Customer Reviews


464 Reviews
5 star:
 (329)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


316 of 319 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarification. What this box set actually DOES and DOES NOT contain! Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
As some of you may or may not know; there is so much Battlestar Galactica related content out there in the form of spin-off series, additional minisodes, TV movies and other secondary content. When I was trying to purchase the Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] for myself I was having trouble actually finding out what this box set contains, especially...
Published 11 months ago by P Bortowski

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is the Blu-ray version worth while ?
I had already bought the dvd sets and bought the Blu-ray version as an upgrade but was disappointed by the visual upgrade , yes the visuals are only marginally better than dvd. Don't expect Zulu quality Blu-ray video transfer; if you have an amplifier which can decode HD Master Audio 5.1 plus a 5.1 or better cinema system then that will be a nice plus when viewing the...
Published on 27 Jan 2011 by Sun Wukong


‹ Previous | 1 2 347 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 125 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the lack of Special Features, 21 Sep 2009
By 
G. Meakings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Received my box set in the post today and was very disappointed with the lack of Special Features. Gone are the extended episodes, Webisodes, the majority of the Commentary tracks are missing and no extended version of the movie Razor. All of these are contained on the American version of the complete series (except the Season 4 Webisodes which are missing from both versions) and the Blueray editions.

It is a big shame that for the same price the UK version is missing the majority of the features especially as a good number of them were even advertised as being contained within this box set.

This is a very good TV show and I will recommend it, I just can't recommend this box set as it is incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars battlestar galactica, 30 April 2013
By 
Mr. V. H. Morris (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great box set. Good value and great series. Blue ray quality so looks great on the tv. Definately worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best option for complete collection, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this box has got all the seasons and mini-series included.
reasonable price too.
One of the best shows of all time, BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Remake, 4 Oct 2012
By 
D. Scouller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After being an avid fan of the original BSG I finally decided to give the new version a go.. And it took about 30mins of the original mini series to get into it. I am now half way through season 3.

If you like Sci-Fi with some underlying sub plots and stories then you will enjoy this version. I must say it is a more grown up version in comparison to the original, but times have changed. This box-set was very good value especially in comparison to what iTunes wanted for just a single season. I just need more time to continue with my watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been the "GOOD ONE" package, 12 Dec 2011
The series are to be one of the best of all times, and it is recent one.

If you have seen it on TV, it losses some of the interest, but the second time you watch it, you can detect some details you didn't perceive the first time.

The video quality is correct, and sometimes has too much grain and lacks of sharp, but I think it is the way it was filmed, more than transfer problems. Video uses to be 20Mbps (VC-1) and audio DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 (it does not sound very spectacular, compared to other movie productions, but is totally correct) and only in original English voice. It has not been edited on blu ray in Spain , only in DVD, and I have sacrified the audio. It comes with subtitles in English (very well made) and in French and Spanish (Latin Spanish, but it is only a few changes to the normal Spain language, not a problem at all). It does not come with audio commentary subtitles in no language (not even English), and the deleted scenees are presented in SD and not included as part of an optional playback on the current episode (they are to be watched apart from the episodes theirselves...).
The video is sometimes a bit low bit rate due to the fact of having to put "many" episodes on the same disc; it usually uses about 4 hours of real A/V data per disc.

It does not come with The Plan (and I think it should be OK to have it all, but the truth is that last movie was not very important in the story).
It includes the Razor movie in the broadcasted and extended versions.

It is the package not the best one I had watched round there, but I was expecting it, though... it is a cardboard box with the independent BD boxes, containing the 20 BRDs, and a little CD-like leaflet with some pictures of main characters and the epsisode and extras on each disc.

Includes: Misiseries, all seasons, Razor, webisodes, some (not too much, but...) extras: audiocommentaries on all episodes, some PiP information on characters and places, deleted scenes.

Regarding the delivery to Spain: I ordered the 7th of December; I got it this morning (I have watched the full miniseries since then... XD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing Blu-ray box set for Battlestar, though the packaging choice is a bit odd..., 9 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are so many views on the actual show, I'll leave those for other reviewers. In my opinion, it's a rare, epic piece of TV that combines some sweeping and grand themes of politics, religion, war and culture. But anyway, I'll focus here on what my position was, i.e. someone who had the DVDs (and gave them to a friend before getting this set, lucky him, huh?) and wanted to upgrade to the Blu-ray to have one of my favourite TV series in high definition for all time (or as long as the packaging lasts, but I'll get that). Is it worth the upgrade? In spite of the odd packaging choice, I'd say yes. I've watched all the material before upscaled to 1080p, and even with the specific production choices for Battlestar, there's still a clear picture quality improvement and a real increased sense of immersion. There are too many scenes with digital noise (and I don't feel they are essential to capture the gritty feeling, but anyway) but still it's a solid, noticeable upgrade. I felt closer to the action and some of the stylistic subtleties (like the quick pull focus on characters to increase the documentary feel) finally paid-off, as I'd missed something so slight via the fuzziness of DVD. Now to the audio, it's Master Audio and it's very, very good. The dialogue clarity has always been a bit of a problem with Battlestar, but here it's better than the DVD. Everyone is talking in low voices and quietly most of the time though, so you may find yourself listening at high volumes then suddenly having ringing ears as the thundering (and extremely well done, especially for a TV show) SFX kick in all around the surround sound field. The instrumentation in the music, drawn from world instruments (which you see in the later extras) are even more impressive and engaging here than on the DVD, where they had to compete somewhat, I felt, with the dialogue. The supplements are vast in number, and all I managed to have time to watch/listen to so far are some of the video blogs and the commentary on 33 (which was interesting). Also, in answer to another reviewer, yes it has Razor (both the broadcast and unrated editions). Lastly, to the niggling issue of the box. First, it's big - bigger than it needed to be. The tin is about one Blu-ray case high, about one-and-a-half wide, then about 10 or so deep. It's currently poking off a shelf. Luckily my tin did not arrive damaged (as others sadly did, it seems), and the foam inside should protect the discs. I do quite like the fact that the discs are in red plastic as it enhances the whole Cylon feel, but they are indeed very tightly squeezed into paper/cardboard cases that I'm pretty sure will break eventually. I'm careful and have small fingers so it's not the end of the world, but given the size of the tin, I'm sure there were other ways to have packed the discs. Overall though, you get around 20 Blu-ray discs, tons of Battlestar goodness, upgraded picture quality over the DVDs, seriously improved audio over the DVDs, more supplementary features than many of us have time to watch in a (busy) lifetime, and a tin big enough to be a conversation starter to anyone who visits! To close then, even with the packaging problems, this is too good an overall experience to mark down a star for that. Very highly recommended to those upgrading from the DVDs, or those who love the series and want to have it in the best format it'll ever see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing lots of advertised features - and booklet is wrong!!, 23 Sep 2009
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series - Ultimate Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Extremely disappointed. This is missing a lot of the promised extras. Surely this is mis-selling. Univeral need to be written to and complained to.

Great series spoilt by a promise that wasnt delivered. This is NOT the ultimate collection. I want to send it back :(

Shame as I was looking forward to it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant box set with a few glaring omissions., 12 Dec 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BSG is a great show which I have watched through many times, first on DVD and now finally on Bluray - so how does this Bluray box set compare? Well the picture is absolutely beautiful and really enhances your viewing experience of this already mesmerising show. The sound too is excellent.

If you haven't seen the show you really must, and if you're not a fan of Sci-Fi, don't be put off; this is a dark, gritty and daring show that deals with many controversial themes, particularly when you think back to when this was made. With story lines revolving around God, religion, genocide and the survival of the human race, and involving suicide bombings, prophecies and visions it could be considered to be quite controversial. The writing is excellent. The casting and acting is first rate throughout with (although Star Buck annoyed me), and the set design and production values are all top dollar. In fact, it's hard to fault anything about the show.

The extras on the box set too are good, although some things have been missed and it could have been better. I would ave liked to have seen the inclusion of The Plan in the box set and as far as the extras go, although there are some nice additions they are some glaring missed opportunities.

Firstly, one of the most enjoyable things about the show are the R&D indents at the end, and although there was a compilation on one of the discs of all the ones from seasons 1 & 2, a compilation of seasons' 3, 4 and 4.5 were missing. Also, the inclusion of Battlestar blips (little tit-bits of information about characters and back story which popped up on screen) was pointless as they added nothing and it was clear no effort or thought had been put into them, as they merely repeated what you'd just seen on screen 3 seconds earlier.

However, these are all minor niggles and can't take away from the fact that this is an incredible show which looks great on Blu Ray. With that in mind I can't really fault it so it gets 5 stars. Giving this show anyone less just wouldn't seem right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 56 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing compared to the American Edition, 21 Sep 2009
By 
G. Meakings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series - Ultimate Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Received my box set in the post today and was very disappointed with the lack of Special Features. Gone are the extended episodes, Webisodes, the majority of the Commentary tracks are missing and no extended version of the movie Razor. All of these are contained on the American version of the complete series (except the Season 4 Webisodes which are missing from both versions) and the Blueray editions.

It is a big shame that for the same price the UK version is missing the majority of the features especially as a good number of them were even advertised as being contained within this box set.

This is a very good TV show and I will recommend it, I just can't recommend this box set as it is incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The alternate Battlestar Galactica Series, 27 Jun 2006
By 
B. Beaupain (Auburn, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those who aren't aware, despite several claims to the contrary, this is not the complete series, or at least not in its original form. What you have here is the 6 tape set ofa mix of movies and single hour episodes, most of them two parters. To be more specific, you gett the 125 theatrical version of Battlestar Galactica ( not the true 139 minute version) the single hour version of Experiement In Terra ( which was later made into a double length film, edited with bits and pieces of the Galactica 1980 episode, Return of Starbuck) 2 part versions of Lost Planet of the Gods,Gun On Ice Planet Zero, Living Legend, and Greetings From Earth ( called Greetings From Planet Earth on the box set) The rest, including a double length version of War of the Gods ( some sets actually had the 2 part version as well) and an edited mix of episodes from the original series bridged together by poorly dubbed dialogue and/or scenes from other episodes. These films were aired in select markets of the U.S. including alternate versions of the previously mentioned 2 parters. Video quality is very good in the PAL format. My copies were dubbed from PAL to NTSC and appeared a bit darker at times. None the less, despite those weak "bridging" scenes with badly dubbed dialogue, they are still fun to watch. My only gripe is they should have included the 3 part version of the pilot, as opposed to the already released movie version. I own several PAL tapes and have actually purchased 2 differnt versions of volume 1 as one version is the movie, the other was the 3 part version, which at the time, was the only way to see the pilot as it was, until recently, unreleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 347 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series - Ultimate Edition [DVD]
£60.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews