Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 October 2003
This 20-track album is a magnificent blend of all of Christy's styles. From the lament "Ordinary Man" to the ballad "Ride On", Christy takes us through "Lisdoonvarna"'s festival and through the reality of emigration in "City of Chicago" and "Missing You". Some novel songs included are "The Reel in the Flickering Light" and "Mystic Lipstick".
The music standard is the highest, and both Christy and the backing vocalist are on top form. This CD is on my list of recommendations.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
This mans voice reaches something deep inside my soul, he does not get the air time in this country to reach a wider audience. His humour is evident in some of the songs on this album which I bought as a sampler. with a voice which lends itself to the sadness of imigration and the way ("Missing you" )the Irish (and indeed other races) were looked upon for many many years.
City of chicago would have stuck a chord with my late father as would the gentle ribbing in the Knock airport song. Pull up a chair pour youself a glass of something strong sit back and be taken to another place as you listen to this album -and its a bargain from Amazon.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2008
Why does Christy Moore have a propensity towards singing depressing tunes? Don't get me wrong, he is a master of this genre. And, to be fair, not all the tunes are downbeat - "Lisdoonvarna", "don't forget your shuffle and "delirium tremens" are really funny. I particularly liked the lyric in "delirium tremens" about Charlies Haughey taking crossmaglen and Gareth giving it back again!

But, where is the belly full of joy? I think its a question of how one views life and its purpose. It is easier to write and sing a mournful tune than one which is motivated by a belly full of joy as real joy is a rarity.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2006
If you want to experience nostalgia,excitement,political oppression and humour with a distinctively Irish folkey feel then this is the album for you.There is something for everyone with a sense of humor, good imagination and a rebel within. Christy Moore takes us on journey from the first track, its one of those cds where every track is the best one! Although he does in my opinion kick off with a top track 'Ordinary man'which tugs at your soul as u hear it,what more can I say,it reminds me of old friends good times,camp fires and fluffy rebels!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
If you have never heard of Christy Moore, you could do worse than buy this collection. It covers a fair range of his work and showcases his talents.

But if you really want the best Christy Moore experience it has to be live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2004
This album is just full of deep and touching songs about Irish immigration to America, whilst still pulling off drinking songs and festival tunes. It is a great mix of Christy's styles, and despite not quite being a Greatest Hits CD, it does hold all of Christy's bests on it, unlike most of his live albums. Any one who really loves music and respects brilliant artists should buy this - it's not too Irish though, shame. . .
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Introduced to Christy on the Steve Wright Radio2 show. Ride On was played and it stopped me in my tracks. The album is a good introduction to his music. Really easy listening and has become a favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
What's not to like about Christy Moore? Fab recordings of some of his classic tracks. If you are a fan of Irish folk music and ballads buy it now and add to your collection. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Christy Moore at his very best. A suitable replacement on mp3 (and Amazon cloud) for a cd that I misplaced a while ago. Recommended for anyone who hasn't come across the man yet - and those who have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Loved all the songs on this CD, especially Lisdoonvarna
It was a bonus to see the lyrics of all the songs on the attached booklet
I would recommend it to every one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)