Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, recommended
This 20-track album is a magnificent blend of all of Christy's styles. From the lament "Ordinary Man" to the ballad "Ride On", Christy takes us through "Lisdoonvarna"'s festival and through the reality of emigration in "City of Chicago" and "Missing You". Some novel songs included are "The Reel in the Flickering Light" and "Mystic Lipstick".
The music standard is the...
Published on 29 Oct 2003 by Mr. T. Ralph

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a taster!
This mans voice reaches something deep inside my soul, he does not get the air time in this country to reach a wider audience. His humour is evident in some of the songs on this album which I bought as a sampler. with a voice which lends itself to the sadness of imigration and the way ("Missing you" )the Irish (and indeed other races) were looked upon for many many...
Published on 3 Feb 2010 by glasgow guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, recommended, 29 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. T. Ralph - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This 20-track album is a magnificent blend of all of Christy's styles. From the lament "Ordinary Man" to the ballad "Ride On", Christy takes us through "Lisdoonvarna"'s festival and through the reality of emigration in "City of Chicago" and "Missing You". Some novel songs included are "The Reel in the Flickering Light" and "Mystic Lipstick".
The music standard is the highest, and both Christy and the backing vocalist are on top form. This CD is on my list of recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a taster!, 3 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This mans voice reaches something deep inside my soul, he does not get the air time in this country to reach a wider audience. His humour is evident in some of the songs on this album which I bought as a sampler. with a voice which lends itself to the sadness of imigration and the way ("Missing you" )the Irish (and indeed other races) were looked upon for many many years.
City of chicago would have stuck a chord with my late father as would the gentle ribbing in the Knock airport song. Pull up a chair pour youself a glass of something strong sit back and be taken to another place as you listen to this album -and its a bargain from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tunes, 24 Dec 2008
By 
Aquinas "summa" (celestial heights, UK) - See all my reviews
Why does Christy Moore have a propensity towards singing depressing tunes? Don't get me wrong, he is a master of this genre. And, to be fair, not all the tunes are downbeat - "Lisdoonvarna", "don't forget your shuffle and "delirium tremens" are really funny. I particularly liked the lyric in "delirium tremens" about Charlies Haughey taking crossmaglen and Gareth giving it back again!

But, where is the belly full of joy? I think its a question of how one views life and its purpose. It is easier to write and sing a mournful tune than one which is motivated by a belly full of joy as real joy is a rarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best, 23 Jan 2006
If you want to experience nostalgia,excitement,political oppression and humour with a distinctively Irish folkey feel then this is the album for you.There is something for everyone with a sense of humor, good imagination and a rebel within. Christy Moore takes us on journey from the first track, its one of those cds where every track is the best one! Although he does in my opinion kick off with a top track 'Ordinary man'which tugs at your soul as u hear it,what more can I say,it reminds me of old friends good times,camp fires and fluffy rebels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed, 27 May 2014
By 
Mr. Kelvin Griffiths (Wrexham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hear Christy Moore years ago and forgot about him. Heard this album and realized just how good he is. Will be getting more albums in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great song craft, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding could be the only album you ever need from the man. Varied styles of song and music highlight his ability to craft great song and tune again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christy Moors collection, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my son-in-law who likes to listen to Christy while driving. As far as I know it met with his approval.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some great tracks, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Introduced to Christy on the Steve Wright Radio2 show. Ride On was played and it stopped me in my tracks. The album is a good introduction to his music. Really easy listening and has become a favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christ Moore at his best., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved all the songs on this CD, especially Lisdoonvarna
It was a bonus to see the lyrics of all the songs on the attached booklet
I would recommend it to every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars never heard, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was boguht as a gift for my dad even though i havent heard the cd he tell me that its fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Christy Moore Collection
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews