Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAMB STILL STANDS UP
A curious one this; a mass of contradictions. A sprawling, pompous prog-rock concept album packed with taught, snappy tunes. A showcase for the virtuoso musicianship of this most British of progressive bands, but featuring some of the most awesomely tight ensemble playing you will hear this side of a Bartok string quartet. This was the sort of music that punk rock was...
Published on 11 Sep 2002 by J. C. Bailey

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great album but really bad remix
I'm a big a fan of Peter Gabriel era Genesis and this album ranks as one of my all time favourites by ANY band not just by Genesis but this edition has pretty much got me fuming because of what has been done to my beloved.

I own the vinyl and CD copies from way back and I've listened to this album so many times in the past you just end up knowing every part of...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by Jimbo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAMB STILL STANDS UP, 11 Sep 2002
By 
J. C. Bailey (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A curious one this; a mass of contradictions. A sprawling, pompous prog-rock concept album packed with taught, snappy tunes. A showcase for the virtuoso musicianship of this most British of progressive bands, but featuring some of the most awesomely tight ensemble playing you will hear this side of a Bartok string quartet. This was the sort of music that punk rock was invented as an antidote for, and yet its obession with the phenomenology of inner city street life was two decades ahead of its time (rap is still going down the same graffiti-strewn alley today).
The story behind the stylish, surrealistic lyrics is that of Rael, a young Puerto Rican graffiti artist on the streets of New York, who finds himself catapulted into a symbolic underworld (a sort of Jungian Hades) where the meaning or possibly the meaningless of his former street life is played out in a series of surreal cameos involving a cloning (The Grand Parade of Lifeless Packaging), religion (Carpet Crawlers), various sexual urges and anxieties (The Lamia, The Colony of Slippermen, The Doktor, etc.), disorientation (The Chamber of 32 Doors), and death (Anyway, The Supernatural Anaesthetist). The final message about saving one's own self through self-sacrifice is almost but not quite religious, and its curiously cautious optimism does not at all clash with the rest.
This was the last album Genesis made with Peter Gabriel as principal lyricist and vocalist, and the last but two featuring the astonishing Steve Hackett (now a successful solo artist in his own right) on lead guitar. Provided you can cope with the odd few minutes of self-indulgence it ranks as one the band's best albums. It certainly contains some of the best playing and one of the best studio productions of their career. In fact many would see it as the high point of Genesis' career as a real rock band (i.e. before it became a matching accessory for Phil Collins' solo career).
A particularly interesting feature of "The Lamb" is how modern it still sounds. Apart from a few cheesy moog noises that clearly date the work to the days when synths were an exciting novelty, it is all tasteful and clean. The rhythm section of Collins and Rutherford shows an almost uncanny rapport - they seem to work better together than on some much later cuts, while Gabriel's vocals and lyrics are a good advert for the stellar solo career that was about to be launched.
As usual it is Banks who provides the matrix that holds everything together - one of the enduring mysteries of rock is why his solo projects never quite gelled with the record-buying public. The classically trained keyboard virtuoso provided much of the unique quality that set Genesis apart from other progressive bands in the seventies, and that keeps their early material sounding fresh and challenging today, viz. a grasp of musical architecture. They knew how to use space, different instrumental textures and compositional structure in a way that no other rock band ever equalled let alone surpassed.
To me and to many others, the band's subsequent inch-by-inch descent into the swamps of adult-orientated radio rock is one of the great musical tragedies of the late 20th century. "The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway" is not perfect and is arguably not their best album. Nevertheless, in this mixture of good and average, punk and classicism, indulgence and discipline, experimentation and pop, "The Lamb" captures everything that almost made Genesis the greatest rock band ever. And as with all true classics, much of sounds even better now, nearly 30 years on, than it did on first release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best concept album ever created!!, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Brilliant! Moody, dark, mysterious and humerous all in one fine prog package. Even for those who can just take or leave Genesis this is a worthwhile purchase for anyone into prog or the concept album. Check out the keyboard work on 'In the cage' and 'Broadway melody' This album is timeless and strangely didn't sell to well on it's release in 1974. This is the last album Gabriel made with the band and in my view the best thing he has ever done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway: Genesis Re-mastered CD and Vinyl (2008), 30 Mar 2010
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was very fortunate to have seen the band on the UK Lamb tour back in 1975 with two nights at the Palace Theatre in Manchester. Absolutely brilliant and I can still remember the biggest impact visually on the first night was the identical figure of Peter Gabriel dressed as Rael and an identical dummy on the opposite sides of the stage at the start of the track, IT. Then it was a major stage stunt. It was impossible for a few seconds to understand what was happening with explosions and strobe lights but by today's on-stage graphic techniques probably very tame.

I have the original vinyl and the first CD released from 1985 (in my view this is a very poor recording). I also purchased the re-mastered UK vinyl box set but due to poor pressing of some of the other albums I gave up. Recently I managed to get a copy of the Atlantic/Rhino USA vinyl box set. Now I finally have a full vinyl re-mastered set that I am happy with. The Lamb re-mastered vinyl is excellent. In my view it lacks the higher frequency range in places vs the original but the bass/percussion is much cleaner and more pronounced in the mix. It gives a softer, less harsh sound.

Although in my view this album was the best recorded/produced of the albums from 1970, it was never one you could use to highlight the sound quality of your Hi-Fi system like for instance the Pink Floyd albums. For me with Genesis this never happened until ABACAB was released when Hugh Padgham joined the fold.

So to the re-mastered CD stereo mix, I find it excellent. Like all the others 2008 re-mastered CDs it has a different sound mix vs the original vinyls. I find it has what I like in a good CD: clear, clean, sound low background noise and the music fills the speakers. I will always prefer the vinyl vs CD sound but I have absolutely no issue listening to this re-mastered CD and enjoying it. The quality of the music is still first class and there are no major derivations that make the songs sound that different. It is still a 70s classic album and for me the best Genesis album released.

I do not believe this is an easy album to take on board as a first introduction to Genesis. All the previous albums in my view are more accessible on a first listen. I was exposed to this album in the full historical sequence of the first five albums so it was a natural follow on and a very high point of following the band in the early to mid 70s. I still find the story difficult to fully understand and clearly it can be taken many ways. The combination of music, lyrics and vocal performance make the album outstanding and there is so much to extract from it on each listen.

So what's good on this album: in my view everything from start to finish, but my favourites even after 36 years are still:

The Cage, I love the build-up and structure of this track. The vocals are great, delivered with real feeling.
Back In NY City, a very different sounding Genesis track with an aggressive, gritty feel.
Fly on a Windshield: Like the vocals at the start followed by the heavy musical sequence, which vibrates around the room.
Hairless Heart/Counting Out Time: A beautiful instrumental perfectly leading into a very catchy, commercial sounding track.
Carpet Crawlers: An excellent smoothing interchange of vocals with keyboards and later percussion:
Etc, etc

Like all the other Genesis re-mastered CDs, it is disappointing not to have any out-takes/unreleased materials included. I assume there must be is a good reason for this.

In conclusion, I recommend this re-mastered CD. It may not be as the as the original album was made 36 years ago but in my opinion it does not take anything away from a classic album. If you want to get into the Peter Gabriel fronted Genesis for the first time I would start with the other re-mastered CDs in sequence (Trespass to The Lamb). They are all excellent but `The Lamb' needs a little more patience to get into. Once you are in, you will never get out of `The Cage'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lamb Lies Down - Rock Theatre Masterpiece, 20 July 2005
This is a very odd album. It is the last of the early Peter Gabriel's Genesis recordings and has the air of a coming down to earth experience following albums with Greek myth, fairy story and dream songs on them - even "The Battle of Epping Forest" was mainly humerous. This isn't a funny album at all as Gabriel explores the experiences of a New York street punk, an obviously hallucenogenic drug abuser, called Rael. The loud bits are the best, "Back in NYC" especially, making this more like Who's "Quadrophenia" - as is the story; switch from London and pills and gin to New York and mescal or acid and you've got the same search for the real self - here the all pervading "IT" of Indian mysticism instead of Townshend's God of Love. I'm sorry if I seem to undermine the originality of the record, no one else has mentioned the parralel to my knowledge before - but I mean to praise "Lamb".
Gabriel's vocal performance is one of his finest ever, the music is distinctively Genesis - as differant from any other band as you can get.
But above all "Lamb" is an exercise in Rock Theatre. At a time when David Bowie and Alice Cooper, among others, were doing largely theatrical shows this came with weird costume changes, props and a back-of-stage movie presentation.
When they played it in the States the audience were so spellbound that they often fell silent - misinterpreted as a dislike by some music critics and this was a time when, slowly but surely, Genesis were just beginning to become popular in the States - they have since become one of the biggest bands in the world and "Lamb" is regarded universally as a prog. rock masterpiece.
If you like this get the, later, "Duke" album and the "Foxtrot" album with the extended "Supper's Ready" number - but it doesn't really compare musically with any other rock groups' works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album of my youth, 9 Aug 2001
Worth buying just to read the story of Rael. Saddo that I was in my teens, I must have read it a hundred times while listening to this epic album. The music is just as gripping, with Gabriel living every tortured moment. Yes it's over the top and self indulgent but gloriously so. Hard to pick out highlights as there's never a dull moment but here goes: 'Fly on a Windshield'; the lyrics to 'Broadway Melody'; the soft beauty of 'Carpet Crawlers' and 'Silent Sorrow'; the truly scary Slippermen; the giddiness of 'Riding the Scree'. It's mad but just pretend you're 15 again and go with the flow; you won't hear anything quite like it and I promise you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great album but really bad remix, 7 Mar 2012
I'm a big a fan of Peter Gabriel era Genesis and this album ranks as one of my all time favourites by ANY band not just by Genesis but this edition has pretty much got me fuming because of what has been done to my beloved.

I own the vinyl and CD copies from way back and I've listened to this album so many times in the past you just end up knowing every part of each song and I was really looking forward to hearing this edition. My hopes were not only dashed but completely ground to dust by the the so called 'work' done on this. Some parts have been completely removed whilst others have been added where before there was nothing. I was expecting an improvement, even if minimal but this version is completely abysmal IMO. I just can't believe that the members of Genesis care this little about their back catalogue to allow this to happen.

So, in summary - fantastic album but ruined but someone who's name I haven't even been bothered to learn but anyway GREAT JOB but really - perhaps it's time to find another one.

Not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally wonderful, 27 Nov 2002
I have loved this album since I first heard it about ten years ago. Parts of it are well ahead of its 1974 sales tag, and much of it still sounds fresh today. I am not a huge fan of Genesis as a whole, though the Gabriel era stuff is mostly great, however this album is a true classic that anyone of any age could enjoy.
The Lamb provides its listener with a truly unique soundscape, a double album which never seems too long, a concept album, yet unrepetitive and unpretentious. It is totally emotive, ranging from sadness to euphoria, mourning to anger, desire to impotence. In its own surreal and beautiful way this album deals with the dilemna of humankind struggling to assert its identity in a commercial era. The story of Rael, the protagonist New Yorker, is difficult to comprehend yet a joy to experience. This is a fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genesis's 'Dark side of the moon', 19 Oct 2006
By 
Alex Malone (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the greatest masterpieces ever committed to vinyl. Gabriel's weird, wonderful and surreal story of youthful alienation is turned into a musical tour de force by the brilliance of the world's greatest ever 5 piece band. Tony Banks carries the album with such inspired and original keyboard work, which, I for one, don't think has been equalled to this day. But that's undermining the efforts of the whole band who all contribute to a highly elaborate and complex musical feast.

The album is chock full of classics. The title track, 'In the Cage, 'The Carpet Crawl,' 'In the rapids,' 'Grand Parade,' 'Broadway melody,' - all are creative masterpieces. There are also several shorter (and stranger) pieces that on their own might not merit putting on your iPod, but are essential in the overall landcape of the album and the flow of the storyline. The album is a journey - one to listen to from start to finish without skipping songs.

This was Gabriel's last hurrah with the band, and a fantastic way to bow out. It's a crying shame that over 30 years on, there is no DVD, video or any visual record of this remarkable album. Maybe one day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE END OF AN ERA - RIP THE GOOD OLD DAYS!, 9 Feb 2000
By A Customer
When I think back to my happy years through the '70's, and recall the vast amount of great music (of all types)that were penned during that time, it's with more than a touch of sadness when I think of, or play 'TLLDOB'. It marked the end of the Master Magician's time as the band's singer and main composer, but WHAT a way to go out. There's not one track on a fairly long album that could be described as merely very good. Every number on the album, plus the way it was produced, plus the superb storyline, plus the interaction of the band is absolutely magical. And if anyone thinks this could never be replicated live, then I had the great priviledge and pleasure to witness and listen to almost studio-like reproduction at the band's Usher Hall, Edinburgh, gig, back in '75. It is certainly in my top 3 all time great concerts. After TLLDOB Peter Gabriel quit to do his own thing. One album later Steve Hackett chucked it as well, to blossom in his own right. Genesis, were, no doubt,one of the world's top 3 prog/classical rock bands at that time: TLLDOB was the culmination of the good old days. After that, the band became very good, then good, then okay, then not all that hot, then crap. TLLDOB IS Genesis...it's a MUST for any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely mind blowing stuff, 7 Dec 2006
Ok this genre is alot less known in these modern days than it used to be in the 1970s but it has not yet died out (im 14 years old). This album is stunning and has some perfect examples of classic prog rock: weird and wonderful melodies and delicatley enticing harmonys all swirling around in perfect musical fusion. To put it bluntly this album deserves a medal!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews