Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good change in direction, and critized for it!
Fear of the Dark is generally under-rated, but it does have plenty to offer, even to a non-maiden fan. Perhaps this is the reason why it is critized by maiden fans, it is different from their old stuff (not quite as heavy). Songs such as 'Wasting Love', 'Childhood's End' and 'The Fugitive' show this. Many people critize that their stuff is generally weaker on this, which...
Published on 16 May 2004 by Adam Curran

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!
With their ninth album Iron Maiden continued experimenting and searching for a new sound whilst trying to retain the style which made them huge. Their previous album had been a let down financially, critically, and a few fans turned their backs. A new generation had moved onto grunge while an older generation had possibly moved on from metal. It seemed like Maiden needed...
Published on 19 Oct 2010 by carlosnightman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good change in direction, and critized for it!, 16 May 2004
By 
Adam Curran - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Fear of the Dark is generally under-rated, but it does have plenty to offer, even to a non-maiden fan. Perhaps this is the reason why it is critized by maiden fans, it is different from their old stuff (not quite as heavy). Songs such as 'Wasting Love', 'Childhood's End' and 'The Fugitive' show this. Many people critize that their stuff is generally weaker on this, which it is, but they are comparing it to Maiden's earlier work which was amazing; the songs on here are still very good. Plus, there are some absolute classics on here, including 'Afraid to Shoot Strangers', 'Be Quick or Be Dead', and of course 'Fear of the Dark'. The reason I did not give this album 5 stars is because it is a bit weaker than maiden's previous stuff (such as Number of the Beast, Seventh Son of a Seventh Son, Powerslave...), and there is a song which i don't like on this album 'The Apparition' (too repetitive).
Overall, a very good album which has plenty to offer, and should be apart of your maiden collection, so buy it! (remember, if it was not for this album, we would not have had the Blaze era, and the return of Bruce for the great albums 'Brave New World' and 'Dance of Death' (which is one of my favourite maiden albums!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No fear here for Maiden fans, 10 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
As Iron Maiden albums go, this is not the best, but the quality of the riffs and on the opening track "be quick or be dead" are typical of the band. This was at about the time when the band were going through their "hiatus" and their creative drive somewhat suffered when Adrian Smith left, but songs like "From here to eternity" still retain that Maiden rhythm and blast of guitars. "Afraid to shoot strangers" is wonderful in the way it starts and gradually builds to an amazing cacophony of Harris on bass and Janick and Dave straffing away, in quite superb fashion. We get the wonderful Maiden changes in rhythm which are a characteristic of the band, much imitated, but never bettered.
Also featured on this album are the Keyboards of Michael Kenny, which you either love or hate, personally I think they have added a dimension to Maiden that had been missing, but given that I'm also a huge fan of Rainbow that is not surprising. I've always liked Maiden for their use of mythology and religion in their lyrics, but this aspect is somewhat missing here except in "Judas be my Guide" and maybe "The apparition" with it's search for an answer to the inevitable question, what happens to us when we die. The Album ends with the Stadium buster "Fear of the Dark" which has become a fans favourite. Buy this Album, it contains some superb Maiden material, but there are better offerings out there from the boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best efforts, 19 Jan 2002
By 
Lorenzo Benito (Las Rozas, Madrid Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
While it is true that this album contains some tracks that make us despair of the good old band ("Chains of Misery" comes to mind), it also contains some of the best songs Iron Maiden have ever played, such as, to name a few, "Fear of the Dark", "From Here to Eternity" or "Afraid to Shoot Strangers".
This album marks the brilliant culmination a proccess of deep transformation in the bands musical output, the quality of which the band has been unable to equal since (though that does not mean that subsequent albums are bad in the least).
Both newcomers to the band and long time fans will very likely find much to enjoy in this album, and will get their money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word....Amazing!, 27 Dec 2001
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Fear of the Dark is packed with the most amazing metal music you will ever hear! Each song is brilliant in its own individual way and no two sound anything like each other. The guitar solos and lead guitar parts are amazing. I bought this album about 2-3 weeks ago and have listened to it every day since! 'Be Quick Or Be Dead' and 'From Here To Eternity' kick the album off and you cant beat finishing the whole amazing show with perhaps Iron maiden's best song-'Fear of the Dark' I think i have said enough-just buy it, put it in your CD player (or PC) and let the music do the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost Of Gillan?, 15 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Having been an avid Maiden, Motorhead, AC/DC and Gillan fan back in the glory days of NWOBHM, I was a little late in adding this to my collection. I was always put off buying it because of some of the negative reviews it received, that it was Bruce's last album and that maybe, his heart wasn't in it any more. It was also the last album to be produced by the legendary Martin Birch and the first Maiden album cover not to feature a Derek Riggs design. How wrong was I! This album ranks up there as one of their best efforts.

