Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy Terrifying True Story.
Seeing the trailer of The Haunting in Connecticut promised to be a truely terrifiying experenice, it had to be seen to be believed so I rented it and watched it last night (not alone, thank goodness!). Based on real events, a young family moves in a house near to the hosptail so they can take their sick son to have treatment there. But he soon sees things he shouldn't...
Published on 27 July 2009 by Ms. J. F. Gilby

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amityville style haunted house thriller
There sure aren't any plot surprises in this been-there, done-that haunted house thriller. Having said that, the jumps are done effectively enough, and in a dark room with surround sound and a big screen, I found it certainly creepy enough.
Plot-wise.. a family have to move into a house, for their cancer stricken son to be near the hospital where he is being...
Published on 20 Sep 2009 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amityville style haunted house thriller, 20 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There sure aren't any plot surprises in this been-there, done-that haunted house thriller. Having said that, the jumps are done effectively enough, and in a dark room with surround sound and a big screen, I found it certainly creepy enough.
Plot-wise.. a family have to move into a house, for their cancer stricken son to be near the hospital where he is being treated. However, it is an ex funeral home, and their son starts to see things... So far, so Amityville. The cast are given just enough fleshing out to be interesting, and if there is something routine about the story, there is also something satisfying about old fashioned shocks instead of non-stop torture as seems to now be de rigeur in horror movies. There is a fair bit of cheap shocks using flash-cuts accompanied by dramatic chords, but for the most part this has been fairly well crafted with a decent score, served well by the blu-ray format. It just won't win any awards for originality. The `based-on-a-true-story' tag is given some credence by an interesting documentary accompanying the movie, which interviews most of the people portrayed in the movie. Interesting, because it is not one sided, showing enough naysayers to leave you genually wondering what was true and what was not.
In short, unoriginal, but old-fashioned and effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy Terrifying True Story., 27 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Seeing the trailer of The Haunting in Connecticut promised to be a truely terrifiying experenice, it had to be seen to be believed so I rented it and watched it last night (not alone, thank goodness!). Based on real events, a young family moves in a house near to the hosptail so they can take their sick son to have treatment there. But he soon sees things he shouldn't see, haunting figures and horrifying actions, at first his family dosen't believe him until the house truely delivers it's shocking secrets. This film is very creppy, the scares are constant and make you jump in places. The disturbing images are frighting to see, I warn you now put something nice and funny on afterwards as it could lead to nightmares. I didn't really know the cast but they proivded good enough pefomances for you to feel sorry for and root for them to be saved from the evil within. I highly recommened this horror to be watched on Blu-Ray, the sound is awesome especially a tense worthy scene. Worth seeing for a Saturday or Sunday night entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Haunting, 2 Mar 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Haunting in Connecticut is a film that has a lot of elements that have all been explored before in countless other horror films. But despite its familiar themes it has a unique perspective that gives it a great credibility as a film.
This film is very well produced and directed. It has a chilling and disturbing quality.
There are many things in the film that have all been done before, but the thing that sets this film apart from the other films is that it is supposed to be based on true events. I think the key here is that it is "based on" rather than any exact account of the events. If the events depicted in the film actually happened then it is a chilling account of that story. And if it is all a lie or a part truth then it still is interesting to see a creepy story from non professional story writers.
I feel that the basic story is more than likely true in so much that the people involved actually believe that they lived in a haunted house with a lot of disturbing things going on. I also suspect that there is a bit of added sensationalist exaggeration going on in the form of artistic licence to amplify the shocks and to push the film script in line with other horror films.
I found this to be an interesting and worth while film release and the DVD has some interesting bonus features that make the whole package a good product.
The bonus features include a two part documentary about the real events as told by the real people that claim that this is a true story. Also there is a "making of" feature and a documentary about the history of post-mortem photography. There is another feature about the view point of a psychic and there is also some deleted scenes.
For a horror film with a twist this is a good film and is easily worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
many thanks for my dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars real good stuff!, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say it about this film-it has all the stuff that real horror films are missing! I like films like these-ghost films are always a good way to scare You! I am a ghost fan myself,as these leave anything to the imagination-if You have a vivid imagination,anything is possible! As they have made a sequel tho this film,it guarantees that there are alot of fans who like to be scared!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good purchase, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not a bad film better than a lot of the material on the television at present..
not scary but does have a story line has some good material in film is worth watching..
good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly good, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant film based on a true story. Having watched it on tv, it was a film I really had to add to my collection. A good price delivered on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tense film, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We love horrors and would definitely recommend this to any horror fans out there. There are some brilliant jumpy parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Blue Ray quality, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunting In Connecticut [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Film is OK, usual plot but OK. However, the Blue Ray was cut from a very poor quality master - I would go so far as to say barely DVD quality image. It is very grainy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Haunting In Connecticut [Blu-ray]
The Haunting In Connecticut [Blu-ray] by John B. Lowe (Blu-ray - 2009)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews