Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light in the darkness...
I've been a KsE fan for a long time now, and this album is an absolute cracker. I think it is WAY more creative and diverse than As Daylight Dies. All the songs are strong and there is an abundance of epic singalong choruses.

KsE have added a bit more southern rock, a heap more thrash and some more considered and atmospheric riffing with greater use of effects...
Published on 29 Oct. 2009 by Inkh0rn

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Getting steadily worse...
I loved Alive or Just Breathing and the follow up The End of Heartache cemented KsE as a fantastic new metal band, blowing people's heads off all over the place with their cds and live shows.

Then the third album came out and I was greatly disappointed. It's one thing to merely repeat yourself and yet still do it well (think Devildriver) but KsE began to look...
Published on 2 Sept. 2009 by KATN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light in the darkness..., 29 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
I've been a KsE fan for a long time now, and this album is an absolute cracker. I think it is WAY more creative and diverse than As Daylight Dies. All the songs are strong and there is an abundance of epic singalong choruses.

KsE have added a bit more southern rock, a heap more thrash and some more considered and atmospheric riffing with greater use of effects than on previous releases. Some reviewers on here have slated this album and one in particular knocked the choruses - they sound fine to me!! Also much criticism is made of the lyrics - they are credited to KsE so I'm not certain if it is solely Howard who writes them. Yes, there are many songs which seem to be about failed relationships, but there is positivity in the way these problems are handled too. I don't see how KsE could have kept banging on about positivity etc. as they did with Jesse's 'message' on Alive or Just Breathing - that would have been tiresome and would also have served to dilute Jesse's contribution. If you watch the band history section on the (Set The) World Ablaze DVD (not included with this!!) you'll see that AOJB was very much Jesse's vision lyrically. It's entirely reasonable that the band would take a different lyrical slant without him.

Expectations are WAY too high these days - there are just too many bands all peddling similar musical wares. Let us not forget that KsE originated the 'scream/sing' metalcore genre and IMHO are still the finest band in the genre; they have the songs, the musicianship, and a cracking live show to boot (go see them, Adam D is a spectacle to be witnessed...). The special edition's live tracks are great quality and as a guitarist/bassist myself I cannot believe the high standard of musicianship modern metal bands pull off playing live - Adam and Joel's riffing is tight as hell, Mike's bass adds a pounding bottom end, Justin has got to be one of the most solid, subtly creative and underrated drummers in metal, and Howard's larynx-lacerating vocals are superb (as they were when I saw them, and as they are on the cracking 'Set The World Ablaze' DVD, which is a MUST SEE for all KsE fans).

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grower, 22 Sept. 2009
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
Killswitch have a formula that is refined with each album release, Their latest album takes the trademark Killswitch sound and cleans it up a bit; The songs are slicker and more professional than ever before, and while at first listen this may make you cry 'Sell Out,' you soon realize that this album is simply amazing, some of the most powerful music the band has ever produced.
Musically once you get used to the slight change in direction you will find some incredibly catchy, heavy and overall enjoyable music with opening trio of the fast and heavy 'Never Again,' the perfect single 'Reckoning,' and the classy 'Starting Over,' being three of the best Killswitch songs to date.
The whole album blazes by in a storm of speedy guitar harmonies and virtuosic Adam D solos, Incredibly tight bass and drums and some of the most haunting vocals metal music has to offer. Howard Jones has improved so greatly its unbelievable, his vocal performance on 'This is Goodbye,' is so indescribably good while songs like 'Reckoning,' and 'I Would Do Anything,' keep the previous style alive and as good as ever.
The album gets better on every listen, with new little arpegios or drum fills revealing themselves, until the whole album is stuck in your head. If you like Killswitch Engage this album is far from a disappointment, in fact I can't imagine a better follow up to 'As Day Light Dies,' just listen to 'The Forgotten,' mix chugging riffs, uplifting guitar harmonies, catchy choruses and heavy double kick drum filled verses giving way to an awesome break down and you'll realize that just because the lyrics are a little different and the production is a little slicker, Killswitch have lost none of their edge.
In summary, Ignore the bad reviews calling this album a departure or a sell out and give it a chance, you'll be more than glad you did.
The Bonus Track 'In A Dead World,' is fantastic, generally heavier than the rest of the album and pretty complex too, I'm surprised it was cut as its definatly one of the best songs on this CD. The Live songs are worth a listen or two but aren't exactly essential. The Bonus DVD is a complete waste of money however, a few half hearted interviews aboard a tourbus, with no footage of the band writing or recording the album, very disappointing given the high quality of their (Set This) World Ablaze documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killswitch Engage!, 30 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
I've loved Killswitch Engage for many years now and they always amaze me. From the wizzing guitars and Howard Jones' amazing vocals, they have everything I love about a rock band.
When I first heard the album via a stream on the band's official MySpace, I fell in love with the album. When I first heard Starting Over, I couldn't wait for the album and it was worth the wait. Now that I finally have my hands on the album, I've been listening to it on repeat. A Light In A Darkened World, for me, is the best song on the album. Infact, I had goosebumps when I first heard it on MySpace. The vocals are spot on, and the music is just amazing. Definitely a great song to sing along to, like most Killswitch Engage songs anyway which they are quite
famous for (A Bid Farewell, Darkness Falls, The End Of Heartheart, Rose Of Sharyn all spring to mind about being a great rock song to sing along to!).
After their sizzling performance at Download Festival, they still definitely know how to rock HARD. This album is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs-up Engage, 28 July 2009
By 
Ms. CR Dix "sugasphinx" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
I for one have been eagerly awaiting this new offering from the Killswitch camp, and I'm pleased to say it does not disappoint. When bands find a sound that works for them, safe people stick rigidly to it, insane people stray so far from it they lose their fan base, but truly talented people do what they do best, with just a little bit of an edge to it, keeping the old fans interested and bringing in fresh meat. I definitely rank this album in the last group. It's full of loaded Killswitch drumming, dazzling guitar riffs and soaring vocals - yet this album brings with it a sense of musical maturity, with songs that can be sung along to as well as thrashed out. Well done guys, I'm impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new album from a band on top form, 5 July 2009
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
What we have here is the fifth studio album from Killswitch Engage, the band whose albums "Alive or Just Breathing" and especially "The End of Heartache" brought new waves of popularity to the Metalcore genre.
The album is self-titled as the band apparantly wanted this to be a fresh new start as they would be heading in new directions with their music. But oddly, despite what the band say themselves, this album is really more of the same, but considering the solid stellar standards of their previous efforts, this is no bad thing. What we actually have is the production of a teffific band playing on their strenghths that has gained them so much success so far. The band now place a greater focus on the catchy riffs and powerful melodic and passionite choruses. "Reckoning" and "Starting Over" are the first two singles and are a great example of what to expect from the rest of the tracks. "Light in a Darkened World" is one of the strongest efforts and showcases some awesome guitar work and vocals. "I Would Do Anything" may reming long term KSE fans of the good old Jesse days with its brutal riffs and catchy beat, while the likes of "The Return" and "This is Goodbye" possess passionate and melodic choruses that are as good as any recorded by the band so far.
So to summerize, this is more of the same and if you've never really enjoyed Killswitch's previous albums then there's nothing here that will change your mind. But if you love Killswitch already then prepare for more powerful, passionate, melodic metal from masters of the genre sticking to what they do best, after all if you've got a brilliant succesful formula then why change it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Getting steadily worse..., 2 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
I loved Alive or Just Breathing and the follow up The End of Heartache cemented KsE as a fantastic new metal band, blowing people's heads off all over the place with their cds and live shows.

Then the third album came out and I was greatly disappointed. It's one thing to merely repeat yourself and yet still do it well (think Devildriver) but KsE began to look like they might be a one trick pony.

So big hopes and questions for the fourth album? And a crushing disappointment it is. Jones' lyrics are terrible and parts are direct copies from earlier songs - it's like he doesn't even remember how to create new things anymore! And they even seem more depressing, which is not a feature of this formerly remarkable band. Perhaps he's been unhappy recently.

The music is the same, only even more bland. No stand out tracks, no great break-downs or pumping riffs...just bland, bland...snoooorrrree..

If KsE can't recover - and maybe they should have a year or two off - then they should certainly call it a day, rather than produce any more underwhelming stuff like this. Plenty of awful bands are aggravating us every day, and KsE should not join their ranks.

Take a break dudes, and get the fire and creativity back. Big shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars KsE Rock but..., 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
When this album arrived the case might as well be sandpaper in other words the case was crumbled up plastic :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, but could have been better, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
Massive fan of KSE and personally i do like this album - but i think theres just some spark missing that was there on previous albums.

I was disappointed to hear that Howard Jones had left the band after this album, but maybe it was a sign. Then when the more recent Disarm the Descent came out with Jesse Leach back, its clear that spark was reignited.

Would recommend this to any KSE fan, but anyone discovering this band should start with 'Alive or Just Breathing' or 'End of Heartache'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars just another KSE album..., 9 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
I thought that this recording would be slightly better. However we all have times of weaker performance. And KSE has such performance on this album.
Don't get me wrong, it is still well prepared and well produced album but you can hear that some of the songs are just there to fill the space.
I still believe in KSE and hope that next recording will be at the level we got used to with KSE.
For now - three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killswitch Have Done It Again!, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killswitch Engage (KsE) (Audio CD)
One word AMAZING, this band gets overshadowed alot but dont let other peoples views cloud your judgment every song gets your heart thumping as well as get you singing at the top of your voice, see "Save Me" "Starting Over" Howards voice is electric!

So glad they are at download festival this year to play there new material

Keep it up KSE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killswitch Engage (KsE)
Killswitch Engage (KsE) by Killswitch Engage (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews