakings' mentions above, this is NOT a Complete or Ultimate Set as described. Whilst this isn't Amazon's fault, Universal Playback (the UK branch of Universal who released this set) have screwed up big-time.

1) The set does NOT contain material like extended episodes, the Webisodes, many of the audio commentaries and the longer, uncut version of Razor...
Published on 22 Sep 2009 by PoochJD


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

171 of 172 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarification. What this box set actually DOES and DOES NOT contain! Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray], 14 Jan 2014
By 
P Bortowski - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As some of you may or may not know; there is so much Battlestar Galactica related content out there in the form of spin-off series, additional minisodes, TV movies and other secondary content. When I was trying to purchase the Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] for myself I was having trouble actually finding out what this box set contains, especially since Amazon combines reviews of both DVDs and Blu-Rays; the former supposedly not including alot of that secondary content and the latter supposedly including all of it. As well as various people saying this and that and other people saying the oppposite of this and that, I was getting rather confused. I never actually found out for sure what this box-set included so I caved and just bought it for myself regardless.

The sole purpose of my review is to have one dedicated space in outlining what this box set actually does and does not contain!

The Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] CONTAINS:

- Battlestar Galactica (2003) (TV-Mini-Series)
- Battlestar Galactica (2004-2009) (the Main TV Series, All Seasons [1,2,3,4 and The Final Season]
- ALL unaired extended episodes of specific episodes from the Main TV series (as well as the original broadcast versions)
- RAZOR (TV Movie) (BOTH the original broadcast version and the unrated extended version)
- Razor Flashbacks (Minisodes x7)
- The Resistance (Webisdoes x9)
- I won't list the special features as they are on the Amazon product page, but I will add that there are also audio commentaries for each extended episode!

The Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] DOES NOT CONTAIN:

- The Plan (TV Movie)
- The Face of the Enemy (Webisodes x10)
- Blood & Chrome (a seperate spin-off prequel series that shouldn't be expected to be included in this box set. Can be purchased seperately)
- Caprica (another seperate spin-off prequel series that shouldn't be expected to be included in this box set. Can be purchased seperately)

So the only content that should've really been included in this box set is 'The Plan' and 'The Face of the Enemy' as they are both set within the same timeline of the main series. Quite frankly I wouldn't allow their absence to prevent you from purchasing this set, especially at the now current bargain price of 29.99! I believe The Face of the Enemy wasn't included because of licensing issues or something or other, but they can be viewed online if you know where to look (p.s they're not that good!) and The Plan [Blu-Ray] can be purchased on Amazon for a cheap price if you desperately want it (p.s it's not that good either :) )

At the end of the day, all of the essential content is included in this box set!

Conclusion. If you are a fan of Battlestar Galactica and simply want to own the fantastic show on Blu-Ray then get this product...NOW! If you are someone who hasn't seen the show before and are interested in it then get this product...NOW! Neither of you will be dissapointed. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 120 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but not complete..., 5 Aug 2012
By 
N. A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice box set, but really should have also contained "The Plan" for it to be complete. It does however, include the Razor movie, and that is a definite bonus. There is also a booklet contained within the boxset that potentially contains spoilers in terms of revealing who some of the Cylon's may be, so for those buying this boxset with the intention of viewing it for the first time, or for watching it with others that haven't seen it, then don't read the booklet.

As regards the disks themselves, they are not going to blow you out of the water with the quality of their blu-ray definition, because of the way some of the footage was originally filmed to give it a a slightly grainy, "embedded reporter" type feeling to it. Indeed if you already have the DVD's of BSG, then I wouldn't bother investing in this box set, as you will gain no significant picture improvements.

The additional content, some unedited episodes and commentaries available in the set are nice to have, but I am sure that many people will just be buying this box set to have BSG in all its glory, in as few disks as possible.

In short, buy this if you don't already have the DVD's and you don't mind having to buy 'The Plan', separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is in the box set ?, 13 May 2014
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
After a few years of trying to decide which Battlestar collection to buy, I bought this one when it came up at a good price. There are several collections out there but none are perfect. I hope that by letting you know what is in this box set, you can make a well informed decision too:

** Mini-series **

** Series 1 **
Disc 1:
Episode 1- 33
Episode 2 - Water
Episode 3 - Bastille Day
Episode 4 - Act Of Contrition
Disc 2:
Episode 5 - You Can't Go Home Again
Episode 6 - Litmus
Episode 7 - Six Degrees Of Seperation
Disc 3:
Episode 8 - Flesh & Bone
Episode 9 - Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down
Episode 10 - The Hand Of God
Disc 4:
Episode 11 - Colonial Day
Episode 12 - Kobol's Last Gleaming (part 1)
Episode 13 - Kobol's Last Gleaming (part 2)
Bonus - deleted scenes, buck rogers trailer

** Series 2 **
Disc 1:
Episode 1 - Scattered
Episode 2 - Valley Of Darkness
Episode 3 - Fragged
Episode 4 - Resistance
Disc 2:
Episode 5 - The Farm
Episode 6 - Home (part 1)
Episode 7 - Home (part 2)
Episode 8 - Final Cut
Disc 3:
Episode 9 - Flight Of The Phoenix
Episode 10 - Pegasus
Episode 11 - Resurrection Ship (part 1)
Episode 12 - Resurrection Ship (part 2)
Disc 4:
Episode 13 - Epiphanies
Episode 14 - Black Market
Episode 15 - Scar
Episode 16 - Sacrifice
Disc 5:
Episode 17 - The Captain' s Hand
Episode 18 - Downloaded
Episode 19 - Lay Down Your Burdens (part 1)
Episode 20 - Lay Down Your Burdens (part 2)
Disc 6:
Bonus - deleted scenes (episodes 1-9)

** Series 3 **
Disc 1:
Episode 1 - Occupation
Episode 2 - Precipice
Episode 3 - Exodus (part 1)
Episode 4 - Exodus (part 2)
Disc 2:
Episode 5 - Collaborators
Episode 6 - Torn
Episode 7 - A Measure Of Salvation
Episode 8 - Hero
Disc 3:
Episode 9 - Unfinished Business
Episode 10 - The Passage
Episode 11 - The Eye Of Jupiter
Episode 12 - Rapture
Disc 4:
Episode 13 - Taking A Break From All Your Worries
Episode 14 - The Woman King
Episode 15 - A Day In The Life
Episode 16 - Dirty Hands
Disc 5:
Episode 17 - Maelstrom
Episode 18 - The Son Also Rises
Episode 19 - Crossroads (part 1)
Episode 20 - Crossroads (part 2)

** Series 4 **
Disc 1:
Razor
Bonus - deleted scenes, 7 minisodes
Disc 2:
Episode 1- He That Believeth In Me
Episode 2 - Six Of One
Episode 3 - The Ties That End
Episode 4 - Escape Velocity
Disc 3:
Episode 5 - The Road Less Travelled
Episode 6 - Faith
Episode 7 - Guess What's Coming To Dinner ?
Episode 8 - Sine Qua Non
Disc 4:
Episode 9 - The Hub
Episode 10 - Revelations

** Final Season **
Disc 1:
Episode 11 - Sometimes A Great Notion
Episode 12 - A Disquiet Follows My Soul
Episode 13 - The Oath
Episode 14 - Blood On The Scales
Disc 2:
Episode 15 - No Exit
Episode 16 - Deadlock
Episode 17 - Someone To Watch Over Me
Episode 18 - Islanded In A Stream Of Stars
Disc 3:
Episode 19 - Daybreak (part 1)
Episode 20 - Daybreak (part 2 & 3)
Disc 4:
Bonus - Sneak peak at Caprica, David Eick's video blogs, What the frak Is going on with Battlestar Galactica, The evolution of a cue, A disquiet follows my soul (unrated version)

** Bonus Disc **
Season 1 series lowdown
Season 1 behind the scenes featurettes
- From mini series to series
- Change is good, now they're babes
- The cyclone centurion
- Future-past technology
- The doctor is out (of his mind)
- Production
- Visual effects
- Epilogue
Season 1 sketches and art photo presentation
Season 2 deleted scenes (episodes 11, 13-20)
Season 3 deleted scenes (episodes 2, 4, 5-8, 10-20)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great box set!, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Neil Douglas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There have been several Battlestar Galactica (BSG) blu-ray and dvd releases and this is by far the best packaging based on the price. It's well put together, enough effort has been made with the box and packaging that it looks great and stands proudly on the shelf. Playback, the company that releases BSG in the UK have taken much critisim over the years for their BSG box sets, in the UK and North America. However having researched this extensively and waited patiently to buy BSG, I have been very impressed by this box set and consider it well worth the price here.

The content included is all the great episodes in great HD video quality and sound.

Despite other reviews on this page ALL the extras are here, on the BLU RAY anyway, don't know about the DVD. That means: Extended episodes of Pegasus, Razor, Unfinished Business etc are included along with the original broadcast shorter versions. Plus webisodes, commentaries, video diaries. Confusion has come because there have been many editions of the complete BSG which did not have all the extras actually made for the show, but this one has EVERYTHING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


429 of 502 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the series, 3 stars for this set!, 22 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Like G Meakings' mentions above, this is NOT a Complete or Ultimate Set as described. Whilst this isn't Amazon's fault, Universal Playback (the UK branch of Universal who released this set) have screwed up big-time.

1) The set does NOT contain material like extended episodes, the Webisodes, many of the audio commentaries and the longer, uncut version of Razor! However, the Region 1 US version DOES include most of these!

2) Worse still, the UK set advertises many of these extras in the set booklet, and on the back of the box, but are not actually included! What happened, Universal? Couldn't get the legal issues/copyright details sorted in time? Couldn't be bothered to make the extra effort, or just hoped that UK BSG fans wouldn't be hacked-off?!

3) The DVD's are identical to the ordinary individual UK season sets, and so the artwork on the discs themselves, do not match, and are stupidly labelled too. Again, this is Universal in the UK being lazy! Would it really have caused too many problems to create artwork for the discs that matched, across all of them?

4) Season 4 is stupidly split into "Season 4" and "The Final Season" (which actually contains the final 10 episodes of Season 4), rather than just having all of them labelled as "Season 4"! Again, Universal in the UK split the season, probably to milk money out of the UK fans, but this could easily have been rectified for this so-called "Complete" boxed set.

The tin set itself,is nice, although I would advise checking it for scratches and dents. Annoyingly, the DVD's are stupidly labelled as being in different ratios, namely: 16:9, Full-height anamorphic, 1.85 widescreen, and 1.78:1! Was it too much to ask, to simply label all of the discs and the box, with just the words "Anamorphic Widescreen" instead? After all, only the anally-retentive fan is going to worry over the pettiness of 1.78:1 over 1.85:1, and for 99.9% of fans, they aren't going to notice the difference on screen, and aren't going to care.

The problem you now have, though, is do you buy the US version of this set, but get an inferior box, paper sleeves that scratch the discs, but more extras, or do you settle for this UK version? For DVD fans, I'd have to go with the UK release, only because damaged discs and a bad box design is NOT what we should be spending the best part of 85 on. Clearly, if you can, get the US or UK Blu-Ray releases, but for DVD-only fans, it's a horrible choice!

What a shame that such a great show, has been damaged so badly, by Universal UK! I love the show, and it's absolutely worth buying, but this set is not what it could have been, nor what it should have been! Such a disappointment! I urge all UK BSG fans to contact Universal to get these issue rectified, and sets replaced immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 124 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the lack of Special Features, 21 Sep 2009
By 
G. Meakings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Received my box set in the post today and was very disappointed with the lack of Special Features. Gone are the extended episodes, Webisodes, the majority of the Commentary tracks are missing and no extended version of the movie Razor. All of these are contained on the American version of the complete series (except the Season 4 Webisodes which are missing from both versions) and the Blueray editions.

It is a big shame that for the same price the UK version is missing the majority of the features especially as a good number of them were even advertised as being contained within this box set.

This is a very good TV show and I will recommend it, I just can't recommend this box set as it is incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is the Blu-ray version worth while ?, 27 Jan 2011
I had already bought the dvd sets and bought the Blu-ray version as an upgrade but was disappointed by the visual upgrade , yes the visuals are only marginally better than dvd. Don't expect Zulu quality Blu-ray video transfer; if you have an amplifier which can decode HD Master Audio 5.1 plus a 5.1 or better cinema system then that will be a nice plus when viewing the space battles but overall I can't recommend this to most people.

If you've got the dvds already I'd not bother about upgrading your set. I'd only really recommend this to people if you haven't got the dvds and either you have a full HD TV which is bigger than 40" or you use a projector and have a 5.1 cinema system or better which decodes HD Audio 5.1. Otherwise save your money and get the dvds which are nearly half the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing Blu-ray box set for Battlestar, though the packaging choice is a bit odd..., 9 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are so many views on the actual show, I'll leave those for other reviewers. In my opinion, it's a rare, epic piece of TV that combines some sweeping and grand themes of politics, religion, war and culture. But anyway, I'll focus here on what my position was, i.e. someone who had the DVDs (and gave them to a friend before getting this set, lucky him, huh?) and wanted to upgrade to the Blu-ray to have one of my favourite TV series in high definition for all time (or as long as the packaging lasts, but I'll get that). Is it worth the upgrade? In spite of the odd packaging choice, I'd say yes. I've watched all the material before upscaled to 1080p, and even with the specific production choices for Battlestar, there's still a clear picture quality improvement and a real increased sense of immersion. There are too many scenes with digital noise (and I don't feel they are essential to capture the gritty feeling, but anyway) but still it's a solid, noticeable upgrade. I felt closer to the action and some of the stylistic subtleties (like the quick pull focus on characters to increase the documentary feel) finally paid-off, as I'd missed something so slight via the fuzziness of DVD. Now to the audio, it's Master Audio and it's very, very good. The dialogue clarity has always been a bit of a problem with Battlestar, but here it's better than the DVD. Everyone is talking in low voices and quietly most of the time though, so you may find yourself listening at high volumes then suddenly having ringing ears as the thundering (and extremely well done, especially for a TV show) SFX kick in all around the surround sound field. The instrumentation in the music, drawn from world instruments (which you see in the later extras) are even more impressive and engaging here than on the DVD, where they had to compete somewhat, I felt, with the dialogue. The supplements are vast in number, and all I managed to have time to watch/listen to so far are some of the video blogs and the commentary on 33 (which was interesting). Also, in answer to another reviewer, yes it has Razor (both the broadcast and unrated editions). Lastly, to the niggling issue of the box. First, it's big - bigger than it needed to be. The tin is about one Blu-ray case high, about one-and-a-half wide, then about 10 or so deep. It's currently poking off a shelf. Luckily my tin did not arrive damaged (as others sadly did, it seems), and the foam inside should protect the discs. I do quite like the fact that the discs are in red plastic as it enhances the whole Cylon feel, but they are indeed very tightly squeezed into paper/cardboard cases that I'm pretty sure will break eventually. I'm careful and have small fingers so it's not the end of the world, but given the size of the tin, I'm sure there were other ways to have packed the discs. Overall though, you get around 20 Blu-ray discs, tons of Battlestar goodness, upgraded picture quality over the DVDs, seriously improved audio over the DVDs, more supplementary features than many of us have time to watch in a (busy) lifetime, and a tin big enough to be a conversation starter to anyone who visits! To close then, even with the packaging problems, this is too good an overall experience to mark down a star for that. Very highly recommended to those upgrading from the DVDs, or those who love the series and want to have it in the best format it'll ever see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Universal Playback explanation about missing extra's, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. O. Blackman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
i'm giving this 3 stars as i love the series but am annoyed how this company treats its customers

I found it quite annoying that when buying this product that it was missing a lot of the extras that bluray customers get because i choose not to spend lots of money on new technology but here is their statement taken from an email sent them earlier today

STATEMENT TO CUSTOMERS OF "BATTLESTAR GALACTICA - THE COMPLETE DVD"

We would like to reassure customers that the bonus material featured in the DVD boxset Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series is listed accurately on both the external product packaging and on online retailer sites.

Due to a printing error, the booklet contained within the boxset contains some inaccuracies in the listing of audio commentaries available on the discs. The listing of commentaries for Seasons 1, 2 and 4 reflects the contents of the Blu-ray version of the release, rather than the DVD boxset.

Customers should also be aware that minisodes have been listed in the booklet by season, rather than by disc. In particular, minisodes for the Season 4 set refer to the minisodes for the "Razor" feature-length episode contained on disc 1 of Season 4.

The booklet is currently being reprinted and will be available on request to customers who have already purchased the boxset. Please contact us at the email address below if you would like any further information.

Universal Playback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars battlestar galactica, 30 April 2013
By 
Mr. V. H. Morris (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great box set. Good value and great series. Blue ray quality so looks great on the tv. Definately worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [DVD] [2004]
42.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews