Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best efforts
While it is true that this album contains some tracks that make us despair of the good old band ("Chains of Misery" comes to mind), it also contains some of the best songs Iron Maiden have ever played, such as, to name a few, "Fear of the Dark", "From Here to Eternity" or "Afraid to Shoot Strangers".
This album marks the...
Published on 19 Jan 2002 by Lorenzo Benito

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars give this more of a chance
released in 1992 and the last album before bruce left the band,we all know he returned in 1999,dont we?,fear of the dark is an album that wouldnt be the first maiden album to divide the fans,despite being a success,the album has burnt with a mixture of horror and love from maiden fans and all thats in between as well,im in the latter parts of very good and there is...
Published on 26 Feb 2007 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best efforts, 19 Jan 2002
By 
Lorenzo Benito (Las Rozas, Madrid Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
While it is true that this album contains some tracks that make us despair of the good old band ("Chains of Misery" comes to mind), it also contains some of the best songs Iron Maiden have ever played, such as, to name a few, "Fear of the Dark", "From Here to Eternity" or "Afraid to Shoot Strangers".
This album marks the brilliant culmination a proccess of deep transformation in the bands musical output, the quality of which the band has been unable to equal since (though that does not mean that subsequent albums are bad in the least).
Both newcomers to the band and long time fans will very likely find much to enjoy in this album, and will get their money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good change in direction, and critized for it!, 16 May 2004
By 
Adam Curran - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Fear of the Dark is generally under-rated, but it does have plenty to offer, even to a non-maiden fan. Perhaps this is the reason why it is critized by maiden fans, it is different from their old stuff (not quite as heavy). Songs such as 'Wasting Love', 'Childhood's End' and 'The Fugitive' show this. Many people critize that their stuff is generally weaker on this, which it is, but they are comparing it to Maiden's earlier work which was amazing; the songs on here are still very good. Plus, there are some absolute classics on here, including 'Afraid to Shoot Strangers', 'Be Quick or Be Dead', and of course 'Fear of the Dark'. The reason I did not give this album 5 stars is because it is a bit weaker than maiden's previous stuff (such as Number of the Beast, Seventh Son of a Seventh Son, Powerslave...), and there is a song which i don't like on this album 'The Apparition' (too repetitive).
Overall, a very good album which has plenty to offer, and should be apart of your maiden collection, so buy it! (remember, if it was not for this album, we would not have had the Blaze era, and the return of Bruce for the great albums 'Brave New World' and 'Dance of Death' (which is one of my favourite maiden albums!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost Of Gillan?, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Having been an avid Maiden, Motorhead, AC/DC and Gillan fan back in the glory days of NWOBHM, I was a little late in adding this to my collection. I was always put off buying it because of some of the negative reviews it received and that it was Bruce's last album and that maybe his heart wasn't in it anymore. It was also the last album to be produced by the legendary Martin Birch and the first Maiden album cover not to feature a Derek Riggs design. How wrong was I! This album ranks up there as one of their best efforts.

This album has not been out of the player for about a week now! It has all the Maiden characteristics that has made them Rock Gods for the last 30 years. The album sees the emergence of Janick Gers as a strong writing force within the band, co writing no less than 5 songs, as this was his 2nd album as co lead guitarist. Released in 1992, it contains the two hit singles 'Be Quick Or Be Dead' a No.2 smash which focused its attention on several political scandals taking place at the time of its release, including the Robert Maxwell banking scandal, European stock market crashes, and the BCCI case and 'From Here To Eternity' which reached No.21 and is the fourth and most recent song in the ongoing saga of 'Charlotte the Harlot'

It's an experimental album also with several tracks being 'not the norm'. 'Fear Is The Key' is superb, another Dickinson/Gers composition certainly has a Deep Purple feel to it and Bruce sounds uncannily like Gillan and even screams a traditional Ian Gillan scream. If I didn't know any different I certainly would have thought it was a Gillan song as it borrows slightly from 'Bluesy Blue Sea' a song written by Gers/Gillan 10 years earlier in 1982 from the album 'Magic'. 'Wasting Love' is also different as it remains the band's only slow power ballad and is another Dickinson/Gers song which to me has more Gers/Gillan influences in it as it has similarities to 'Men Of War' from 'Double Trouble' and 'If I Sing Softly' from 'Future Shock' which Janick didn't even play on! I'm certainly not complaining though, as I loved those songs.

Of coarse a Maiden album wouldn't be one without brilliant Steve Harris compositions, there's 4 of them on here. 'Afraid To Shoot Strangers' was a political song with it's feet firmly in the Gulf War and is classic Maiden pure and simple. 'The Fugitive' is hard and heavy as you would come to expect. 'Childhood's End' is a slight departure for Steve, not as head down trust in the Lord approach as usual and usues keyboards to good effect. 'Fear Of The Dark' is the now customary album finale classic in the same mould as 'Hallowed Be Thy Name''Rime Of The Ancient Mariner''To Tame A Land' etc. The track became a 'live' favourite with band and fans alike. I don't like to forget Dave Murray who has been here since day 1 and his 2 co penned songs 'Chains Of Misery' and 'Judas Be My Guide' are typical 'old' Maiden sounding and are by no means 'fillers'.

So, there you go, a great album of great songs, a worthy way for Martin, Derek and Bruce to bow out of the Maiden bandwaggon and certainly in my Top 3 of Maiden albums. Obviously Bruce returned with the superb 'Brave New World' 8 years later. I'm really glad that I made my acquaintance with this record, as it has become a firm favourite. Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word....Amazing!, 27 Dec 2001
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Fear of the Dark is packed with the most amazing metal music you will ever hear! Each song is brilliant in its own individual way and no two sound anything like each other. The guitar solos and lead guitar parts are amazing. I bought this album about 2-3 weeks ago and have listened to it every day since! 'Be Quick Or Be Dead' and 'From Here To Eternity' kick the album off and you cant beat finishing the whole amazing show with perhaps Iron maiden's best song-'Fear of the Dark' I think i have said enough-just buy it, put it in your CD player (or PC) and let the music do the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great swansong for bruce, 23 May 2005
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Having read the previous reviews of this album I cannot understand what people have against it. I am a HUGE Maiden fan, they are my favourite band and I have purchased everything they've ever done. This album has some great songs and bruces voice is fantastic, especially on be quick or be dead. This is a massive step up from No Prayer For The Dying, which in my opinion is their weakest album. Wasting love is the worst song on the album but even this is ok. Overall I think this is a very strong collection of songs. The album also went to No:1 in the charts, not bad for an album most say is only 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a classic how can any maiden fan not like this?, 21 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
I was so surprised when i found out that in fact alot of maiden fans dont like this, whats not to like? Its filled with Iron Maiden classics, I personaly love this album (though i do love all Iron Maiden albums). This album has classics like The Apparition (why does noone like this song is beyond me), Childhoods End, Afraid to Shoot Stranggers wait what the hell am i doing all this album is a classic how can you not like this album. People even say The X Factor & Virtual XI is better then this, dont get me wrong they're awesome album but compared to this album it just doesn come close to this album. This album has great lyrics, great vocals by dickinson (duh), great solos & riffs & awesome drumming by nicko. Fair enough maiden fans having a slight problem with the departure of the awesome guitarist Adrian Smith but this album is a classic, In my opinion this album doesnt have a filler song on it it's all killer. Though my favourite would probably be The Apparition ( which is strangely underrated). This is a wicked place to start off with Iron Maiden. UP THE IRONS!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fear of the dark iron maiden, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
one of the best albums iron maiden have made there is not a bad track on this cd a great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
this has to be one of the best albums made by the band. It is a must have for anyone`s cd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
A CD I’ve had in my collection for possibly ten years now. A good album of course and great to listen to it lifts my mood or simply changes my mood. That’s why I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear Of The Dark
Fear Of The Dark by Iron Maiden
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews