Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
209
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2009
I have to agree with what Pillzinajaro stated. All too often people fail to actually review DVD's as a product, and direct their entire review at the movie it's self. Although often very helpful, it can be a little frustrating if you're actually trying to decide which particular version of a DVD is the right one for you, especially, if like myself, you enjoy the special features and bonus material added to DVD's.

I took a chance and bought this a couple of weeks ago, hoping that it would contain the deluxe editions of the 5 Dirty Harry movies..... And I was not dissapointed.

The 5 movies are packaged individually in slimline, plastic DVD cases, with their own artwork. They are housed in an outer cardboard slip case, open on the right hand side.

All 5 movies are the newly remastered editions, and each contain an array of bonus features, including an audio commentary for every movie. The original Dirty Harry movie is a 2 disc special edition, and contains more special features than the other 4 films.

There are no additional accessories included, as in the previous deluxe edition boxset, such as the ID badge etc, but, if like myself, you are only interested in the deluxe edition movies themselves, then this is definitely the boxset for you.

I hope this may help you to make the right decision.

BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT!!!

A Lloyd
55 comments| 188 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
1: Dirty Harry

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish

2: Magnum Force

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian, Spanish
Dolby 2.0: Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish

3: The Enforcer

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish

4: Sudden Impact

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish

5: The Dead Pool

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish,
Dolby 2.0: French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish
1717 comments| 406 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
You can't be too careful buying Blu ray these days, as often they are purely a lazy money spinner and show no distinct improvement from the previous DVD version.

HOWEVER I am very pleased to say that this Dirty Harry Boxset has made the transition to Blu ray very well, picture and sound quality are both pretty impressive for films of this era. I had previously owned this boxset on VHS and DVD, but am certainly glad I pushed the boat out for the Blu ray version and would advise any other Dirty Harry fans to do the same.
66 comments| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 October 2009
I can without doubt say that Dirty Harry is one of my top 10 films of all time. I have a thing for films made in the 70's when filmmaking was at its greatest (in my opinion).

The film spawned 4 sequels over the years that seemed to slowly decline as each one spawned. However the thing that held them together was the fact that our anti hero Harry was in each and every one of them and we kept coming back to see the great man in action. Harry Callaghan was a character that could carry a film by itself (Like Charles Bronson in Death Wish, we just like seeing him shoot lowlifes don't we? and the actual film takes second stage to the character).

In this package you receive all five films with a few extras on each film. I am only interested in the extras on Dirty Harry itself and they are pretty good,

The film quality is pretty good but at times some grain is visible.

Overall if you like Dirty Harry and don't have the Blu Ray get this fantastic box set of all 5 films.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
Having owned the original Dirty Harry DVD collection which was released back in 2002,I was looking forward to this all new release and I was not dissapointed all of the original films have been given another re-master,not just the picture but also the sound has been given the dolby 5.1 remaster as well and if you have a surround sound system then eastwoods 44 magnum sounds just like the real thing!!.

As well as the original extras there is a host of new extras and commentarys plus the addition of a small hardback book,production notes,Callaghans police ID badge! and also a poster and limited edition art cards complete the extras,sadly though no .44 Magnum included!!!.

All in all Warner have done a excellent job of both the boxset,extras and also the re-master of the sound and picture of the Dirty Harry films and at under £29 then you realy cant go wrong.

This boxset is a must for not just Dirty Harry fans but Clint Eastwood fans as well.

You wont be dissapointed with your purchase.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
5 classic, no-nonsense cop/action movies in one box for a ridiculously cheap price? Sold. I miss Mr. Eastwood's completely un-PC way of going about things as Dirty Harry so it's great to re-live these excellent films in an age where we're swamped by exactly the sort of people and systems that tried to hold back Harry Callahan from just getting the job done. I'd honestly rather buy this collection than the latest Blu Ray of whatever Hollywood is churning out today.

The one downside is that only the first movie has a double-disc edition BUT every film is remastered so it's probably the best you'll get on DVD. The price at the time of my purchase was £9.99 and I was certainly feeling lucky when the set landed on my doormat. Not sure I'd class myself as a punk though...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
I can without doubt say that Dirty Harry is one of my top 10 films of all time. I have a thing for films made in the 70's when filmmaking was at its greatest (in my opinion).

The film spawned 4 sequels over the years that seemed to slowly decline as each one spawned. However the thing that held them together was the fact that our anti hero Harry was in each and every one of them and we kept coming back to see the great man in action. Harry Callaghan was a character that could carry a film by itself (Like Charles Bronson in Death Wish, we just like seeing him shoot lowlifes don't we? and the actual film takes second stage to the character).

In this package you receive all five films with a few extras on each film. I am only interested in the extras on Dirty Harry itself and they are pretty good,

The film quality is pretty good but at times some grain is visible.

Overall if you like Dirty Harry and don't have the Blu Ray get this fantastic box set of all 5 films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Clint eastwood's mythical/ western modern cop Dirty Harry was both a watershed movie and a critical stab at the (then) modern world.
Harry callaghan was the character that made Eastwood, although a star already, with Rawhide (television) and the Spaghetti trilogy, this was a true blockbuster (and fascist according to the late critic Pauline kael).
Pushing boundaries of both violence AND nudity. Cementing both Eastwood's and his director Don (invasion of the body snatchers) Siegel reputations.
Eastwood would return to Harry Callaghan with varying success over the years, 1st with Magnum Force (featuring a secret cabal within the police carrying out killings on criminal world) , featuring hal holbrook (in a siminlar role he would repeat in Capricorn one and the star chamber) and mitchell ryan, robert urich, and david soul.
The second The Enforcer featuring a Peoples liberation front - this movie refects its time, but Tyne Daly as Eastwood's partner make it worth watching.
The latter two Harry pictures both made in the 1980s, Sudden Impact (Eastwoox directed) is a truly bleak movie and even with Eastood's quips do not detract from Revenge storyline.
By the fifth movie The Dead Pool, Eastwood reputedly made to get BIRD financed.
Again reflecting the period it camd from, although it points the way celebrities goes (dying in three is highlighted and a running gag). Also the parasitic nature of tv / celebrity (living and dead) is pointedly made.

Although none of the sequels match the power of the 1st movie, the blu ray set is well worth buying, the image is a little brighter and certainly more Clarity. The extras are the same as previous sets and still in standard.
If you like Eastwood movies this set well worth seeking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have the dvd's and wanted to get what I consider to be brilliant films on Bluray.Normally older films get a real lift picture and sound wise from Bluray.These sadly look in side by side comparison no better than the dvd's I already have.Also they have first 3 films in a single Bluray case,which was as they always are broken.The middle swinging disc section is such thin plastic they are always broken before I even get a chance to break them myself.I wish they could use thin cases in these sets or use decent plastic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Wonderful collection that should be on the best ten for the year, Now this will have you going all over the place, as they are different stories and the same cop, now the name tells you that someone doesn't play by the rules. Now that will tell you not to break the law and behave and these silly baddies are going to get more than they bargain for. I haven't watched all of them yet but after a couple I have seen I know I won't be disappointed , Action is fierce and spot on and with suspense that is unreal as to all of Clint Eastwood movies. Story is about a cop and some baddies that says it all. A masterpiece collection and with fantastic actors and great stories in all you can't go wrong if you enjoy some great shows from the past without all the tech included these are perfect. I rated this collection A grade plus for the ideas and entertainment throughout from beginning to end been fully entertained not missing a single beat, popcorn and relaxation time so gather up the movies with feet up, turn on the television and get ready for a wonderful night of full on action at a fast pace to keep you amused for hours. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)