Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, superficial film
I am a self-confessed Zac Efron fangirl but even I've got to admit that when it comes to films and Efron, it's not his acting skills I am most impressed with, but rather his looks. So imagine my surprise while watching this film to discover that he can in fact act (and act very well).

The film's plot will not be winning any awards for originality - Mike...
Published on 30 Sept. 2009 by Marly Z

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent coming of age (again) comedy
The plot is straight forward - Mike (well played by Matthew Perry) is at a mid-life crisis point, about to get divorced. Then with minimal expanation he is back in his 17 year old body, back at school and learning some predictable life lessons.

It reasonably well done, played mostly for laughs (not really a romcom, not much romance) and perhaps surprisingly...
Published on 12 Nov. 2011 by Lendrick


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, superficial film, 30 Sept. 2009
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
I am a self-confessed Zac Efron fangirl but even I've got to admit that when it comes to films and Efron, it's not his acting skills I am most impressed with, but rather his looks. So imagine my surprise while watching this film to discover that he can in fact act (and act very well).

The film's plot will not be winning any awards for originality - Mike O'Donnell was the school's star basketball player when he was 17 (played by Efron) and heading for big things, when Scarlett, his girlfriend, tells him she's pregnant. At that point Mike has to make a decision that will change the rest of his life - choose basketball and have the great future ahead of him, or give it all up and become a family man, taking care of Scarlett and the baby. He picks the later option, and fast forward 20 years Mike (now played by Matthew Perry) is in the midst of a divorce from Scarlett, alienated from his two children, stuck in a dead end job, and crashing at his mates house since Scarlett chucked him out and he doesn't have enough money to find his own place to stay. All the dreams he once could have achieved have dissappeared, and Mike is feeling pretty sorry for himself and angry at how his life turned out - until a chance meeting with a janitor and a stormy night by a bridge transform Mike into his 17 year old self again.

The film isn't exactly Oscar worthy, but I've got to admit having a bit of a weak spot for this kind of superficial teen movie (10 Things I Hate About You, Twilight etc) - it's easy, light fun, and the film is sure as hell enjoyable to watch if you let go of your cynicisms and grudges against Efron and high school films in general. As I've already said, Efron's acting is infact very impressive, Matthew Perry, Thomas Lennon, Hunter Parish and Michelle Trachtenberg are also mention-worthy, the script is funny though forgettable - it's the type of thing to not take too seriously but enjoy for what it is.

I'd definately recommend anyone under the age of 25 to see this film and to just enjoy it. I'm looking forward to seeing it again when the DVD comes out already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zac's best performance to date!, 12 Aug. 2009
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
I really did enjoy this film; I thought it was a fresh take on an overdone plot. It is the performances in this film that set it apart from others of the same genre. Zac Efron proves he is not just a pretty face that sings and dances and brings life to his character, his performance is helped along by the brilliant performance of Tom Lennon who is so funny in his role of Ned.
The only problem I have with this version of the DVD is that it does not contain the same amount of special features as its blu-ray counter part which I found highly disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., 6 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
Zac Efron (almost) sheds his High School Musical image with a film that appeals to an older audience rather than to a 'tween' one.

There are great similarities between '17 Again' and films such as Big and 13 Going On 30, except in this case, the main character Mike O'Donnell travels backwards in time and is allowed to relive the teenage section of his life, but in the current time period.

Overall the film was easy to watch, fairly well acted, comical at times (particularly the interaction with supporting actor Thomas Lennon) and much more grown up than expected - appealing not just to Efron fans but to parents with kids too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually not bad, 1 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
I actually enjoyed this film. I've never been a fan of Zac Efron but thought I'd buy this film on the premise that it looked fairly interesting and amusing. It is different from the other gender/age/body swap films, in that it does not seem really ridiculous and over the top. Zac Efron is actually very good in this film, and there are some very funny moments with him (as his older self in the younger selfs body) interacting with the other teens in the film. Ned (Thomas Lennon) also provides a lot of comedy, in the secondary story line. It is worth mentioning as well that Matthew Perry is great as the older Mike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think ...., 26 Aug. 2009
By 
C. Jose "CJv2" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
Only a quick one and not really a review as such.

I was, not "forced", but kind of bullied into watching this by my Girlfriend. To be fair I make her watch a lot of my "arty" subtitled films or numerous Football Matches on the Tele, so I figured it was only fair I at least do her the honour of watching what I thought would be a "Chick Flick"

It's not, it's actually suprisingly good, the fella who plays Efron's best mate is hillarious, one or two real belly laughs, which again, caught me slightly off guard.

It is predicatable in places, it is dumb, but it's also really easy to watch and you can't help but really actually like all the characters in it.

Well worth a go, just try not to let on to your other half that you enjoyed it or she'll having you watching "PS I love you" in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appeals to all ages, 9 Aug. 2009
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
This film gave much more than i had anticipated. Thinking of more high school cheese and all that, well the film is more deep. Zac efron did some good and convincing acting in a difficult role. You will really notice this when compared old Matt's acting(chandler from friends)-dont worry its short! Ned (thomas lennon)was particularly hilarious also.

the story tells of Matt, a middleaged man with a troublesome relationship with his wife and 2 teen kids, on the verge of losing everything. His life, job and family is heading down a bad track as he wonders what "could have been" if his life had taken a different path. Reminded me somewhat of the whole "i could have been a professional footballer but i played with the big kids and injured my leg!" which seems to have affected a freakishly large percentage of the male uk population.

Anyway, his body becomes "17 again" so he can live out this dream. However Dad soon learns that instead of wollowing in self pity he is at risk of losing the best things that ever happened to him. Matt realises he took the right path, however crossroads have appeared for the family he cares so much for. Can he help them to choose the right path...?

As far as similar movies go:
both 13 going on 30 and big were opposite age switches but as 13.. spent most of the time with the character oohing and ahhing at random signs of adulthood id say 17 again was closer to Big is terms of a great film.

I'd say its still a "teen" film but went further than showing the extent of zac efron's hotness!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a classic transformation story. Are you now or have you ever been a Norse God, Vampire, or Time Traveling Cyborg?, 13 Jun. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
Another in what is a long line of body swap comedies, 17 Again is fun, frothy and full of warmth; just like all the other ones really! There's nothing new here, it's the same old format as a grown up Mike O'Donnell (Matthew Perry) rues how his life has grown to miserable proportions but magically gets to be a high-schooler again and grasp that second chance. Back in his 17 year old bod (Zac Efron looking like a young Rob Lowe), Mike oversees the trials and tribulations of his two kids who attend the same school, whilst also forming a "special" bond with his future wife Scarlet (Leslie Mann) who is going to divorce him! Cue much high-school pranks, perils and near misses and a few worthy messages in the narrative.

Tailored towards a certain demographic with the casting of Efron, who is very likable and a worthy lead here, the film thankfully doesn't lack for good performances elsewhere. Both Mann and Melora Hardin as the hot principal make their roles stand out, while Thomas Lennon as Mike's uber rich man child buddy steals the movie. It's rich in clichés of the formula and the predictability of outcome robs us of a surprise, but these are not actually irritants, for this is a very enjoyable movie. One where the teens hot for Zac can stare lovingly, and one where the adults can nod in knowing agreement at some plot dynamics. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent coming of age (again) comedy, 12 Nov. 2011
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
The plot is straight forward - Mike (well played by Matthew Perry) is at a mid-life crisis point, about to get divorced. Then with minimal expanation he is back in his 17 year old body, back at school and learning some predictable life lessons.

It reasonably well done, played mostly for laughs (not really a romcom, not much romance) and perhaps surprisingly for a Zac Efron vehicle, may play better to the adults than the kids. But the script isn't quite smart enough to make the most of the situation, and Efron never really convinces that there is a 37 year old brain in the buff body.

Still an enjoyable way to pass an evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought, 1 Sept. 2009
By 
W.Y. (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
I was sceptical at first when reading all the good reviews. But after watching it myself, I thought it was much better than an average teen flick.
It definitely is the sort of film that is catered towards adults as well as teenagers. My mum thoroughly enjoyed this, which she didnt think she would as this movie is advertised in a way that appeals to the Disney HSM/Zac Efron fans.
Its got its funny moments yet is also moving and thoughtful at times.

Zac Efron came as a big surprise to me. Ive never rated him much as his fame from High School Musical seemed more fangirl obsession rather than acting talent.
Yet he pulled off this hilarious role as a middle aged man back in his 17yr old body and he was so convincing. One of his very best scenes involved him bursting into the courtroom to make a confessions to his wife. It was such heartfelt, emotional acting potrayed through his eyes.

Overall, a very enjoyable movie, which appeals to both adults and kids alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking, 24 Mar. 2012
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 17 Again [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for my niece for her birthday and sat and watched with her, i think i enjoyed it more than she did lol

Zac Efron is super hot as she would say and she loved it, i laughed at some of the more adult moments which she didn't understand but that's where i think its really good, as both younger and older can watch it and find it funny which it really is.

Plus its 3 quid, what a bargain !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

17 Again [DVD]
17 Again [DVD] by Burr Steers (DVD - 2009)
£3.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews