Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Description of boxset contents, not a review of the movie!!
I have to agree with what Pillzinajaro stated. All too often people fail to actually review DVD's as a product, and direct their entire review at the movie it's self. Although often very helpful, it can be a little frustrating if you're actually trying to decide which particular version of a DVD is the right one for you, especially, if like myself, you enjoy the special...
Published on 4 Nov. 2009 by A. Lloyd

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great films
I have the dvd's and wanted to get what I consider to be brilliant films on Bluray.Normally older films get a real lift picture and sound wise from Bluray.These sadly look in side by side comparison no better than the dvd's I already have.Also they have first 3 films in a single Bluray case,which was as they always are broken.The middle swinging disc section is such thin...
Published 16 months ago by Corrinpowers


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Description of boxset contents, not a review of the movie!!, 4 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Lloyd (Chester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dirty Harry Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I have to agree with what Pillzinajaro stated. All too often people fail to actually review DVD's as a product, and direct their entire review at the movie it's self. Although often very helpful, it can be a little frustrating if you're actually trying to decide which particular version of a DVD is the right one for you, especially, if like myself, you enjoy the special features and bonus material added to DVD's.

I took a chance and bought this a couple of weeks ago, hoping that it would contain the deluxe editions of the 5 Dirty Harry movies..... And I was not dissapointed.

The 5 movies are packaged individually in slimline, plastic DVD cases, with their own artwork. They are housed in an outer cardboard slip case, open on the right hand side.

All 5 movies are the newly remastered editions, and each contain an array of bonus features, including an audio commentary for every movie. The original Dirty Harry movie is a 2 disc special edition, and contains more special features than the other 4 films.

There are no additional accessories included, as in the previous deluxe edition boxset, such as the ID badge etc, but, if like myself, you are only interested in the deluxe edition movies themselves, then this is definitely the boxset for you.

I hope this may help you to make the right decision.

BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT!!!

A Lloyd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


398 of 428 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages on DVDs, 11 Dec. 2009
By 
T. Holzner (Mannheim) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
1: Dirty Harry

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish

2: Magnum Force

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian, Spanish
Dolby 2.0: Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish

3: The Enforcer

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish

4: Sudden Impact

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish

5: The Dead Pool

DolbyTrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Dolby 1.0: Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish,
Dolby 2.0: French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, French, Finnish, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You feeling lucky.......Punk., 19 Oct. 2009
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can without doubt say that Dirty Harry is one of my top 10 films of all time. I have a thing for films made in the 70's when filmmaking was at its greatest (in my opinion).

The film spawned 4 sequels over the years that seemed to slowly decline as each one spawned. However the thing that held them together was the fact that our anti hero Harry was in each and every one of them and we kept coming back to see the great man in action. Harry Callaghan was a character that could carry a film by itself (Like Charles Bronson in Death Wish, we just like seeing him shoot lowlifes don't we? and the actual film takes second stage to the character).

In this package you receive all five films with a few extras on each film. I am only interested in the extras on Dirty Harry itself and they are pretty good,

The film quality is pretty good but at times some grain is visible.

Overall if you like Dirty Harry and don't have the Blu Ray get this fantastic box set of all 5 films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Your Day & Purchase This Box Set, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dirty Harry Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Positive.
Clint Eastwood a cinematic icon, He defines the word cool.
Well written storys & great nailbiting action scenes.
There classic Clint.

Negative.
The Enforcer, As pacing is uneven & padded in middle part of the movie & the score doesn't go with the movies tone as this is the only movie in the series not scored by Lalo Schifrin.
Lack of extras on movies 2-5.

Trivia.
John Wayne & Frank Sinatra were both offered this role both turning it down before approaching Clint Eastwood who accepted.
"Go ahead make my day" is associated with the original film Dirty Harry when infact it's only spoken in Sudden Impact.
Liam Neeson & Jim Carrey appear in early roles in The Dead Pool.
Guns & Roses cameo in the funeral scene of Johnny Squares & later appear in background at the shipyard were Peter Swan is filming a movie so see if you can spot them.

Review.
These are classic detective movie's starring a cinematic icon Clint Eastwood as Inspector Harry Callahan a marvick cop who policing methods pushes people in authority noses out of joint.

In Dirty Harry, Harry is assigned to the Scorpio killer case a killer killing random victims in San Francisco.

There's the iconic line "Do I feel lucky", The cat & mouse foot chase with Scorpio & Harrys unauthorised policing methods bringing Scorpio in for him to then be released on legal technicalities.

The climax featuring Scorpio kidnapping a school bus of kids is a tense nail biting finale & ends with Harry shooting Scorpio dead & throwing his badge in the river quitting the police force.

My personal favourite is the second movie Magnum Force it is about a group of secret society vigilante police officers killing corrupt officals whom think there outside the law.

Harry is not assigned to the case as his maverick policing in not deemed professional by Lieutenant Briggs assigning Harry to survalience duty.

Could the 4 new rookies be involved in this vigilante killing force?,
David Soul(Starkey & Hutch) & the late Robert Ulrich(Vegas, Spencer for hire) star in early career roles.

Harrys friend is killed accidentally by the killers resulting in Harry investigating & conxlude the four rookies are the vigilante killers lead by Lieutenant Briggs.

Harrys is confronted by the killers asking them to join the gang but he declines knowing he will now be a threat to the vigilante killers his mailbox is wired but Harry has a inkling that something like that will happen & takes his mailbox apart finding a bomb inside.

Harry rings to tell his partner to be wary as he too is now a target but he ignores the phone going instead to his mailbox & is killed by a bomb in his mail box
The action climaxes in an abandoned shipyard were a unarmed Harry fights for survival against the armed killers.

This film delivers a interesting concept of morals, Right or Wrong for a vigilante squad take the law into there own hands.

Harrys final line in the movie sums that question up perfectly" A man's got to know his limitations".

The Enforcer is the weakest of the Dirty Harry movies about a freedom terrorist group who plot to kidnap the mayor & hold the city to ransom.

The death of Harrys partner by the gang brings about Harry tracking the gang down with his new female partner Inspector Kate Moore played by Tyne Daly(Cagney & Lacey).

The problem with this movie is it's uneven pace in the middle part of the movie as it lacks bite & without Lalo Schifrins score the new jazzy theme doesn't work to the movies beats.

Although the shootout at Alcatraz is well directed.

Sudden Impact which is directed by Clint Eastwood is about a famous artist who returns to her neighbourhood were her & her sister were raped resulting in her sister becoming in a vegitive state unable to now communicate, She takes matters into her own hands finding & killing the gang whom raped her sister & herself.
Harry getting to close to the mob & is transferred to the town until his maverick policing is blown over by the mob.

Harry comes across this case about the killings but the sheriff of the town takes a dislike to Garry & his investigating, What secrets is he keeping hidden could it have something to do with his brain damaged son involvement with a former gang?.

This is an improvement on the Enforcer yet not as good as the first 2 movies in the series although Clint Gets a new gun the Magnum auto mag & the climax at the fairground is excellent the silhouette of Harry in the darkness & Lalo schifrins score help this make this scene iconic that give you the goose bumps.

The Dead Pool the final film in the series focuses again on a serial killer killing celebrity's on a list called the dead pool a game were people pick celebrity's who are likely to die soon the winner being the person whos list has most celebrity deaths on it.

Inspector Callahan has now become somewhat a celebrity in the media eyes as of his high profile methods of cracking tough cases.

Harry is assigned to the case of the serial killings investigating the death of Rock star Johnny Squares(Jim Carrey in a early role) , Could film & music director Peter Swan(Liam Neeson)be involved in the murders?.

This final movies bookends the series well as it starts & ends with a serial killer plot.

The Dead Pool has some really decent action scenes check out the remote control car chase & classic one liners by Clint.

The dvds have excellent picture & sound quailty & Dirty Harrys a 2 dvd set featuring Documentary hosted by Robert Ulrich & also features interviews my most of the cast.

Magnum Force to The Dead Pool have very little just trailers & grainy documentarys that add very little substance.

This dvd set is worth getting as these films are Clint Eastwood at his iconic best so go ahead make your day & buy this dvd boxset.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blu ray to be proud of, 17 Nov. 2009
You can't be too careful buying Blu ray these days, as often they are purely a lazy money spinner and show no distinct improvement from the previous DVD version.

HOWEVER I am very pleased to say that this Dirty Harry Boxset has made the transition to Blu ray very well, picture and sound quality are both pretty impressive for films of this era. I had previously owned this boxset on VHS and DVD, but am certainly glad I pushed the boat out for the Blu ray version and would advise any other Dirty Harry fans to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eastwood at his best!, 14 July 2008
By 
MSL73 (Northampton,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having owned the original Dirty Harry DVD collection which was released back in 2002,I was looking forward to this all new release and I was not dissapointed all of the original films have been given another re-master,not just the picture but also the sound has been given the dolby 5.1 remaster as well and if you have a surround sound system then eastwoods 44 magnum sounds just like the real thing!!.

As well as the original extras there is a host of new extras and commentarys plus the addition of a small hardback book,production notes,Callaghans police ID badge! and also a poster and limited edition art cards complete the extras,sadly though no .44 Magnum included!!!.

All in all Warner have done a excellent job of both the boxset,extras and also the re-master of the sound and picture of the Dirty Harry films and at under £29 then you realy cant go wrong.

This boxset is a must for not just Dirty Harry fans but Clint Eastwood fans as well.

You wont be dissapointed with your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dirty Harry Collection, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this collection in blue ray as an upgrade. I have been upgrading my favorite movies from my film library in blue ray if I can find a bargain. This Dirty Harry Collection was a real bargain in amazon.co.uk in british sterling pounds compared with US dollars in the amazon.com here in the US & images look brighter. The only flaw found is that these films are from the early 70's, the footage wasn't cleaned the way it was supposed to & shows dust particles in the master film as well as lines in some of the frames. I saw this too in the earlier James Bond films from the 60's as well. When you hear the "Restored & Re-Mastered" let the buyer beware(Caveat Emptor). Many of these old films are remasterd but footage is no really cleaned like they did with the Film "Cleopatra". It is one of a handful of old films of 60's & early 70's that did an outstanding job with the restoration. I know that if the "Criterion" people put their hands on the "Dirty Harry" collection they too will do an outstanding job with these films. I give the 5 stars because these are some of my favorite films & look better in blue ray than on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any CLint fan!, 19 Feb. 2015
By 
E. Reay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can without doubt say that Dirty Harry is one of my top 10 films of all time. I have a thing for films made in the 70's when filmmaking was at its greatest (in my opinion).

The film spawned 4 sequels over the years that seemed to slowly decline as each one spawned. However the thing that held them together was the fact that our anti hero Harry was in each and every one of them and we kept coming back to see the great man in action. Harry Callaghan was a character that could carry a film by itself (Like Charles Bronson in Death Wish, we just like seeing him shoot lowlifes don't we? and the actual film takes second stage to the character).

In this package you receive all five films with a few extras on each film. I am only interested in the extras on Dirty Harry itself and they are pretty good,

The film quality is pretty good but at times some grain is visible.

Overall if you like Dirty Harry and don't have the Blu Ray get this fantastic box set of all 5 films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Harry Cleaned Up, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
John Wilfers (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
There's only one word to describe this boxset - gorgeous. The care that has been put into putting it together is phenomenal. For a start, all five Dirty Harry movies have been newly remastered and they look and sound brand spanking new (particularly Sudden Impact which gains new life).

Then there are the extra items. You get a replica of Dirty Harry's police badge (any kid who ever saw a Dirty Harry movie in the 70s or 80s dreamed of holding Harry's badge and throwing it away like he did at the end of the first movie.) There's a poster tracking how the Scorpio killer "bounces" Harry around San Francisco. There are mini-replicas of memos from pre-production including ones saying how Frank Sinatra is interested in playing Harry. There are lobby cards of the Dirty Harry movie posters, a bonus disc featuring a documentary called "Out of the Shadows" and a small book with lots of great photos from the five movies. There are also short documentaries on the making of each movie.

This one is for hardcore fans who love the Dirty Harry movies. I couldn't wait to get my hands on this and I was not disappointed when I eventually did. This boxset has been deleted now because of a row between the distributors and the Director's Guild of America, which is a shame as this is the best DVD boxset I've ever come across. If you see one for sale, pounce on it before it disappears forever. Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Collection, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful collection that should be on the best ten for the year, Now this will have you going all over the place, as they are different stories and the same cop, now the name tells you that someone doesn't play by the rules. Now that will tell you not to break the law and behave and these silly baddies are going to get more than they bargain for. I haven't watched all of them yet but after a couple I have seen I know I won't be disappointed , Action is fierce and spot on and with suspense that is unreal as to all of Clint Eastwood movies. Story is about a cop and some baddies that says it all. A masterpiece collection and with fantastic actors and great stories in all you can't go wrong if you enjoy some great shows from the past without all the tech included these are perfect. I rated this collection A grade plus for the ideas and entertainment throughout from beginning to end been fully entertained not missing a single beat, popcorn and relaxation time so gather up the movies with feet up, turn on the television and get ready for a wonderful night of full on action at a fast pace to keep you amused for hours. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirty Harry Collection [DVD] [2009]
Dirty Harry Collection [DVD] [2009] by Buddy van Horn (DVD - 2009)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews