Customer Reviews


520 Reviews
5 star:
 (429)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


300 of 320 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best new series on TV anywhere at the moment
The synopsis (with NO SPOILERS):

A US chemistry teacher (Bryan Cranston, fom 'Malcolm in the Middle') discovers he has cancer, and has no way of paying the medical bills. One day it occurs to him that he could cover the needed expenses by making Crystal Meth - a drug which is in high demand on the streets. The series follows his adventures, and the...
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by Straightforward

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars drags on a bit
Finding it a bit slow moving for me,its not bad but as i said its a bit slow and drags on,still hanging on in there not finished yet.
Published 13 months ago by ARB


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

300 of 320 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best new series on TV anywhere at the moment, 8 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
The synopsis (with NO SPOILERS):

A US chemistry teacher (Bryan Cranston, fom 'Malcolm in the Middle') discovers he has cancer, and has no way of paying the medical bills. One day it occurs to him that he could cover the needed expenses by making Crystal Meth - a drug which is in high demand on the streets. The series follows his adventures, and the ever-increasingly tangled web of lies that he weaves.

I've got to say how much I LOVED this series - season 1 is relatively short (7 episodes), but is filled with the kind of high-tension drama that made 'The Wire' so compelling. It's created by Vince Gilligan (the man behind 'The X-Files'* [*see comment]), and has the same quirky humour threaded all the way through - aided immensely by Cranston's witheringly caustic portrayal of a man who does not suffer fools gladly AT ALL, but ends up having to work with one.

As events unfurl, he is forced to keep bigger and bigger secrets from his wife and son...

I don't want to give the impression that this is primarily a comedy, because it isn't - it's a dark psychological drama with some great moments of equally dark humour - the cast are all exceptional, and the casting is spot-on. For example, Cranston's character has a son who has CP, so they cast RJ Mitte, an actor who actually has it in real life. This might seem a little worthy but when watching the series it works perfectly.

If you liked the grittiness of 'The Wire', the dark humour of 'The Sopranos' or the strange other-ness of 'The X-Files', I can recommend this to you WHOLEHEARTEDLY. Seriously - this is the best thing I've seen on TV for a long long time... and the good news is that series 2 is just as good, but 12 episodes long!

Take a chance - buy it - I promise you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! Highly addictive!, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Mark Grindell "Mark Grindell" (Driffield, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
2009? I watched one episode of this. Then got my kids (all of them old enough, don't worry) to watch it. And I tell you folks, nothing that year came close to this series, and we are all unreconstructed Doctor Who fans from the old school (whatever that means) and we were all totally in thrall to this amazing series.

Who is Brian Cranston? Don't know, but he deserves each and every award that he has received, been nominated for, and if there aren't any he hasn't got and you think he should have, for goodness sake get creative and INVENT one. Same goes for whathisface Gilligan and everyone else.

Where one earth do I start?

Maybe it's the deconstruction and disassembly of the American Dream.

Walter, a gifted chemistry teacher, one day wakes up and finds out that his persistent cough is lung cancer. That would be bad enough, but his circumstances are such that he is far more terrified about the future than any normal person would be given his diagnosis. The story is basically what he is prepared to do to try to make a future for his wife, his teenage son and his baby (who is about to arrive).

So far so good. But what a merry dance we are led into. We are tempted to believe that Walt really is very unfortunate, but as the series progresses, and believe me, it does so in fine style, we start to see faint but unmistakable inconsistencies in this apparent series of facts; we see (for instance) that his son is actually very intelligent, far from being helpless, he's a one of the series' strongest characters, and so it goes on - what really IS driving Walt?

What is REALLY going on?

I'll let you find out.

I don't know where to begin with the enormous questions that the series raises. I remember my old drama teacher telling us that the purpose of drama was to knock you on the head and make you think, make you laugh, to assault you and not let you get up for at least a while. What is the source of Walt's dissolution? Is it the nature of what America has turned into? Who are his real friends? Why does he feel poor? What is the American Dream? Who pays for it? And what is it's eventual disposition?

Whatever the answers, you will not be disappointed with this sucker, that, I promise. I want to meet this guy Walt some day, even if it is the last thing I ever do.

Very, very powerful and often very funny too.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, powerful drama with a little black humour., 16 Jan 2010
By 
Zeke Pliskin (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
Now let's get one thing straight; this is a television program NOT for the faint at heart. If you like your viewing saccherine, with easy answers and everything wrapped up and snapped back to the beginning by the end of the episode, Breaking Bad is not for you. The premise alone should be enough to tell you that; a cancer-striken father who is a chemistry teacher turns to illegal drug manufacture with a not-too-bright ex-student and struggles with his own mortality and morality along the way, doing his best to hide the new career choice from his pregnant wife, son with cerebal palsy, medic sister-in-law and law enforcer brother. Yes, this isn't light-weight material by any means.

I'm not a fan of these shows that rely on "inflated sense of tension" to pump up the viewer's adrenaline levels while covering for poor scripting; stuff like 24, Lost and Prison Break started out well-enough but quickly descended into this cheap shock tactic approach to keep the audience hooked. Once I saw through this I stopped watching them completely and have been seeking out quality American shows that are well-produced and equally well-written, and I am happy to say that Breaking Bad is one of these. Not since I saw Firefly (a very different kind of show) have I enjoyed a television program this much.

Bryan Cranston is perfectly cast as Walt, the man who has to make tough choices to provide for his family. He so perfectly becomes the character that it was not until later I realised he was previously cast as Hal in Malcolm In The Middle. His emotional range is staggering; with a few well-timed gestures or vocalisations he can convey several feelings at once, and when Walt is in pain it is completely believable. Walt is a man of few words, but chooses these words very carefully, so when he speaks everyone on-screen and in the audience are listening.

Cranston isn't just carrying passengers though; he's ably supported by Anna Gunn as his wife Skylar, who brings just the right amount of care and concern for her husband and baby as needed and RJ Mitte plays the son who has CP and gives a very accurate, non-condescending portrayal of the condition so different from the ham-handed "sympathy ploy" approach so overused by shows from the States. Dean Norris plays Walt's brother Hank, the all-American police officer who doesn't take any guff and flushes out drug dealers for a living and his quirky kleptomaniac wife Marie (the lightest character in this show, amusingly) is handled with panache by Betsy Brandt. Rounding out the main cast is Aaron Paul as Jesse Pinkman, every inch the nervy, paranoid and streetwise "cook" who becomes Walt's new partner and guide to the world of drug trafficing.

I could say so much about what makes this a compelling piece of film-making - it really does play like an extended movie at many points - but I'd be here for a long time. Tight, well-plotted scripts that make the unbelievable tangeable and don't waste a line while doing so. Superb, inventive direction and settings that perfectly fit the mood of the show, an interesting mixture of steadicam, handicam, point-of-view and via camcorders that appear to be captured by the cast themselves. Excellent choice of soundtrack; almost every episode ends with a classic song and the musical cues throughout really add to the atmosphere without becoming overpowering; witness the searing, high-pitched noises when we see through Walt's eyes as he is in pain or being given bad news for an example.

What is most remarkable is that the show never gives easy answers, never biases us towards the characters (we are given both sides of the debate and left to make our own choices, which respects the viewers intelligence) and always does things that you will not expect. There is not a single cliche to be found here, no way of knowing exactly how each person will react to the situations they are thrust into. These are complex, multi-faceted individuals with free will and their own motivations, who exist not as mere tools to advance the plot. The plot itself is always coherent and leaves very few loose ends. If you see an event or object framed, however subtley, you can bet it will come back later on. Maybe not in the same episode, but as part of the story arc. And last but not least is the incredibly pitch black humour that crops up every now and then, so dark it almost feels uncomfortable to laugh.

Overall this is an assured, professional piece of work that ranges from very good to downright stunning, with "Crazy Handful Of Nothin'" being the standout episode of the first season. If they can carry this program on for two or three more seasons and then end it without dragging past the logical closure point (and with Walt the way he is, this is crucial), it will be one of the greatest drama series of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a KitKat, 3 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
American TV is seeing one of its richest periods ever. As mainstream Hollywood movies become increasingly about CGI and not character, television has become a retreat for some of the best talent the US has to offer. `Breaking Bad' Season 1 is one such example, an unapologetically adult show it centres on Walt, a Chemistry teacher with terminal cancer. Rather than lie back and die he decides to use his chemistry knowledge for unconventional means and sets out making crystal meth with a former students of his who has turned drug dealer.

With themes ranging from terminal illness to drug addiction, `Breaking Bad' sounds like a hard watch, but it isn't. This is due to a number of reasons. The writing is key; writer/creator Vince Gilligan has balanced the show brilliantly, the story unwinds slowly and he lets the characters breath. Rather than being miserable throughout, Gilligan has written plenty of amusing scenes as Walt realises that with death so near, there is not point being nice anymore.

The second stage to success is to make sure you have actors that justify the material. A `Malcolm in the Middle' alumnus does not immediately sound the right choice, but Bryan Cranston is magnificent carrying the show almost single handily. The rest of the cast cannot quite match him, but they do a decent job. With a powerhouse lead and brilliant writing, `Breaking Bad' is up with the likes of `Mad Men' as the best the US has to offer in recent years. Do yourself a favour and check out `Breaking Bad' Season 1.

Sammy Recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're reading this you're SO close, just buy it sit back and let the magic wash over you, 11 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
First off i've never written a customer review on amazon or any other site ever, normally the good stuff has largely positive reviews and the bad stuff largely negative, i.e its easy to make an informed decision. But with this series (and i mean in the uk) its been completely overlooked for some reason.

Ive seen all three seasons and without giving any spoliers suffice to say it just gets better amd better, everything is like one long huge film rather than having any 'filler' episodes but each one still remains unique, great writing and acting all around.

Comparing this to any other tv is a bit redundant its so original, the way its shot as well (in parts) is beautiful the dialouge is snappy and theres black humour (the best) throughout with a healthy dose of 'serious' moments too and it definitely makes you think.

More than anything though its just fun,classy tv and i think will appeal to allsorts. So buy it, watch it, love it (inevitably) and spread the word.

Hopefully they release the third season in the uk soon and this doesnt become something us brits overlook completely. Its better than most other programmes out there its just hard to find it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From science teacher to drug lord in one quick move., 20 Sep 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
One of the best things I've seen. Bryan Cranston was the perfect actor for the role of Walter White. A chemistry teacher already down on his luck when he discovers he has terminal lung cancer. He's nowhere to go until; he puts his knowledge of chemistry to the test and begins making, and selling, crystal meth. The way his character is driven deeper and deeper down a spiral of rage, frustration and violence is so completely wacky and surreal it just shouldn't work. No middle aged, boring, ordinary science teacher would find himself toting a gun, selling drugs and running from the FBI?. Walter White does and Bryan Cranston makes him totally believable. Can't recommend highly enough.

Breaking Bad the 1st season runs to 3 x DVDs containing all 7 episodes, approx 5 hours and 32 minutes viewing time, and has English subtitles. There are a wide variety of special features;

Audio commentary on pilot episode by creator and cast including Vincent Gillingham and Bryan Cranston.
Making of Breaking Bad.
Screen tests.
Deleted Scenes.
Audio momentary on Crazy Handful of Nothing by creator Vincent Gillingham and Bryan Cranston.
Photo gallery.
Inside Breaking Bad.
AMC shootout.

The series has an 18 + age restriction due to scenes of hard drug use and drug references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent., 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
No wonder Bryan Cranston got 3 Emmys for his leading role in this excellent series. Can't fault it. Well acted, funny, dark, ground breaking and well directed. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Darren Williams (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
I've never reviewed a series before, but I enjoyed this one so much that I've decided to review it. The plot's already been laid out in earlier reviews so I'll just say that if you like The Wire, The Sopranos, 24 and Dexter (all of which i think are TOP TOP quality series) then I think you'll really enjoy this. I think it's easily on a par.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars drags on a bit, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finding it a bit slow moving for me,its not bad but as i said its a bit slow and drags on,still hanging on in there not finished yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of one of the very best series of all time., 14 Dec 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very
few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling.
Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to
make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking
performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles,
this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and
more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey
from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money
and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an
end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a
game we can never win.

It may take a few episodes to get into, in this first season there was a lot of groundwork to lay,
but you oweit to yourself to try. This is powerful, important and utterly enthralling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews