Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 October 2009
I've been a KsE fan for a long time now, and this album is an absolute cracker. I think it is WAY more creative and diverse than As Daylight Dies. All the songs are strong and there is an abundance of epic singalong choruses.

KsE have added a bit more southern rock, a heap more thrash and some more considered and atmospheric riffing with greater use of effects than on previous releases. Some reviewers on here have slated this album and one in particular knocked the choruses - they sound fine to me!! Also much criticism is made of the lyrics - they are credited to KsE so I'm not certain if it is solely Howard who writes them. Yes, there are many songs which seem to be about failed relationships, but there is positivity in the way these problems are handled too. I don't see how KsE could have kept banging on about positivity etc. as they did with Jesse's 'message' on Alive or Just Breathing - that would have been tiresome and would also have served to dilute Jesse's contribution. If you watch the band history section on the (Set The) World Ablaze DVD (not included with this!!) you'll see that AOJB was very much Jesse's vision lyrically. It's entirely reasonable that the band would take a different lyrical slant without him.

Expectations are WAY too high these days - there are just too many bands all peddling similar musical wares. Let us not forget that KsE originated the 'scream/sing' metalcore genre and IMHO are still the finest band in the genre; they have the songs, the musicianship, and a cracking live show to boot (go see them, Adam D is a spectacle to be witnessed...). The special edition's live tracks are great quality and as a guitarist/bassist myself I cannot believe the high standard of musicianship modern metal bands pull off playing live - Adam and Joel's riffing is tight as hell, Mike's bass adds a pounding bottom end, Justin has got to be one of the most solid, subtly creative and underrated drummers in metal, and Howard's larynx-lacerating vocals are superb (as they were when I saw them, and as they are on the cracking 'Set The World Ablaze' DVD, which is a MUST SEE for all KsE fans).

Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 September 2009
Killswitch have a formula that is refined with each album release, Their latest album takes the trademark Killswitch sound and cleans it up a bit; The songs are slicker and more professional than ever before, and while at first listen this may make you cry 'Sell Out,' you soon realize that this album is simply amazing, some of the most powerful music the band has ever produced.
Musically once you get used to the slight change in direction you will find some incredibly catchy, heavy and overall enjoyable music with opening trio of the fast and heavy 'Never Again,' the perfect single 'Reckoning,' and the classy 'Starting Over,' being three of the best Killswitch songs to date.
The whole album blazes by in a storm of speedy guitar harmonies and virtuosic Adam D solos, Incredibly tight bass and drums and some of the most haunting vocals metal music has to offer. Howard Jones has improved so greatly its unbelievable, his vocal performance on 'This is Goodbye,' is so indescribably good while songs like 'Reckoning,' and 'I Would Do Anything,' keep the previous style alive and as good as ever.
The album gets better on every listen, with new little arpegios or drum fills revealing themselves, until the whole album is stuck in your head. If you like Killswitch Engage this album is far from a disappointment, in fact I can't imagine a better follow up to 'As Day Light Dies,' just listen to 'The Forgotten,' mix chugging riffs, uplifting guitar harmonies, catchy choruses and heavy double kick drum filled verses giving way to an awesome break down and you'll realize that just because the lyrics are a little different and the production is a little slicker, Killswitch have lost none of their edge.
In summary, Ignore the bad reviews calling this album a departure or a sell out and give it a chance, you'll be more than glad you did.
The Bonus Track 'In A Dead World,' is fantastic, generally heavier than the rest of the album and pretty complex too, I'm surprised it was cut as its definatly one of the best songs on this CD. The Live songs are worth a listen or two but aren't exactly essential. The Bonus DVD is a complete waste of money however, a few half hearted interviews aboard a tourbus, with no footage of the band writing or recording the album, very disappointing given the high quality of their (Set This) World Ablaze documentary.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 30 June 2009
I've loved Killswitch Engage for many years now and they always amaze me. From the wizzing guitars and Howard Jones' amazing vocals, they have everything I love about a rock band.
When I first heard the album via a stream on the band's official MySpace, I fell in love with the album. When I first heard Starting Over, I couldn't wait for the album and it was worth the wait. Now that I finally have my hands on the album, I've been listening to it on repeat. A Light In A Darkened World, for me, is the best song on the album. Infact, I had goosebumps when I first heard it on MySpace. The vocals are spot on, and the music is just amazing. Definitely a great song to sing along to, like most Killswitch Engage songs anyway which they are quite
famous for (A Bid Farewell, Darkness Falls, The End Of Heartheart, Rose Of Sharyn all spring to mind about being a great rock song to sing along to!).
After their sizzling performance at Download Festival, they still definitely know how to rock HARD. This album is a must!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 November 2011
I thought that this recording would be slightly better. However we all have times of weaker performance. And KSE has such performance on this album.
Don't get me wrong, it is still well prepared and well produced album but you can hear that some of the songs are just there to fill the space.
I still believe in KSE and hope that next recording will be at the level we got used to with KSE.
For now - three stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Love this album 10/10 but it's missing an important factor.

The first 20 tracks are solid, pure metal and heavy riffs are involved. The lead vocalist nails every song and makes them all stand out.

But i'm afraid i'm got some bad news...the last 20 tracks aren't as banterous as I expected, how can you have a killswitch album with only 10% banter involved? am I dreaming, or is this some sort of sick joke?

Next time Chris, I suggest you step up your banter by going to nandos with the lads, and then you'll understand what it's like to become one of a kind.

Believe that and believe in the banter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 19 July 2009
It is seen that self-titled albums pave the line the band follow. 'Iron Maiden' is an album that gives you all the factors of the band which is important. Normally (unlike with this particual album) it is used as an introduction to the band. Almost a way of digging yourself a niche to experiment with during their career. The Prime example of this is Slipknot's boundary pushing self-title.
Though they have already released a self-title they were aiming for this for the Howard Jone era
A Self-title says alot about a band, so what does this say about 'the new' Killswitch?
It says that they are a wholely melodic metal band, with powerful guitars and a tight rhythum section. On the downside it also says that they have no variety and little artistic talent. All the songs on this album sound the same as the one you listened to just 5 minutes before. Though the elements are on modest form it just doesn't excite like expected.

I don't want to compare it to other albums saying whether it is better or worse but i will say that in my view it casts a dark shadow over alot of brilliant work this band have done since Howard Jones joined in 2002.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 28 July 2009
I for one have been eagerly awaiting this new offering from the Killswitch camp, and I'm pleased to say it does not disappoint. When bands find a sound that works for them, safe people stick rigidly to it, insane people stray so far from it they lose their fan base, but truly talented people do what they do best, with just a little bit of an edge to it, keeping the old fans interested and bringing in fresh meat. I definitely rank this album in the last group. It's full of loaded Killswitch drumming, dazzling guitar riffs and soaring vocals - yet this album brings with it a sense of musical maturity, with songs that can be sung along to as well as thrashed out. Well done guys, I'm impressed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
One word AMAZING, this band gets overshadowed alot but dont let other peoples views cloud your judgment every song gets your heart thumping as well as get you singing at the top of your voice, see "Save Me" "Starting Over" Howards voice is electric!

So glad they are at download festival this year to play there new material

Keep it up KSE!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 5 July 2009
What we have here is the fifth studio album from Killswitch Engage, the band whose albums "Alive or Just Breathing" and especially "The End of Heartache" brought new waves of popularity to the Metalcore genre.
The album is self-titled as the band apparantly wanted this to be a fresh new start as they would be heading in new directions with their music. But oddly, despite what the band say themselves, this album is really more of the same, but considering the solid stellar standards of their previous efforts, this is no bad thing. What we actually have is the production of a teffific band playing on their strenghths that has gained them so much success so far. The band now place a greater focus on the catchy riffs and powerful melodic and passionite choruses. "Reckoning" and "Starting Over" are the first two singles and are a great example of what to expect from the rest of the tracks. "Light in a Darkened World" is one of the strongest efforts and showcases some awesome guitar work and vocals. "I Would Do Anything" may reming long term KSE fans of the good old Jesse days with its brutal riffs and catchy beat, while the likes of "The Return" and "This is Goodbye" possess passionate and melodic choruses that are as good as any recorded by the band so far.
So to summerize, this is more of the same and if you've never really enjoyed Killswitch's previous albums then there's nothing here that will change your mind. But if you love Killswitch already then prepare for more powerful, passionate, melodic metal from masters of the genre sticking to what they do best, after all if you've got a brilliant succesful formula then why change it?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 September 2009
I loved Alive or Just Breathing and the follow up The End of Heartache cemented KsE as a fantastic new metal band, blowing people's heads off all over the place with their cds and live shows.

Then the third album came out and I was greatly disappointed. It's one thing to merely repeat yourself and yet still do it well (think Devildriver) but KsE began to look like they might be a one trick pony.

So big hopes and questions for the fourth album? And a crushing disappointment it is. Jones' lyrics are terrible and parts are direct copies from earlier songs - it's like he doesn't even remember how to create new things anymore! And they even seem more depressing, which is not a feature of this formerly remarkable band. Perhaps he's been unhappy recently.

The music is the same, only even more bland. No stand out tracks, no great break-downs or pumping riffs...just bland, bland...snoooorrrree..

If KsE can't recover - and maybe they should have a year or two off - then they should certainly call it a day, rather than produce any more underwhelming stuff like this. Plenty of awful bands are aggravating us every day, and KsE should not join their ranks.

Take a break dudes, and get the fire and creativity back. Big shame.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
As Daylight Dies
As Daylight Dies by Killswitch Engage (Audio CD - 2006)

The End Of Heartache
The End Of Heartache by Killswitch Engage (Audio CD - 2004)

Disarm The Descent (Special Edition)
Disarm The Descent (Special Edition) by Killswitch Engage (Audio CD - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.