Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars12
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£224.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2012
how can you release this box sets without the 12 inch versions of Back chat and Stying power which are more funkier in there 12 inch versions than 7 inch versions there are also instrumental and longer versions of radio gaga i want to break free is also in a wonderful 12 mix plus the b-side is in a instrumental and 12 mix ( machines or back to humans ) the Blondie and Duran duran box got all the 12 inches versions WHY WHY!!!!!! NOT HERE I CANT UNDERSTAND THE RECORD COMPANIES ( i own over 3000 cds and boxset )
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
I'm dinging this 3 stars for 2 reasons. One, the price: for what it is, this should be at least £10 cheaper. Two, the completely missed opportunity to finally release the tracks that are only available (still) on vinyl. I'm talking about the last 3 disks of the set, which were all released on 12-inch formats with extended or alternative mixes. We're missing the extended versions of Backchat and Staying Power plus the instrumental Radio Ga Ga (which remain available only on the original 12-inch vinyls) plus the extended mixes of Radio Ga Ga and I Want To Break Free plus the instrumental version of Machines (which, whilst having been released before on CD, are either on import only or very hard to find).
EMI released the vastly superior Marillion singles box sets which compiled ALL the mixes and B-sides from ALL the formats released for the various singles, which represented a fantastic collection and at only £25 per box. Pity they're deleted now...
So why we've got another set of 7-inch replicas here is a mystery to me. We may have tolerated it on volume 1 because they were a true representation of what was originally released, but this is just not on.
The only truly new track you'll get here is A Human Body. Everything else has been released before on CD somewhere, although unless you've got the 3" CD singles set you won't have got Soul Brother. (I Go Crazy isn't hard to get... it's been on the USA import of The Works for years.)
So, a massivley missed opportunity to do these old singles justice. I hope EMI do much better on volume 3, and even replace disks 11-13 here with decent versions. Until then, us Queen fans will continue to be short changed.
33 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
I have been a huge fan of Queen for most of my life, I dug out all my old Cd's and Vinyl today and managed to fit all the songs and alternate mixes on 1 CD (75mins), so by buying the individual boxsets, totalling £103 you have this ONE Cd of songs not on the regular Queen albums, this boxset is also 'nonoised', so its much worsened sound quality compared to the original releases and first Cd singles set:

This is the unavailable tracks of what your £103 gives you:

1. See What A Fool Ive Been (Singles Boxset One, although the noise reduction applied has spoilt the cymbal intro)
2. Flick Of A Wrist (Singles Boxset One)
3. I'm In Love With My Car (Slightly different placement of car sound effects compared to Album version. Singles Boxset One)
4. Tenement Funster - Faded Out. No different to Album version AND NOT EVEN THE CORRECT EP VERSION (Singles Boxset One)
5. White Queen (As It Began) - Queen's First E.P No different to Album version apart from a Fade In (Singles Boxset One)
6. Love Of My Life (Live) (Singles Boxset 2)
7. Now I'm Here (Live) (Singles Boxset 2)
8. We Will Rock You (Fast Version Live) (Singles Boxset 2)
9. Let Me Entertain You (Live) (Singles Boxset 2)

- All the live singles are the versions contained on Live Killers.

10. Football Fight - same as Flash album(Singles Boxset 2)
11. A Human Body (Singles Boxset 2)
12. Soul Brother (Singles Boxset 2)
13. I Go Crazy (Singles Boxset 2)
14. Thank God its Christmas (Singles Boxset 2)
15. Blurred Vision (Singles Boxset 3)
16. A Dozen Red Roses (Singles Boxset 3)
17. Pain Is So Close To Pleasure (Remix)(Singles Boxset 3)
18. Hijack My Heart (Singles Boxset 3)
19. My Life Had Been Saved - DIFFERENT VERSION TO MADE IN HEAVEN VERSION
(Singles Boxset 3)

Even One Cd is stretching it a bit, so for £103 pounds you have 6 songs not available on regular Queen albums and 2 pretty mundane instrumentals

Outrageous IMO!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
Of course there's doubts why you should by this collection. Of course Queen Production wants to find new buyers who still discover Queens back catalog. I think the main point here is to discover Queen as a singles band, connect with history and have the artwork as a collector. The thing WE the MAIN Fans WANT isn't here to dwell and bitch about. This is just the last breath Queen Production take with EMI to solve the last article in the contract. Universal is takin' over and I have great hopes for the REAL BOX set to appear in the upcoming 2 years of planned releases... But you can't argue about the Music, it's worth every penny for those who want to discover the band as a singles act. ALERT! *One thing that I discovered on this box, is that Back Chat has the wrong speed comparing to the album version. It's too pitched in tempo. It's about 14 seconds shorter than it should be:-(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
This box is the second one in a row.
If you are a real big Queen fan, you need to purchase it.
But if you are not, then this box has no added value.
All songs are probably in your music collection and the box doesn't give much extras.
There is no booklet added for example and the singles only contain 2 tracks per single.
But the artwork is nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
great box set for any queen collector

[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Good value for price paid and prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Extremely happy with items and seller !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2009
Whilst people may be dissapointed with the lack of lots of rarities, you cannot argue that this set contains absolutely brilliant music, unsurpassed by any other group. Yes, i am desperate for an archive of rare releases, but, i still have to give the set 5 out of 5 due to the quality of the music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2009
I'm Queen fan for more than 30 years, but, honestly, business inventions of the Queen Productions Ltd. are on a level of my dog ... That's all. Singles Collection 1 & 2 & 3 & ? = dead product of the dead company.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)