This album has not been out of the player for about a week now! It has all the Maiden characteristics that has made them Rock Gods for the last 30 years. The album sees the emergence of Janick Gers as a strong writing force within the band, co writing no less than 5 songs, as this was his 2nd album as co lead guitarist. Released in 1992, it contains the two hit singles 'Be Quick Or Be Dead' a No.2 smash which focused its attention on several political scandals taking place at the time of its release, including the Robert Maxwell banking scandal, European stock market crashes, and the BCCI case and 'From Here To Eternity' which reached No.21 and is the fourth and most recent song in the ongoing saga of 'Charlotte the Harlot'

It's an experimental album also with several tracks being 'not the norm'. 'Fear Is The Key' is superb, another Dickinson/Gers composition certainly has a Deep Purple feel to it and Bruce sounds uncannily like Gillan and even screams a traditional Ian Gillan scream. If I didn't know any different I certainly would have thought it was a Gillan song as it borrows slightly from 'Bluesy Blue Sea' a song written by Gers/Gillan 10 years earlier in 1982 from the album 'Magic'. 'Wasting Love' is also different as it remains the band's only slow power ballad and is another Dickinson/Gers song which to me has more Gers/Gillan influences in it as it has similarities to 'Men Of War' from 'Double Trouble' and 'If I Sing Softly' from 'Future Shock' which Janick didn't even play on! I'm certainly not complaining though, as I loved those songs.

Of course a Maiden album wouldn't be one without brilliant Steve Harris compositions, there's 4 of them on here. 'Afraid To Shoot Strangers' was a political song with it's feet firmly in the Gulf War and is classic Maiden pure and simple. 'The Fugitive' is hard and heavy as you would come to expect. 'Childhood's End' is a slight departure for Steve, not as head down trust in the Lord approach as usual and usues keyboards to good effect. 'Fear Of The Dark' is the now customary album finale classic in the same mould as 'Hallowed Be Thy Name''Rime Of The Ancient Mariner''To Tame A Land' etc. The track became a 'live' favourite with band and fans alike. I don't like to forget Dave Murray who has been here since day 1 and his 2 co penned songs 'Chains Of Misery' and 'Judas Be My Guide' are typical 'old' Maiden sounding and are by no means 'fillers'.

So, there you go, a great album of great songs, a worthy way for Martin, Derek and Bruce to bow out of the Maiden bandwaggon and certainly in my Top 3 of Maiden albums. Obviously Bruce returned with the superb 'Brave New World' 8 years later. I'm really glad that I made my acquaintance with this record, as it has become a firm favourite. Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great swansong for bruce, 23 May 2005
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Having read the previous reviews of this album I cannot understand what people have against it. I am a HUGE Maiden fan, they are my favourite band and I have purchased everything they've ever done. This album has some great songs and bruces voice is fantastic, especially on be quick or be dead. This is a massive step up from No Prayer For The Dying, which in my opinion is their weakest album. Wasting love is the worst song on the album but even this is ok. Overall I think this is a very strong collection of songs. The album also went to No:1 in the charts, not bad for an album most say is only 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than banana milkshake., 12 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
An incredibly enlivening beginning, Be Quick or Be Dead screams out of your stereo, and you must be dead or an accountant if you can sit down while listening to this. Slows down to a very moving song, Afraid to Shoot Strangers, and then back up in pace to some seriously buttock-prodding tracks (The Apparition is great to sing along to loudly when noone else is around), and finishes on a high note with the ever-brilliant Fear of the Dark. Not every song on this album is a classic, but then albums like Powerslave cannot be accomplished every time. Still gets five stars though, it gives me an adrenaline rush every time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a classic how can any maiden fan not like this?, 21 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
I was so surprised when i found out that in fact alot of maiden fans dont like this, whats not to like? Its filled with Iron Maiden classics, I personaly love this album (though i do love all Iron Maiden albums). This album has classics like The Apparition (why does noone like this song is beyond me), Childhoods End, Afraid to Shoot Stranggers wait what the hell am i doing all this album is a classic how can you not like this album. People even say The X Factor & Virtual XI is better then this, dont get me wrong they're awesome album but compared to this album it just doesn come close to this album. This album has great lyrics, great vocals by dickinson (duh), great solos & riffs & awesome drumming by nicko. Fair enough maiden fans having a slight problem with the departure of the awesome guitarist Adrian Smith but this album is a classic, In my opinion this album doesnt have a filler song on it it's all killer. Though my favourite would probably be The Apparition ( which is strangely underrated). This is a wicked place to start off with Iron Maiden. UP THE IRONS!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great album and a departure from their previous work, 4 Oct 2014
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
A great album and a departure from their previous work, some superb guitar hooks and smooth production make this certainly one of Maidens easy on the ear efforts. Not as strong as the 80's stuff but they'd set the benchmark so high. Still highly recommended for those evenings to keep the fear of the dark close to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear Of The Dark
Fear Of The Dark by Iron Maiden
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews