Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Haunting
The Haunting in Connecticut is a film that has a lot of elements that have all been explored before in countless other horror films. But despite its familiar themes it has a unique perspective that gives it a great credibility as a film.
This film is very well produced and directed. It has a chilling and disturbing quality.
There are many things in the film...
Published on 2 Mar. 2011 by Marcia

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amityville style haunted house thriller
There sure aren't any plot surprises in this been-there, done-that haunted house thriller. Having said that, the jumps are done effectively enough, and in a dark room with surround sound and a big screen, I found it certainly creepy enough.
Plot-wise.. a family have to move into a house, for their cancer stricken son to be near the hospital where he is being...
Published on 20 Sept. 2009 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amityville style haunted house thriller, 20 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There sure aren't any plot surprises in this been-there, done-that haunted house thriller. Having said that, the jumps are done effectively enough, and in a dark room with surround sound and a big screen, I found it certainly creepy enough.
Plot-wise.. a family have to move into a house, for their cancer stricken son to be near the hospital where he is being treated. However, it is an ex funeral home, and their son starts to see things... So far, so Amityville. The cast are given just enough fleshing out to be interesting, and if there is something routine about the story, there is also something satisfying about old fashioned shocks instead of non-stop torture as seems to now be de rigeur in horror movies. There is a fair bit of cheap shocks using flash-cuts accompanied by dramatic chords, but for the most part this has been fairly well crafted with a decent score, served well by the blu-ray format. It just won't win any awards for originality. The `based-on-a-true-story' tag is given some credence by an interesting documentary accompanying the movie, which interviews most of the people portrayed in the movie. Interesting, because it is not one sided, showing enough naysayers to leave you genually wondering what was true and what was not.
In short, unoriginal, but old-fashioned and effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Haunting, 2 Mar. 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [DVD] (DVD)
The Haunting in Connecticut is a film that has a lot of elements that have all been explored before in countless other horror films. But despite its familiar themes it has a unique perspective that gives it a great credibility as a film.
This film is very well produced and directed. It has a chilling and disturbing quality.
There are many things in the film that have all been done before, but the thing that sets this film apart from the other films is that it is supposed to be based on true events. I think the key here is that it is "based on" rather than any exact account of the events. If the events depicted in the film actually happened then it is a chilling account of that story. And if it is all a lie or a part truth then it still is interesting to see a creepy story from non professional story writers.
I feel that the basic story is more than likely true in so much that the people involved actually believe that they lived in a haunted house with a lot of disturbing things going on. I also suspect that there is a bit of added sensationalist exaggeration going on in the form of artistic licence to amplify the shocks and to push the film script in line with other horror films.
I found this to be an interesting and worth while film release and the DVD has some interesting bonus features that make the whole package a good product.
The bonus features include a two part documentary about the real events as told by the real people that claim that this is a true story. Also there is a "making of" feature and a documentary about the history of post-mortem photography. There is another feature about the view point of a psychic and there is also some deleted scenes.
For a horror film with a twist this is a good film and is easily worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars much better than I expected, 3 Nov. 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [DVD] (DVD)
This is a haunted house film, in the lines of The Amityville Horror in more ways than one.

Here, teenager Matt Campbell (Kyle Gallner - Red [2008] [DVD]) has been accepted onto an experimental cancer treatment trial in Connecticut. The treatment centre is several hours each way from where they live, so his mother (Sara) decides to get a house nearer the treatment centre. Sara (Virginia Madsen) obviously hasn't heard the old saying that "if something is too good to be true, then it probably is", as it is a nice large house and should have been well out of her range.

Matt immediately starts to see strange things and these are put down to hallucinations caused by the treatment, until others in the house start to experiencing similar things.

As with Amityville this film is said to be based on a true story - however, I already know much of the story and this film may have been inspired by the true story, but it certainly doesn't stick to it.

The family's story is now being debunked and their case (another similarity with Amityville and the Lutz family). This family's story isn't helped by the fact that the mother's story keeps changing - first she says she didn't know it was a funeral parlour then she says she did. The house rental was cheap (too cheap) didn't she ask why? Well, again, she changes her story - says she was desperate and needed the house quickly so she didn't ask, then changes this to she did ask but was told that it was because the property needed work, then she says she asked and was told that the property had been a funeral parlour. These are only two out of a string of events that the mother's story changes on.

Claims that the son "Matt" didn't have cancer but was, in fact, a drug addict are false. The son did have cancer and it was believed to be terminal, which is why he was put on the experimental treatment. According to the records, in all the blood tests done while the son was having his treatment "illegal" drugs were never found. However, it is true that Matt was committed to an asylum by the mother and step-father, this was long before they decided that the house was haunted. Matt continued with his treatment and made a full recovery - he had no involvement with the making of film.

Out of the cast there are several standout performances - Kyle Gallner shines as Matt, his portrayal of the haunted cancer sufferer was a wonderful piece of acting. Also notable are Erik J Berg (Jonah), Elias Koteas who plays Reverend Popescu (Traffic - Series 1 [DVD], Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles - the Movie [DVD] [1990]) and Virginia Madsen (Sara).

It's not the best haunting film out there, but it's not bad.

According to the film's Director there more frightening scenes were removed at the demand of the film studio so the film could get a 15 certificated. He hopes to release a full version of the film sometime in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy Terrifying True Story., 27 July 2009
By 
Seeing the trailer of The Haunting in Connecticut promised to be a truely terrifiying experenice, it had to be seen to be believed so I rented it and watched it last night (not alone, thank goodness!). Based on real events, a young family moves in a house near to the hosptail so they can take their sick son to have treatment there. But he soon sees things he shouldn't see, haunting figures and horrifying actions, at first his family dosen't believe him until the house truely delivers it's shocking secrets. This film is very creppy, the scares are constant and make you jump in places. The disturbing images are frighting to see, I warn you now put something nice and funny on afterwards as it could lead to nightmares. I didn't really know the cast but they proivded good enough pefomances for you to feel sorry for and root for them to be saved from the evil within. I highly recommened this horror to be watched on Blu-Ray, the sound is awesome especially a tense worthy scene. Worth seeing for a Saturday or Sunday night entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than Expected, 12 July 2013
This is quite an interesting film and much better than expected from trailers and advertising. Some of the scares in the first half are a little weak, a shadowy reflection in the mirror and a sudden jolt in the music. However, this is quickly dropped for much more disturbing imagery and real psychological scares that get under the skin and unnerve you.
It has elements of Amityville Horror, The Orphanage and many other haunted house stories.
What makes this film most interesting is that the characters are really well developed especially the protagonists of the mother and son. The teenage son has cancer and his closeness to death is what allows him to see the ghosts. Most films would treat it as a plot device and leave it there but this film goes into like it is a family drama. It explores the idea that the teenage son is uncomfortable around his family and he doesn't want them to seem him sick. It explores the huge pressures and worries it puts on the family. It is very interesting and well done and if you took all the horror elements out you would still have a really solid family drama. This attention to character is something often missing from a lot of poor horror films. This has the effect that because the characters are well developed we care about them more and therefore we feel their fear of the evil spirits and in turn the film is scarier. It is a really well shot, very well acted, well written movie with a great location.
On the special features is a excellent 10 minute mini-doc on funeral photography that is really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even trashy enough to be fun, 6 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [DVD] (DVD)
I was drawn to this by the presence of Virginia Madsen and Elias Koteas in the cast, interesting actors who, while they certainly don't guarantee a good film, at least suggested that the movie might have something slightly off-centre to recommend it. Well, more fool me. I was left mystified why either of them signed up for this, but Madsen in particular, who is given almost nothing to do in the "concerned Mom" role and indeed is off-screen for much of the middle of the film. I guessed from the description that this would be in the Amityville vein, and would have been happy with a load of random weirdness being thrown at the central family as long as 1) that weirdness was imagined in interesting, visually-inventive ways and 2) it had some understanding of horror rhythms: how to build a sense of tension with deceptive momemts of respite among ever-increasing crescendos of scariness. "The Haunting in Connecticut" fails to show any interest in these cinematic techniques. There are seemingly endless glimpses of the secret past of the house which is then all explained verbally (by Koteas's dying priest) anyway: but worse than this is the film-makers' inability to ever find their own memorable or interesting visual moments - I kid you not, one of the key "terror" sequences is a load of doors banging open and shut. By themselves. For about ten minutes.

I should probably stop now, but just in case you still have some residual interest in wasting your time with this film: there is barely a line of dialogue which couldn't have been lifted from a dozen other movies, and the film as a whole manages the impressive feat of being confused, unoriginal and dull all at the same time. Far more interesting is the two-part documentary, in the extras, which interviews several members of the real family on whose "true events" this is based (all of whom seem to live in semi-darkened rooms with a lot of velvet), as well as their sceptical neighbours and the comedy "demonologists" who were called into the case. If the film-makers had actually stuck more closely to the reported events - at least as we hear about them here - rather than coming up with an over-egged story of teenage boy mediums and eyelidectomies, they would probably have made a better movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good movie, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [DVD] (DVD)
The Haunting In Connecticut is a pretty good movie. It's nothing special or unique but it's entertaining and has it's creepy/scary moments. The acting and storyline and everything is pretty good too. This is a good horror movie for like a sleepover or party to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mildly scary in Connecticut, 23 April 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This wasn't the greatest horror ever but neither was it the worst. The first part of the film was pretty flat and held nothing new, but eventually it found its stride.

There was some odd editing and directional choices in the first half, but eventually, the the story starts to unfold we move from 'suggested' spookiness (shadows and the cliched glimpses of people in mirrors, to some quite genuinely cool make up, props and effects.

The acting was mixed bag too - with some good performances and some not so great ones. The casting, I felt was off too. Overall, the fact that this was based on a true story and the final stages of the film saved this from being a complete dud.

It was an OK watch - but don't expect to be terrified. The scariest thing on this Bluray, I thought, was in the extras. There's an interview with the real life mum and to me she looked like the devil incarnate. She freaked me out much more than the film and I had to switch her off after 10 seconds :-/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful....absolutely awful, 17 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [DVD] (DVD)
Have to agree with the other reviewers who gave this one star. It is really is awful and cast dreadful. I lost interest after 20 mins.
As an avid horror fan, I thought this film would have been on par with REC, The exorcist, The others etc but it clearly was not.

The kid was extremely annoying, the mother boring and even the house did not look evil. Apart from a few jumpy scenes, this film had nothing.

I am normally one not to give bad reviews but this film deserves to be given -5 stars. Please keep away, truly awful and a waste of life watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor reviews a little harsh?, 15 May 2011
By 
C. Ottewell (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best horror film I've ever seen to be fair but a good night's entertainment for £3. I've certainly seen a lot worse with better ratings and don't fully understand the "no scares, didn't make us jump" comments. Maybe they're just trying to look tough? OK so you could say it's a rip off of "Amityville Horror" but on that basis you could argue that any film with a possession in is a rip off of the Exorcist. I think it's worth 3 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Haunting In Connecticut [DVD]
The Haunting In Connecticut [DVD] by Peter Cornwell (DVD - 2009)
£3.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews