Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories
There are some films that just take you out of yourself and transport you back to 'the good old days'. This is certainly one of those and as a bonus it's well produced, cast, acted and is very funny from start to finish. A great buy that I will watch time and time again.
Published on 14 Sep 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memories of the 1960s
Before popular music was played on the BBC you had to tune into Radio Luxembourg or Radio Caroline to get contemporary music and this film brings back good memories of what life was like before the BBC saw sense and gave the majority of the listeners what they wanted. The film is brilliant for the most part but does seem to loose direction towards the end but is worth...
Published 5 months ago by David H J Ashdown


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 14 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
There are some films that just take you out of yourself and transport you back to 'the good old days'. This is certainly one of those and as a bonus it's well produced, cast, acted and is very funny from start to finish. A great buy that I will watch time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boat that Rocked or the fictional Radio Caroline?, 19 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
This film is a must see if you have recollections of the pirate radio era. It conjures up the spirit of the time, if you are young then it's a good fun film which will give some idea of what brought about the sixties radio revolution in the UK. Great sixties rock music features throughout.
There are parallels with events that happened to Radio Caroline. The Boat That Rocked [DVD] [2009]
In addition to the main feature there are some very humorous director's cuts which deserve watching -they just couldn't allow the screen time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memories of the 1960s, 14 Feb 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Before popular music was played on the BBC you had to tune into Radio Luxembourg or Radio Caroline to get contemporary music and this film brings back good memories of what life was like before the BBC saw sense and gave the majority of the listeners what they wanted. The film is brilliant for the most part but does seem to loose direction towards the end but is worth watching if for no other reason than pure nostalgia ( If you're over 60 ). And Bill Nighy and Kenneth Branagh are excellent as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Excellent film, so so funny. Great music. Will be watching it again and again.
Takes us both back so many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wished there be more movies like ''The Boat That Rocked'', 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In North America, the movie was re-titled: ''Pirate Radio'' & a good 20 minutes was cut off. Now this edition (region free) brings you the full movie (plus deleted scenes). A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Boat That Rocked - Failed to rock my boat..., 16 Dec 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I had really looked forward to this film -a great director, a superb cast and a topic that gives opportunities for a great story and a great soundtrack. Unfortunately it just didn't work out for me.

Richard Curtis follows a similar format to his superb `Love Actually', with the film following the stories of a series of disparate characters. And herein lies the main problem of the film. None of the characters are really likeable, and none of the story lines are particularly strong, so there is nothing to really draw the viewer in. We are left with a series of scenes of people we don't particularly care for in situations and getting up to antics that are all, frankly, embarrassing to watch. And finally none of it ties together nicely. The film cannot decide what it is trying to be, social history, comedy or twee romance, and in the end fails to be anything much.

That's not to say there are no good points - the cast are excellent and do their best with the material given to them, especially the ever reliable Kenneth Brannagh and Bill Nighy. Occasionally the script manages to shine and there are a few genuine laughs and moving scenes. But not really enough to carry it and lift it to the heights that the hype promised.

The real plus side is the excellent soundtrack, but let's be honest with the classic material available for putting a soundtrack together it was guaranteed to be excellent.

All in all two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstandingly good !, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
This film is wonderful. I was given it for a Christmas present and it has been played regularly ever since.
As a dramatised history of Pirate Radio this is superb, the characters are all to various degrees, 'Mad,Bad,and dangerous to know,' but given the opportunity wouldnt you want to be part of that scene?
The sound track is brilliant, and offered up some lovely unknown tracks which added to the enjoyment.
Bill Nighy turns in a cracking performance and the Count was probably the best of a brilliant cast. Kenneth Branagh was suitably poisonous and must have enjoyed doing this role.
I also saw him in the role of Heydrich in the HBO film,Conspiracy, and comparing him in both films, Im not sure if he was nastier as the deputy commander of the SS in Conspiracy or as a Government minister in The Boat that rocked.
All in all well worth watching, but leave it just as it is, dont make a sequel as what would be the point, this has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boat That Rocked, 2 May 2009
By 
E. Ward "'emmagleb'" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Are you sitting comfortably...? Then I'll begin...

The Boat That Rocked is an understated mix of music and cinemography, which (as a film lover and music lover) completely rocked my evening. The characters are a believably ecclectic group, headed by Quentin (Bill Nighy), living as a group of pirate radio DJs aboard the Radio Rock boat, somewhere in the North Sea. The Count (Philip Seymour Hoffman), Gavin (Rhys Ifans) and Dave (Nick Frost) are the other main DJs, supported by a plethora of other shows which run 24 hours a day. Without ruining the plot, the film follows the lives of this bunch, with the usual antics that result from a group of men living together in group isolation.

There were two things I loved the most about this film. The first was that the filming methods used made me feel like I was on board taking part, rather than an outsider looking in. This really took the audience into the centre of when the characters were living through, and made the film so much more believable and *real*. The second thing was the music - I've grown up being fed healthy doses of Radio 2 and dispite only being 24 I recognised and could appreciate every song I heard. And it made me feel so darned patriotic, knowing that it was BRITISH music and BRITISH pirate radio stations such as Radio Rock that made todays radio what it is. Just imagine what radio could be like now without the influence of 1960s rock, and then bring in the realisation that without Johnnie Walker, John Peel et al, it wouldn't be what we hear today. Its interesting to know that it was only the introduction of BBCs Radio 1 in 1967 that finally brought pirate stations to their knees, yet until then it was only in the hands of the priates, the actions of which are immortalised in this film. You gotta love it!!

This is a fantastic film, I thoroughly enjoyed every second. It could be accused of being a little stretched in places, but the music easily made up for the maybe three occasions where I felt this. It is hilariously funny, especially given the cast, and is a fantastic tribute to the pirate DJs and their influence on popular radio. Top notch, one of the best I've seen in a while, and thoroughly recommended :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films ever!, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I sat down, made to watch this film by my father in law. I did not expect to like it as our tastes are very different, but unexpectedly this is one of the best films I've seen!
The only thing I can say as a gripe is that they titled it in the UK a stupid name. In the states it is called 'Pirate Radio' which is by far a better name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant story by Richard Curtis!, 5 Mar 2010
By 
Karl Huddleston "A/V Nut" (Provo, Utah) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I live in the US but ordered this from the UK site because the UK version puts back about 20-25 minutes of the film that are just priceless! They stupidly changed the title of the movie in the US to "Pirate Radio". The original title is quite obviously more clever and appropriate. I was born in 1964 (In N. Ireland!) and so all of this was happening while I was in diapers but the soundtrack is still sublime! The acting is brilliant - once again each actor perfectly cast as with Curtis' other films (Love Actually and 4 Weddings and a Funeral).

The deleted scenes are hilarious and almost constitute another mini movie unto itself! I hope one of these days Curtis just says to hell with time constraints and just throws everything into the main movie. His films are so good that no one would notice if they are 3 and half hours long.... you completely enjoy hanging out with his characters.

If you've loved Curtis' other movies you'll love this one - and if you even remotely love the music from the 60's, the sampling in this movie is brilliant.

If you don't buy this, it will be a "spectacular mistake" - to quote Billy Nighy's character at the beginning.

By the way, for anyone worried about region coding - this disc played just fine in my region 1 player here in the US.

-Karl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009)
The Boat That Rocked [DVD] (2009) by Richard Curtis (DVD - 2009)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews