Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty Drama (not Beat 'Em Up)
Can't quite figure out why I like this film. I resisted watching it for ages due to the title. But when I did finally watch it I was surprised how little of the film is actually about the actual fighting. And it's not a tournament movie either. Instead you are given a drama about people struggling to make a living, friendships and relationships, and the fighting is just a...
Published 14 months ago by Beacon97

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apollo descends to Hades and finds redemption
Apollo, personified as Channing Tatum, appears as a street hawker in Manhattan but the other hawkers defend their pitch. A fist fight ensues. Apollo is victorious and his victory is noticed by a street hustler. Later The Hustler promises Apollo a better way to make a living through the unregulated fight scene. Promises are made. A series of arranged fights follow...
Published 19 months ago by Mac McAleer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty Drama (not Beat 'Em Up), 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
Can't quite figure out why I like this film. I resisted watching it for ages due to the title. But when I did finally watch it I was surprised how little of the film is actually about the actual fighting. And it's not a tournament movie either. Instead you are given a drama about people struggling to make a living, friendships and relationships, and the fighting is just a small part of it. It's not pretty either. These are not spectacular fights. They are back alley punch ups. You won't come away wanting to perfect the crane kick, because there is no crane kick or equivalent. It's a surprising film in its ordinariness, and that's its true strength. Give it a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apollo descends to Hades and finds redemption, 10 Dec 2012
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
Apollo, personified as Channing Tatum, appears as a street hawker in Manhattan but the other hawkers defend their pitch. A fist fight ensues. Apollo is victorious and his victory is noticed by a street hustler. Later The Hustler promises Apollo a better way to make a living through the unregulated fight scene. Promises are made. A series of arranged fights follow. At first Apollo loses or does not get paid. The promises continue.

Apollo has a secret. He is from The South, which he left in disgrace after fighting physically and mentally with his father. His father is a wrestling coach and had favoured another young wrestler over his son and this other wrestler became Apollo's nemesis.

Apollo begins to win his fights and both Apollo and The Hustler get money. There are fights in the urban decay of the South Bronx, fights in up-scale apartments overlooking the park, fights in fancy Chinese brothels. For all their success, The Hustler gains no respect from the fight organisers. They consider The Hustler a loser. But he is a hustler with a heart of gold. Then Apollo finds The Girl. He is persistent. She is not interested. He persists. And the persistence begins to pay off.

Apollo's former nemesis appears. The Nemesis is now a successful fighter on the same scene. He scorns and taunts Apollo. A grudge fight is arranged. The Nemesis is expected to win. In a fancy apartment Apollo and The Nemesis engage in a violent pankration. Apollo wins.

Unknown to The Hustler, Apollo has placed a bet on himself to win. And he wins big time. Apollo gives the money to The Hustler. He is no longer a loser. Apollo and The Girl and The Hustler leave New York, Apollo to reconcile with his father, The Girl to be with Apollo and The Hustler to enjoy his new-found self-respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
this film is a very good film and it is a defo get film and the price who wouldn't get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just bad!, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
I can officially say that this is the worst fighting film I've ever seen. The acting is terrible (especially from the lead actor). The fight scenes are worse than in WWF and at no point in the film does it show "Shaun" (the prize fighter) training for his fights. Its seems as though in each fight, he just gets lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Husbands choice, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
To be honest I think my husband made a mistake on this one.When it arrived he semed to think it wasn't the film he had been thinking of,his bad!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the action scenes in this movie, however the storyline sucked and the acting was a bit flat. Wouldn't reccomend it if your looking for excitement however Channing Tatum looks very nice in this haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A steady little movie, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've being enjoying Channing's work more and more, saw this for a fiver! Look out for Jupiter Ascending - this summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter loved it, very happy with this product. I would recommend this buyer and buy from again in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good cheap kick, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for the muscle because I was so sick of silly tv I wanted to enjoy my friday night with sweets and peace and quiet and a good veiw...ticked them all with this. Postage took a day r two longer than I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fighting, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting [DVD] (DVD)
omg i love this dvd i must say its not only for male viewers and the main character is HOT lol a must seen movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighting [DVD]
Fighting [DVD] by Ivan Martin (DVD - 2009)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews