Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars batman and friends
A popular comic for a great many years, recently revived for a new series, was the brave and the bold. This would feature two superheroes who didn't usually meet in their respective own titles, teaming up to fight a villain together. The majority of these stories would involve batman teaming up with another hero.

This is the first volume of episodes from a new...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by Paul Tapner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Batman Series
This Volume 1 collects 4 episodes from the latest Batman animated series Batman the Brave and the Bold. I do like the series, it is fresh and original, and something that hasn't been done with Batman before or at least recently, having him team up with another hero every episode and presenting him as a lighter and more fun character, however I find these epiosdes not to...
Published on 23 Jun 2010 by Simon Frazer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars batman and friends, 22 Oct 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A popular comic for a great many years, recently revived for a new series, was the brave and the bold. This would feature two superheroes who didn't usually meet in their respective own titles, teaming up to fight a villain together. The majority of these stories would involve batman teaming up with another hero.

This is the first volume of episodes from a new cartoon series that follows the same format. It contains four twenty two minute long episodes, and in each batman and another hero will do battle with a villain. Most begin with a short prologue featuring batman and a hero different to the main one in the episode dealing with a villain very quickly, and these then lead into the main story.

The episodes in question are: rise of the blue beetle, featuring batman and inexperienced teenage hero jaime reyes dealing with aliens who are at the mercy of those who seek to exploit them.

Terror on dinosaur island, featuring batman and pliable ex criminal turned hero 'eel' o'brian dealing with an island containing dinosaurs and intelligent apes.

Evil under the sea, with batman and aquaman fighting villains who have designs on the sea king's throne.

Invasion of the secret santas, featuring batman and the red tornado fighting a villainous toymaker over christmas.

The animation in all of these is nothing sophisticated but it's fine and colourful, and looks like something that could have come out of a comic from the 50's or the 60's. The batman of these episodes is determined and focused rather than grim and gritty, but he can still manage the occasional good one liner.

The other heroes in each episode do learn life lessons, but the writing handles these subtly so they work well and never feel forced or ham fisted.

Probably the most memorable of them is the fourth episode, for some very poignant scenes showing why batman isn't entirely keen on christmas.

There are no extras on the disc.

It has language tracks in english czech and polish

and subtitles in czech hebrew and polish.

all in all four episodes of a fun cartoon that can be enjoyed by bat fans of all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great DVD for kids, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
bought this for my 4 year old boy - he loved it. Its simple, kiddy friendly, and i dont even mind watching it over & over again myself ! Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Batman Series, 23 Jun 2010
By 
Simon Frazer "simon frazer" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This Volume 1 collects 4 episodes from the latest Batman animated series Batman the Brave and the Bold. I do like the series, it is fresh and original, and something that hasn't been done with Batman before or at least recently, having him team up with another hero every episode and presenting him as a lighter and more fun character, however I find these epiosdes not to be the best of the show's first season and these ones quickly become less interesting if you have seen later episodes such as "Deep Cover for Batman" and "Game Over for Owlman". They are entertaining but the episodes "Rise of the Blue Beetle", "Terror on Dinosaur Island", "Evil under the Sea" and "Invasion of the Secret Santas" (those episodes on this DVD) are certainly not the best of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My sons love it!, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I purchased this item for my son who is 4 and he loves it! He plays it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Bought this for my 5 yr old and he loves it. Don't really know what else I can say about it really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars batman, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
My girl prefers batman the brave and bold to a lot of other batman cartoons.this DVD is good and I remember it when on telly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars batman, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
came on time good quality sealed so I knew it was bran fully functional and exactly what I was expecting very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It's just a really fun enjoyable show.
The episodes are stand alone and you don't need to follow the entire series to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Bought as a present for my granddaughter who is a Batman fan. She enjoyed it very much. That's all I can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for young Batman fans!, 4 Jun 2013
This review is from: Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
My four year old son is a huge superhero fan, and Batman is his all-time favourite. I originally bought him Batman: The Animated Series, which is fantastic, but too dark for him (although he liked watching it, I was worried and it has been put away until he's a little older).
This series is brilliant, although there is still some violence (its Batman) the stories are short, fun, colourful and often have moral messages . It's nice to see superheroes and villains that aren't featured on the likes of Batman animated series or Justice League (Blue-beetle, green-arrow, King-clock...) and even Merlin (and King Arthur, sort of) are featured in one episode.

All-in-all a fantastic introduction for young batman or superhero fans, we are collecting the whole series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman - The Brave And The Bold Vol. 1 [DVD] [2009]
3.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews